Application for mutual recognition in sequence of an authorisation of an EU Member State

Preliminary remarks

The procedure for mutual recognition in sequence of an authorisation (hereinafter called "Recognition", cf. Art. 12 of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products OBP) is based on chapter 18 of the Mutual Recognition Agreement, MRA, revised on 14 April 2015) between Switzerland and the EU, and Article 33 of the Regulation (EU) 528/2012 BPR[1]. The agreement opens up the possibility to an applicant with a registered office or branch office in Switzerland or in an EU or EFTA Member State to obtain recognition in Switzerland[2],[3] for an authorisation granted for a biocidal product (Reference product) in an EU or EFTA Member State. 

This recognition procedure harmonises the implementation and coordination of applications for recognition in the EU and EFTA Member States. However, authorisations for reference products that are, or comprise, genetically modified microorganisms are not recognised in Switzerland (Art. 12 para. 4 OBP).

Procedure

Applications for the recognition of an authorisation from a Reference State are to be submitted through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 with the Notification Authority for Chemicals (see links). 

It is recommended, before submitting an application for recognition, to consult the appropriate chapter in the "Biocides Submission Manual - Application Instructions: National Authorisations" of the European Chemicals Agency ECHA (see links).

The application for recognition must include the following documents:

  • The letter of access to the biocidal product if the applicant is not identical with the holder of the authorisation of the reference product;
  • The letter of access to the active substances comprised in the biocidal product;
  • A summary of the characteristics of the biocidal product (= SPC according to Art. 20 para. 1 let. a number ii BPR in the language of the decision (an official language of Switzerland).
  • A draft of the label and of the safety data sheet, insofar as the latter has to be created. These drafts should be uploaded with the application in R4BP 3 in the section "Documents".
  • Overview document for the biocidal product family (XLS, 29 kB, 03.09.2019) (only required for biocidal product families)

If the application for recognition in Switzerland is not submitted by the holder of the authorisation of the reference product, rather e.g. by the former holder of the transitional authorisation AN or AC, then all legal, technical and information technical conditions linked with their application have to be clarified beforehand with the holder of the authorisation of the reference product. The Notification Authority for Chemicals cannot undertake this task.

On receipt of the application for recognition the Notification Authority sends an invoice for the total expected fee to the applicant by means of R4BP 3. The timely[4] payment of the cost estimate is required for the Notification Authority to process the application.

As soon as the application is totally "valid", the Notification Authority informs the applicant of the date of application. The application documents will be evaluated by the authority[5] within 120 days of this date.

If the Notification Authority concludes that it only intends to recognise the authorisation of the reference state with conditions and/or requirements, namely because this is needed for the protection of the environment or of human health, then it will inform this to the applicant and to the authorities in the EU or EFTA Member States, following the procedure of Article 33 and 35-37 BPR. The Swiss authorities and those of the Member States concerned will then endeavour to arrive at a common position in regard to the contested points in the context of the recognition. The underlying instruction may then possibly have to be adjusted for this. One possibility for Switzerland not to recognise or adapt the requirements of a national authorisation or Union authorisation is to make a derogation. If no agreement is reached between Switzerland and the EU, then, based on the MRA, the dossier will be sent to the "Joint Committee", where renewed attempts will be made to reach an agreement. In such cases the corresponding administrative provisions will not be granted until the disagreements between the contractual parties have been settled.

Particular rules apply to applications for recognition of the authorisation of a reference product that comprises active substances under Article 5 para. 2 or Article 10 para. 1 BPR.

Fees

Pursuant to the Chemicals Fees Ordinance (SR 813.153.1, ChemFO) the fee for a recognition is between CHF 5000 and 10 000. The criteria that determine the fees are defined as follows:

Initial Fee

The initial fee for the recognition of a biocidal product is CHF 5000.- (basic fee).

The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

In case of withdrawal of the application during the procedure, following fees will be charged:

  • Before validation (art. 16 para. 2 OPB): no fees
  • After validation: 25% of the charged fees
  • After the evaluation (art. 17 para. 2 OPB) has started: 50-75% of the charged fees

Surcharges

Each request in regard to missing or incomplete documentation increases the fee by 5 %.

Rebates

The following rebates are granted:

- up to 50%, if:

  • the biocidal product is comparable with the biocidal product that was representative in the active substance approval in the Assessment Report (CAR)
  • the biocidal product is comparable with a biocidal product for which the company has already received a recognition or initial authorisation AL in Switzerland.

Note: the applicant has to apply for a rebate and provide reasons to support this claim.

Advance payment of fees

The payment of a deposit is a precondition for the treatment of the application.

Remarks

An application for the authorisation of a biocidal product that is identical to a biocidal product that is already authorised in Switzerland or for which a corresponding application is pending, has to be made as an application for an identical biocidal product (Art. 15 OBP).

The procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

 

[1] Regulation (EU) 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 on the placing on the market and the use of biocidal products.

[2] If the authorisation for the biocidal product in the EU Member State is still pending, then an application for chronologically parallel recognition has to be made → see separate guidelines under Biocidal products → Authorisations → Authorisation for parallel recognition

[3] The recognition of a Union authorisation is regulated in Art. 14a OBP; see separate guidelines under Biocidal products → Authorisations → Union Authorisation

[4] Within 30 days after receipt of the invoice.

[5] The Notification Authority deals with third parties, the evaluation is made internally by the evaluation authorities.

Last modification 03.09.2019

Top of page

Gesuch um zeitlich nachfolgende Anerkennung einer Zulassung eines EU-Mitgliedstaates

Vorbemerkungen

Das Verfahren der zeitlich nachfolgenden Anerkennung (fortan als "Anerkennung" bezeichnet, vgl. Art. 12 Biozidprodukteverordnung VBP) ist auf Kapitel 18 des Abkommens zwischen der Schweiz und der EU über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbemerkungen (Mutual Recognition Agreement, MRA, revidiert am14. April 2015) und Artikel 33 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 (BPR)[1] gestützt. Das Abkommen eröffnet einer Gesuchstellerin mit Sitz oder Zweigniederlassung in der Schweiz oder in einem EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat die Möglichkeit, eine in einem EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat erteilte Zulassung eines Biozidprodukts (Referenzprodukt) in der Schweiz anerkennen zu lassen[2],[3]

Das Anerkennungsverfahren harmonisiert den Vollzug und die Koordinierung von Anerkennungsgesuchen in den EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten. Nicht anerkannt werden hingegen Zulassungen von Referenzprodukten, die gentechnisch veränderte Mikroorganismen sind oder enthalten (Art. 12 Abs. 4 VBP).

Verfahren

Gesuche um Anerkennung einer Zulassung eines Referenzstaats sind über das Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP 3 bei der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien einzureichen (siehe Links unten).

Es ist empfehlenswert, vor der Einreichung eines Gesuchs um Anerkennung die entsprechenden Kapitel im „Biocides Submission Manual - Application Instructions: National Authorisations" der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur ECHA zu konsultieren (siehe Links unten).

Das Gesuch um Anerkennung muss folgende Unterlagen enthalten:

  • die Zugangsbescheinigung zum Biozidprodukt, wenn die Gesuchstellerin nicht identisch ist mit der Inhaberin der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts;
  • die Zugangsbescheinigungen zu den im Biozidprodukt enthaltenen Wirkstoffen;
  • eine Zusammenfassung der Eigenschaften des Biozidprodukts (= SPC gemäss Art. 20 Abs. 1 Bst. a Ziffer ii BPR in der Verfügungssprache (eine Amtssprache der Schweiz).
  • einen Entwurf der Etikette und des Sicherheitsdatenblattes, soweit letzteres erstellt werden muss. Diese Entwürfe sollen bei der Gesuchstellung in R4BP 3 in der Rubrik „Documents" hochgeladen werden.
  • Übersichtsdokument zur Biozidproduktefamilie (XLS, 29 kB, 03.09.2019) (nur für Biozidproduktefamilien nötig)

Falls das Gesuch um Anerkennung in der Schweiz nicht von der Inhaberin der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts, sondern z.B. von der früheren Inhaberin der Übergangszulassung ZN oder ZB eingereicht wird, muss diese alle mit ihrem Gesuch verbundenen rechtlichen, technischen und informationstechnischen Voraussetzungen vorab mit der Inhaberin der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts klären. Die Anmeldestelle Chemikalien kann diese Aufgabe nicht übernehmen.

Nach Eingang des Anerkennungs-Gesuchs stellt die Anmeldestelle der Gesuchstellerin mittels R4BP 3 Rechnung für die vollständige voraussichtliche Gebühr. Die fristgerechte[4] Entrichtung des Kostenvorschusses ist Voraussetzung für die Bearbeitung des Gesuchs durch die Anmeldestelle.

Sobald das Gesuch vollständig ("valid") ist, teilt die Anmeldestelle dies der Gesuchstellerin mit Angabe des Datums mit. Nun werden die Gesuchunterlagen von der Behörde[5] innert 120 Tagen bewertet.

Gelangt die Anmeldestelle zum Schluss, dass sie die Zulassung des Referenzstaats nur mit Bedingungen und/oder Auflagen anzuerkennen beabsichtigt, namentlich weil dies zum Schutz der Umwelt oder der Gesundheit von Menschen erforderlich ist, teilt sie dies der Gesuchstellerin und den Behörden in den EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten nach dem Verfahren von Artikel 33 und 35-37 BPR mit. Die Schweizer Behörden und jene der betroffenen Mitgliedstaaten bemühen sich dann, eine gemeinsame Position bezüglich der angefochtenen Punkte im Rahmen der Anerkennung zu finden. Möglicherweise muss die zugrundeliegende Verfügung dazu angepasst werden. Eine Möglichkeit der Schweiz, die Voraussetzungen einer nationalen Zulassung oder Unionszulassung nicht anzuerkennen oder sie anzupassen, ist, eine Abweichung geltend zu machen. Kommt es zu keiner Einigung zwischen der Schweiz und der EU, wird das Dossier gestützt auf das MRA an den "Gemischten Ausschuss" überwiesen, wo erneut versucht wird, eine Einigung zu erzielen. In solchen Fällen, werden die entsprechenden Verwaltungsverfügungen bis zur Beilegung der Uneinigkeit zwischen den Vertragsparteien nicht erteilt.

Für Gesuche um Anerkennung der Zulassung eines Referenzprodukts, das Wirkstoffe nach Artikel 5 Absatz 2 oder Artikel 10 Absatz 1 BPR enthält, gelten besondere Regelungen.

Gebühren

Gemäss der Chemikaliengebührenverordnung (SR 813.153.1, ChemGebV) beträgt die Gebühr für eine Anerkennung zwischen CHF 5'000 und 10'000. Die Kriterien für die Gebührenfestlegung innerhalb dieses Rahmens sind wie folgt definiert:

Ausgangsgebühr

Die Ausgangsgebühr (Grundgebühr) für die Anerkennung eines Biozidproduktes beträgt CHF 5'000.-

Die Gebühr für Biozidproduktefamilien errechnet sich aus den Grundgebühren der jeweiligen Zulassungsart (z.B. Zulassung ZN 1000 CHF). Für Biozidproduktefamilien mit einer Subfamilie werden der Grundgebühr 50% des Grundpreises addiert. Für jede weitere Subfamilie erhöht sich die Gebühr um weitere 25%. Pro Subfamilie sind jeweils 10 Biozidprodukte inbegriffen. Für jedes zusätzliche Biozidprodukt erhöht sich die Gebühr um ein Prozent der Grundgebühr. Für Biozidprodukte einer Familie resp. Subfamilie, die sich durch nichts anderes (d.h. auch nicht durch Verwendungszweck, Verwendungsmethode etc.) als durch die Konzentration von Pigment-, Farb- oder Duftstoffen unterscheiden, erhöhen sich die Gebühren nicht.

Beim Rückzug des Gesuches während des Verfahrens werden folgende Gebühren verrechnet:

  • vor der Validierung (Art. 16 Abs. 2 VBP): keine Gebühren
  • nach der Validierung: 25% der verrechneten Gebühren
  • nach Beginn der Evaluation (Art. 17 VBP): 50-75% der verrechneten Gebühren

Zuschläge

Pro Nachforderung wegen fehlender oder mangelhafter Unterlagen wird die Gebühr um 5 % erhöht.

Abzüge

Folgende Abzüge werden gewährt:

- bis zu 50%, wenn:

  • das Biozidprodukt vergleichbar ist mit dem Biozidprodukt, welches im Bewertungsbericht (CAR) für die Wirkstoffgenehmigung repräsentativ war
  • das Biozidprodukt vergleichbar ist mit einem Biozidprodukt für welches die Firma bereits eine Anerkennung oder Erstzulassung ZL in der Schweiz erhalten hat.

Anmerkung: die Gesuchstellerin muss ein Gesuch auf Abzug stellen und dies entsprechend begründen.

Vorschusszahlung

Die Zahlung eines Vorschusses ist Voraussetzung für die Bearbeitung des Gesuchs.

Hinweise

Ein Gesuch um Zulassung eines Biozidprodukts, das mit einem Biozidprodukt identisch ist, welches bereits in der Schweiz zugelassen oder für welches ein entsprechendes Gesuch hängig ist, hat als Gesuch um Zulassung eines gleichen Biozidprodukts (nach Art. 15 VBP) zu erfolgen.

Die Prozesse für die Zulassung von Biozidprodukten können sich kurzfristig ändern. Wir empfehlen den interessierten Kreisen daher, regelmässig die Webseite der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien zu besuchen und den Newsletter Verbraucherschutz des BAG zu abonnieren. 

 

[1] Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 22. Mai 2012 über die Bereitstellung auf dem Markt und die Verwendung von Biozidprodukten

[2] Wenn die Zulassung des Biozidprodukts im EU-Mitgliedstaat noch hängig ist, muss ein Gesuch um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung gestellt werden → siehe separate Wegleitung unter Biozidprodukte → Zulassungen → Gesuch um parallele Anerkennung

[3] Die Anerkennung einer Unionszulassung ist in Art. 14a VBP geregelt; siehe separate Wegleitung unter Biozidprodukte → Zulassungen → Unionszulassung

[4] Innert 30 Tagen nach Zugang der Rechnung.

[5] Gegenüber aussen tritt die Anmeldestelle in Erscheinung, verwaltungsintern erfolgt die Bewertung durch die Beurteilungsstellen.

Letzte Änderung 03.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang