authorization for the disinfection of drinking water

Authorization of biocidal products for the disinfection of drinking water in Switzerland

Article 2 (7) of the European Biocidal Products Regulation (BPR) gives individual member states the option to ban or restrict the use of certain biocidal products/active substances for disinfecting drinking water at a national level.

In Switzerland, the FDHA Ordinance on Drinking Water and Water in Public Baths and Shower Facilities (DWBSO; SR 817.022.11) governs biocidal products and procedures that can be authorized for the disinfection of drinking water. The procedures and active substances that are admissible for the disinfection of drinking water in Switzerland are listed in Annex 4 List 2 or List 5 of the DWBSO. Consequently, not all biocidal active substances designated as product type 5 (drinking water disinfectants) in the BPR are admissible for the disinfection of drinking water in Switzerland.
 Biocidal active substances that are admissible for the desinfection of drinking water in Switzerland are marked with a "#" (for example: 5#) in the List of active substances published by the Notification Authority for Chemicals. (PDF, 871 kB, 07.09.2021)

Silver (CAS no. 7440-22-4) and silver nitrate (CAS no. 7761-88-8) may not be used in Switzerland as an active substance in biocides for the primary disinfection of drinking water. However, an authorization for inhibiting contamination in cold-water household appliances or in tanks or containers (e.g. for emergency water supplies) is possible. Sodium dichloroisocyanurate (CAS no. 2893-78-9) and sodium dichloroisocyanurate dihydrate (CAS no. 51580-86-0) may only be admissible in biocides for disinfecting emergency water supplies.

Last modification 11.03.2021

Top of page

Zulassung für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion

Zulassung von Biozidprodukten für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion in der Schweiz

Die europäische Biozidprodukteverordnung (BPR) gibt den einzelnen Mitgliedsstaaten im Art. 2 (7) die Möglichkeit, gewisse Biozidprodukte/Wirkstoffe für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion auf nationaler Ebene zu verbieten oder deren Verwendung einzuschränken.

In der Schweiz regelt die Verordnung des EDI über Trinkwasser sowie Wasser in öffentlich zugänglichen Bädern und Duschanlagen (TBDV; SR 817.022.11) Biozidprodukte und Verfahren, die für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion zulassungsfähig sind. Die Verfahren resp. die Wirkstoffe, die für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion in der Schweiz zugelassen werden können, sind im Anhang 4 Liste 2 resp. Liste 5 der TBDV aufgeführt. In der Folge sind nicht alle bioziden Wirkstoffe, die gemäss BPR für die Produktart 5 (Trinkwasserdesinfektionsmittel) vorgesehen sind, für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion in der Schweiz zulassungsfähig.
Biozide Wirkstoffe, die in der Schweiz für die Trinkwasserdesinfektion zulassungsfähig sind, sind in der Wirkstoffliste der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien (PDF, 1 MB, 11.03.2020) mit einem «#» gekennzeichnet (i.e. 5#).

Silber (CAS-Nr. 7440-22-4) und Silbernitrat (CAS-Nr. 7761-88-8) können in der Schweiz nicht für die primäre Trinkwasserdesinfektion verwendet werden. Eine Zulassung zur Hemmung der Verkeimung in Geräten der Hausinstallation im Kaltwasserbereich oder in Tanks oder Behältnissen (z. B. zur Notwasserversorgung) ist jedoch möglich. Natriumdichlorisocyanurat (CAS-Nr. 2893-78-9) und Natriumdichlorisocyanurat-Dihydrat (CAS-Nr. 51580-86-0) sind nur für die Desinfektion für die Notwasserversorgung zugelassunsfähig.

Letzte Änderung 11.03.2021

Zum Seitenanfang