Provision of evidence required under Article 62d of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP)

With the latest revision of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP; SR 813.12), intellectual property protection for active substance (research) data is now also regulated in Switzerland. In accordance with the relevant provisions of the EU Biocidal Products Regulation1 (BPR), such products may only be marketed if their active substances come from listed suppliers.

1. Background and goal

In the EU, certain manufacturers and importers of active substances have participated in the ongoing work programme2 for the systematic toxicological and ecotoxicological evaluation of notified active substances and have submitted active substance dossiers. These companies have thus incurred considerable costs (for research prior to marketing). Article 95 of the BPR seeks to ensure that those not involved to date are not exempt from financial responsibilities (prevention of "free riding"), and that all parties contribute to the costs of active substance approval.

All suppliers of active substances for which dossiers have been validated are included in the ECHA list of active substances and suppliers (also known as the Article 95 List; see links listed on the right). Persons who have participated in the work programme are automatically included in the ECHA list. An additional active substance manufacturer may at any time submit a complete substance dossier or a letter of access in order to be included in the list. Manufacturers or importers of biocidal products can also have substances included in the list if the manufacturer in the supply chain fails to do so. Under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA), companies domiciled or with a registered office in Switzerland do not require representation in the EU in order to be included in the Article 95 List. The first official Article 95 List was published on 24 September 2014, and updates are now issued monthly by the ECHA (see links listed on the right). This list is also used by the Swiss authorities.

With effect from 1 September 2016, biocidal products can only be placed on the market in Switzerland if - for the active substance contained in or generated by the biocidal product - the substance or product supplier is included in the Article 95 List issued by the ECHA.

2. Which biocidal products are affected?

In the EU, Art. 95 BPR is applicable from 1 September 2015 for biocidal products which, under transitional provisions, may be made available in EU countries without being authorised in accordance with the BPR (biocidal products with notified, not yet approved active substances). In Switzerland, such biocidal products may be placed on the market with the transitional authorisations AN and AC. The BPR concept of equal treatment for all persons placing active substances and biocidal products on the market is being implemented in Switzerland through Article 62d OBP, which covers all transitional authorisations AN and AC.

3. What action needs to be taken?

Holders of transitional authorisations AN are thus required to submit the following information to the Notification Authority for Chemicals (NAChem):

or

  • if inclusion in the list has been approved by the ECHA but the entry has not yet been published: a certified copy of the ECHA decision concerning the inclusion of the suppliers from whom the active substances contained in the biocidal product are obtained;

or

  • a reference to data for which the protection period specified in Article 28 OBP has expired;

Such evidence does not have to be provided for active substances contained in a biocidal product which are listed in Annex 1 OBP in categories 1-5 and 7.

For submissions as specified above, the holders of existing AN authorisations can use the Excel form (XLSM, 289 kB, 10.10.2017) available on the NAChem website to declare the origin of their active substances or to register any exemptions. After you have entered the biocidal product data into the Excel form (without the authorisation number) you can then select the suppliers who are in the Article 95 List (see point 4.3 on page 6 of the guideline). Afterwards save the excel file as an xlsx file (without macro) in order that you can send the evidence via mail to the notification authority.

N.B.:

Within the supply chain for your biocidal product, it is sufficient if one company is included in the ECHA list for the relevant active substance and product type. Find out who, within your supply chain, is included in the ECHA list or is submitting an application for inclusion, and then submit the completed form to the Notification Authority without delay!

What should you do if your supplier is not included in the ECHA list and nobody in your supply chain intends to submit an application for inclusion?

  • Apply to the ECHA for inclusion of your company in the list: for this, you must submit the documents specified in Art. 95 para. 1 BPR (letter of access to a substance dossier, or your own substance dossier).

Under the MRA, companies domiciled or with a registered office in Switzerland do not require representation in the EU in order to be included in the Article 95 List.

or

  • Change the supply chain: Obtain the active substance or product from a company which is included in the ECHA List (requires an application for amendment of the authorisation)

or

  • Discontinue marketing of the product: Biocidal products containing active substances from non-listed companies may no longer be placed on the market in Switzerland as of 1 September 2016 and must not be supplied to end consumers as of 1 September 2017.

4. What will happen if authorisation holders or applicants who are affected fail to supply information on suppliers according to Art. 62d of the Notification Authority for Chemicals?

Authorisation holders (of already authorised biocidal products)

Biocidal products for which the requisite evidence has not been submitted by 1 September 2016 can no longer be placed on the market after 1 September 2016 or supplied to end consumers after 1 September 2017. From September 2016, the Notification Authority can thus successively cancel the authorisations concerned.

Applicants (New application AN)

The abovementioned evidence in accordance with Art. 62d OBP is required in order to enable the Notification Authority for Chemicals to grant an authorisation AN.

5. How can an active substance or product supplier be included in the Article 95 List?

Under the MRA, companies domiciled or with a registered office in Switzerland can submit an application directly to the ECHA for inclusion in the Article 95 List.

Information on the steps involved in applying for inclusion in the Article 95 List, as well as an overview of the ECHA authorisation process, can be found on the ECHA website (see list of links). 

 

 

1] Art. 95 of Regulation (EU) No 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 concerning the making available on the market and use of biocidal products, OJ L 167 of 27 June 2012, p. 1; last amended by Regulation (EU) No 334/2014, OJ L 103 of 5 April 2014, p. 22.

2] Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) No 1062/2014 of 4 August 2014 on the work programme for the systematic examination of all existing active substances contained in biocidal products referred to in Regulation (EU) No 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council, OJ L 294 of 10 October 2014, p.1.

3] see Footnote 1

Last modification 27.02.2017

Top of page

Nachweispflicht gemäss Artikel 62d Biozidprodukteverordnung (VBP)

Mit der Biozidprodukteverordnung (VBP; SR 813.12) wird der Schutz des geistigen Eigentums an (Forschungs-)Daten von Wirkstoffen auch in der Schweiz geregelt. In Überein­stimmung mit den entsprechenden Vorschriften in der EU-Biozidprodukteverordnung1 (BPR) dürfen nur noch solche Produkte vermarktet werden, deren Wirkstoffe von gelisteten Lieferanten stammen.

1. Hintergrund und Ziel

In der EU haben sich bestimmte Hersteller und Importeure von Wirkstoffen am bisher laufenden Arbeitsprogramm2 zur umfassenden human- und ökotoxikologischen Evaluation von notifizierten Wirkstoffen beteiligt und Wirkstoffdossiers eingereicht. Damit waren bzw. sind für diese Firmen erhebliche Kosten (für die Forschung bis zur Marktreife) entstanden. Mit Artikel 95 BPR wird dafür gesorgt, dass die bisher nicht Beteiligten auch in die finanzielle Pflicht genommen werden (Verhinderung von "Trittbrett-Fahrern") und alle sich gleichermassen an den Kosten für die Wirkstoffgenehmigung beteiligen.

Alle Lieferanten von Wirkstoffen, zu denen validierte Dossiers vorliegen, werden von der ECHA in die "List of active substance suppliers" (auch "Artikel 95-Liste" genannt, siehe Linkliste) aufgenommen. Jene Personen, die sich am Arbeitsprogramm beteiligt haben, werden automatisch von der ECHA in die Liste aufgenommen. Ein zusätzlicher Wirkstoffhersteller kann jederzeit ein vollständiges Stoffdossier oder eine Zugangsbescheinigung vorlegen, um in die Liste aufgenommen zu werden. Auch Biozidprodukte-Hersteller oder Importeure haben die Möglichkeit, Wirkstoffe in die Liste aufnehmen zu lassen, wenn es der Hersteller in der Lieferkette nicht tut. Gestützt auf das MRA benötigen Firmen mit Sitz in der Schweiz keine Vertretung in der EU, um in die "Artikel 95-Liste" aufgenommen werden zu können. Die erste offizielle "Artikel 95-Liste" der ECHA wurde am 24. September 2014 publiziert (siehe Linkliste) und wird nun monatlich durch die Agentur aktualisiert. Diese Liste wird auch von den schweizerischen Behörden verwendet.

Seit dem 1. September 2016 dürfen in der Schweiz nur noch Biozidprodukte in Verkehr gebracht werden, wenn der Stoff- oder Produktlieferant des betreffenden Wirkstoffes, welchen das Biozidprodukt enthält bzw. erzeugt, auf der "Artikel 95-Liste" der ECHA aufgeführt ist.

2. Welche Biozidprodukte sind betroffen?

In der EU kommt Art. 95 BPR seit dem 1. September 2015 bei Biozidprodukten zum Tragen, die aufgrund von Übergangsbestimmungen in den EU Staaten ohne Zulassung gemäss BPR verkehrsfähig sind (Biozidprodukte mit notifizierten, noch nicht genehmigten Wirkstoffen). In der Schweiz dürfen solche Biozidprodukte mit den Übergangszulassungen ZN und ZB in Verkehr gebracht werden. Dieses Konzept der BPR zur Gleichbehandlung aller Personen, die Wirkstoffe und Biozidprodukte in Verkehr bringen, wird in der Schweiz mit Artikel 62d VBP umgesetzt. Davon sind wie gesagt alle Übergangszulassungen ZN und ZB betroffen.

3. Was müssen Gesuchstellerinnen einer Zulassung ZN tun?

In der Folge müssen die Gesuchstellerinnen von Übergangszulassungen ZN  der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien (ASChem) folgende Informationen zukommen lassen:

oder

  • falls die ECHA die Aufnahme in die Liste genehmigt aber noch nicht publiziert hat: eine beglaubigte Kopie des Entscheids der ECHA über die Aufnahme der Lieferanten, von denen die im Biozidprodukt enthaltenen Wirkstoffe bezogen werden;

oder

  • Bezeichnung der Daten, bei denen die Schutzdauer gemäss Artikel 28 VBP abgelaufen ist;

Für die in einem Biozidprodukt enthaltenen Wirkstoffe der Kategorien 1-5 und 7 in Anhang 1 VBP muss dieser Nachweis nicht erbracht werden.

Für den oben genannten Nachweis stellt die ASChem ein Excel-Formular (XLSM, 290 kB, 10.10.2017) auf ihrer Internetseite bereit, mit dem die Gesuchstellerin für eine Zulassung ZN die Herkunft ihrer Wirkstoffe deklarieren bzw. allfällige Ausnahmen geltend machen können. Nach dem Sie die Angaben zum Biozidprodukt in das Excel-Formular eingetragen haben (ohne Zulassungsnummer) können Sie danach den Lieferanten auswählen, der auf der Artikel 95 Liste steht (siehe Punkt 4.3 auf Seite 6 der Wegleitung). Danach speichern Sie das Excel-Formular als xlsx Datei ab (ohne Macro), damit Sie den Nachweis per Mail an die Anmeldestelle Chemikalien senden können.

Wichtig:

Es reicht, wenn innerhalb der Lieferkette Ihres Biozidproduktes eine Firma auf der ECHA Liste für den entsprechenden Wirkstoff und die entsprechende Produktart eingetragen ist. Klären Sie innerhalb Ihrer Lieferkette ab, wer auf der ECHA Liste eingetragen ist bzw. den Antrag auf Eintrag stellt und schicken Sie der Anmeldestelle umgehend das ausgefüllte Nachweisformular!

Was tun, wenn Ihr Lieferant nicht in der ECHA Liste eingetragen ist und niemand in Ihrer Lieferkette einen Antrag stellen wird?

  • Antrag bei der ECHA auf Aufnahme Ihrer Firma in die Liste stellen: dazu müssen Sie Unterlagen gem. Art. 95 Abs. 1 BPR einreichen (Zugangsbescheinigung zum Wirkstoffdossier oder ein eigenes Wirkstoffdossier).

Gestützt auf das MRA benötigen Firmen mit Sitz in der Schweiz keine Vertretung in der EU, um in die "Artikel 95-Liste" aufgenommen werden zu können.

oder

  • Wechsel Lieferkette: Wirkstoff bzw. Produkt von einer Firma beziehen, die auf der ECHA Liste eingetragen ist (bedingt ein Gesuch auf Änderung der Zulassung)

oder

  • Vermarktung des Produktes einstellen. Biozidprodukte, die Wirkstoffe von nicht gelisteten Firmen enthalten, dürfen in der Schweiz seit 1. September 2016 nicht mehr in Verkehr gebracht und ab 1. September 2017 nicht mehr an Endverbraucher abgegeben werden.

4. Was ist die Konsequenz, wenn betroffene Zulassungsinhaber oder Gesuchstellerinnen die Angabe zum Lieferanten gemäss Art. 62d der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien nicht liefern?

Zulassungsinhaber (schon zugelassene Biozidprodukte):
Biozidprodukte, für welche die erforderlichen Nachweise nicht bis zum 1. September 2016 eingereicht werden, dürfen nach dem 1. September 2016 nicht mehr in Verkehr gebracht und nach dem 1. September 2017 nicht mehr an Endverbraucherinnen abgegeben werden. Die Anmeldestelle kann ab September 2016 betroffene Zulassungen in der Folge sukzessive widerrufen.

Gesuchstellerinnen (Neugesuche ZN)
Der obengenannte Nachweis gemäss Artikel 62d VBP ist eine Voraussetzung damit eine Zulassung ZN von der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien erteilt werden kann.

5. Wie gelangt ein Wirkstoff- bzw. Produktlieferant auf die Artikel 95-Liste der ECHA?

Gestützt auf das MRA können Firmen mit Sitz in der Schweiz direkt bei der ECHA einen Antrag auf Aufnahme in die "Artikel 95-Liste" stellen. Informationen darüber, welche Schritte eine Firma unternehmen muss, um auf die "Artikel 95-Liste" der ECHA zu gelangen, und einen Überblick über den Zulassungsprozess der ECHA, erhalten Sie auf der ECHA-Webseite (siehe Linkliste). 

 

 

1] Art. 95 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 des Europäischen Parlamentes und des Rates vom 22. Mai 2012 über die Bereitstellung auf dem Markt und die Verwendung von Biozidprodukten, ABl. L 167 vom 27.6.2012, S. 1; zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 334/2014, ABl. L 103 vom 5.4.2014, S. 22.

2] Delegierte Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1062/2014 der Kommission vom 4. August 2014 über das Arbeitsprogramm zur systematischen Prüfung aller in Biozidprodukten enthaltenen alten Wirkstoffe gemäss der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates, ABl. L 294 vom 10.10.2014, S.1.

3] s. Fussnote 1

Letzte Änderung 18.04.2017

Zum Seitenanfang