Application for recognition in parallel of an authorisation of an EU Member State

The procedure for recognition in parallel opens the possibility for an applicant to simultaneously undertake an authorisation procedure for a biocidal product in an EU country1 along with a recognition process for the same product in Switzerland. For this, Switzerland follows the provision pursuant to Article 34 of the Regulation (EU) no. 528/2012 (BPR). During the authorisation procedure in an EU State for products that had previously been placed on the market in Switzerland with a transitional authorisation AN or AC, this recognition procedure can ensure a seamless continuation of marketing. In this regard it is also allowed that the applicant for recognition does not correspond to the previous Swiss owner of the transitional authorisation (AN or AC). In this case the period of validity of the transitional authorisation is extended by 3 years, if the application for chronologically parallel recognition clearly states the identity of the product with the Swiss transitional authorisation and the application is received before the deadline (see below).

Authorisations for biocidal products that are, or comprise, genetically modified microorganisms are not recognised in Switzerland.

Procedure

Applications for recognition in parallel are to be submitted exclusively through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 at the Notification Authority for Chemicals (see internet links). If the application is intended to be submitted for parallel recognition in Switzerland by another person (for example by the owner of the previous Swiss transitional authorisation) as the request for first authorisation in the EU, then the Swiss applicant should initially clarify all legal, technical and IT requirements with the applicant in the EU.

It is recommended, before submitting an application for recognition in parallel, to consult the appropriate chapter in the "Biocides Submission Manual - National Authorisations" of the European Chemicals Agency ECHA (see internet links).

An application for recognition in parallel can be made either simultaneously with the application for the national first authorisation or at a later date with the help of the NA-MRP Wizard (a specific assistance function in the R4BP 3 System). However, it should be noted here that the owner of a transitional authorisation AN or AB may only profit from the extension of the validity period of 3 years if the application for chronologically parallel recognition is submitted via R4BP 3 with the Notification Authority Chemicals before the deadline, i.e. at the latest up to the date of the inclusion of the active substance in the lists of Annexes 1 and 2 of the OBP.

The application for recognition must include the following:

  • the name of the reference Member State (this is the state, whose competent authority assesses the application for authorisation of the biocidal product);
  • the names of the Member States concerned, in which an application for mutual recognition has likewise been made;
  • a summary of the characteristics of the biocidal product (= SPC according to Art. 20 para. 1 let. a number ii BPR in English or in an official language of Switzerland),
  • Safety data sheet
  • Draft label design (in an official language).

If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation:

  • its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

If the applicant for the parallel acceptance is not the same as the applicant for the first authorisation, then the former must additionally submit a letter of access for the biocidal product and for each biocidal active substance contained in the product.

The SPC-Editor of ECHA should be used to compile the SPC (see internet links). 

Under certain circumstances, which are regulated in Article 12 para. 2 OBP, the acceptance of an authorisation in regard to the conditions or requirements laid down can differ from the EU-authorisation.

Generally, an application for recognition in parallel will be disposed of by the Notification Authority within 120 days after the competent authority of the rapporteur Member State (= reference Member State in the context of Art. 34 OBP) has sent us the drafts of the assessment report and the SPC. In the case where the Swiss authorities object to the proposed authorisation conditions or propose an adaptation of them, the authorisation can be delayed due to the then required efforts to reach an agreement.

Fees

Pursuant to the Chemicals Fees Ordinance (SR 813.153.1, ChemFO) the fee for a recognition is between CHF 5000 and 10 000. The criteria that determine the fees are defined as follows:

Initial Fee

The initial fee for the recognition of a biocidal product is CHF 5000.- (basic fee).

The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

In case of withdrawal of the application during the procedure, following fees will be charged:

  • Before validation (art. 16 para. 2 OPB): no fees
  • After validation: 25% of the charged fees
  • After the evaluation (art. 17 para. 2 OPB) has started: 50-75% of the charged fees

Surcharges

Each request in regard to missing or incomplete documentation increases the fee by 5 %.

Rebates

The following rebates are granted:

- up to 50%, if:

  • the biocidal product is comparable with the biocidal product that was representative in the active substance approval in the Assessment Report (CAR)
  • the biocidal product is comparable with a biocidal product for which the company has already received a recognition or initial authorisation AL in Switzerland.

Note: the applicant has to apply for a rebate and provide reasons to support this claim.

Advance payment of fees:

The payment of a deposit is a precondition for the treatment of the application by the Swiss authorities. The invoice for the fees will be sent to the authorisation owner through the R4BP 3 System.

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified as a result of technical and administrative guidelines of the EU Commission and/or the European Chemical Agency ECHA. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

 

1 The MRA is also valid in the States of the European Economic Area (EEA).

Last modification 05.06.2018

Top of page

Gesuch um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung einer Zulassung eines EU-Mitgliedstaates

Das Verfahren der zeitlich parallelen Anerkennung eröffnet einer Gesuchstellerin die Möglichkeit, zeitgleich mit einem Zulassungsverfahren für ein Biozidprodukt in einem EU-Land1 ein Anerkennungsverfahren für dasselbe Produkt in der Schweiz durchzuführen. Die Schweiz wendet dazu die Regelung gemäss Artikel 34 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 (BPR) an. Durch dieses Anerkennungsverfahren kann für Produkte, die bisher in der Schweiz mit einer Übergangs­zulassung ZN oder ZB auf dem Markt waren, eine nahtlose Weitervermarktung während des Zulassungsverfahrens in einem EU-Land gesichert werden. Dabei ist es auch gestattet, dass die Gesuchstellerin um Anerkennung nicht mit der bisherigen Schweizer Inhaberin der Übergangszulassung (ZN bzw. ZB) übereinstimmt. In diesem Fall verlängert sich die Geltungsdauer der Übergangszulassung um 3 Jahre, wenn bei der Gesuchstellung für die zeitlich parallele Anerkennung die Identität des Produkts mit der Schweizer Übergangszulassung eindeutig erklärt wird und das Gesuch fristgerecht eingeht (siehe unten).

Zulassungen von Biozidprodukten, die gentechnisch veränderte Mikroorganismen sind oder enthalten, werden in der Schweiz nicht anerkannt.

Verfahren

Gesuche um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung sind ausschliesslich über das Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP 3 bei der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien einzureichen (siehe Internetlinks). Falls das Gesuch um parallele Anerkennung in der Schweiz von einer anderen Person (zum Beispiel von der Inhaberin der bisherigen Schweizer Übergangszulassung) eingereicht werden soll als der Antrag auf Erstzulassung in der EU, so sollte die Schweizer Gesuchstellerin alle mit ihrem Gesuch verbundenen rechtlichen, technischen und informationstechnischen Voraussetzungen vorab mit der Antragstellerin in der EU klären.

Es ist empfehlenswert, vor der erstmaligen Einreichung eines Gesuchs um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung die entsprechenden Kapitel im „Biocides Submission Manual - National Authorisations" der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur ECHA zu konsultieren (siehe Internetlinks).

Ein Gesuch um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung kann entweder zeitgleich mit dem Gesuch um nationale Erstzulassung gestellt werden oder nachträglich mit Hilfe des NA-MRP Wizard (eine spezifische Assistenzfunktion im R4BP 3-System). Dabei ist jedoch zu beachten, dass die Inhaberin einer Übergangszulassung ZN bzw.ZB nur dann von der Verlängerung der Geltungsdauer um 3 Jahre profitieren kann, wenn das Gesuch um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung fristgerecht, das heisst spätestens bis zum Datum der Aufnahme des Wirkstoffs auf die Listen nach Anhang 1 und 2 der VBP, via R4BP 3 bei der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien eingegangen ist.

 Das Gesuch um Anerkennung muss folgendes enthalten:

  • den Namen des Referenzmitgliedstaates (das ist der Staat, dessen zuständige Behörde den Antrag auf Zulassung des Biozidproduktes bewertet);
  • die Namen der betroffenen Mitgliedstaaten, bei denen ebenso ein Antrag auf gegenseitige Anerkennung gestellt wird;
  • eine Zusammenfassung der Eigenschaften des Biozidprodukts (= SPC gemäss Art. 20 Abs. 1 Bst. a Ziffer ii BPR in Englisch oder einer Amtssprache der Schweiz).
  • Sicherheitsdatenblatt
  • Entwurf der Etikette (in einer Amtssprache)

Falls das Biozidprodukt, für das eine Zulassung nach dem EU-harmonisierten Verfahren beantragt wird, in der Schweiz schon mit einer Übergangszulassung auf dem Markt ist:

  • dessen Zulassungsnummer (CHZN oder CHZB) und Handelsname (WICHTIG: bei Rückfragen entstehen zusätzliche Kosten)

Falls der Gesuchsteller für die parallele Anerkennung nicht derselbe ist wie der Antragsteller für die Erstzulassung, dann muss ersterer zusätzlich eine Zugangsbescheinigung für das Biozidprodukt und für jeden im Produkt enthaltenen bioziden Wirkstoff einreichen.

Für die Erstellung des SPC sollte der SPC-Editor der ECHA verwendet werden (siehe Internetlinks).

Unter bestimmten Umständen, die in Artikel 12 Absatz 2 VBP geregelt sind, kann die Anerkennung einer Zulassung hinsichtlich der auferlegten Bedingungen oder Auflagen von der EU-Zulassung abweichen.

In der Regel wird ein Gesuch um zeitlich parallele Anerkennung innerhalb von 120 Tagen, nachdem die zuständige Behörde des Rapporteur Member State (= Referenzmitgliedstaat im Sinne von Art. 34 BPR) die Entwürfe des Bewertungsberichts und des SPC an uns übermittelt hat, durch die Anmeldestelle verfügt. Falls die schweizerischen Behörden Einwände gegen die vorgeschlagenen Zulassungsbedingungen haben oder eine Abweichung von denselben vorschlagen, kann sich die Zulassung infolge der dann notwendigen Einigungsbemühungen verzögern.

Gebühren

Gemäss der Chemikaliengebührenverordnung (SR 813.153.1, ChemGebV) beträgt die Gebühr für eine Anerkennung zwischen CHF 5'000 und 10'000. Die Kriterien für die Gebührenfestlegung innerhalb dieses Rahmens sind wie folgt definiert:

Ausgangsgebühr

Die Ausgangsgebühr (Grundgebühr) für die Anerkennung eines Biozidproduktes beträgt CHF 5'000.-

Die Gebühr für Biozidproduktefamilien errechnet sich aus den Grundgebühren der jeweiligen Zulassungsart (z.B. Zulassung ZN 1000 CHF). Für Biozidproduktefamilien mit einer Subfamilie werden der Grundgebühr 50% des Grundpreises addiert. Für jede weitere Subfamilie erhöht sich die Gebühr um weitere 25%. Pro Subfamilie sind jeweils 10 Biozidprodukte inbegriffen. Für jedes zusätzliche Biozidprodukt erhöht sich die Gebühr um ein Prozent der Grundgebühr. Für Biozidprodukte einer Familie resp. Subfamilie, die sich durch nichts anderes (d.h. auch nicht durch Verwendungszweck, Verwendungsmethode etc.) als durch die Konzentration von Pigment-, Farb- oder Duftstoffen unterscheiden, erhöhen sich die Gebühren nicht.

Beim Rückzug des Gesuches während des Verfahrens werden folgende Gebühren verrechnet:

  • vor der Validierung (Art. 16 Abs. 2 VBP): keine Gebühren
  • nach der Validierung: 25% der verrechneten Gebühren
  • nach Beginn der Evaluation (Art. 17 VBP): 50-75% der verrechneten Gebühren

Zuschläge

Pro Nachforderung wegen fehlender oder mangelhafter Unterlagen wird die Gebühr um 5 % erhöht.

Abzüge

Folgende Abzüge werden gewährt:

- bis zu 50%, wenn: 

  • das Biozidprodukt vergleichbar ist mit dem Biozidprodukt, welches im Bewertungsbericht (CAR) für die Wirkstoffgenehmigung repräsentativ war
  • das Biozidprodukt vergleichbar ist mit einem Biozidprodukt für welches die Firma bereits eine Anerkennung oder Erstzulassung ZL in der Schweiz erhalten hat.

Anmerkung: die Gesuchstellerin muss ein Gesuch auf Abzug stellen und dies entsprechend begründen.

Vorschuss

Die Zahlung eines Vorschusses ist Voraussetzung für die Bearbeitung des Gesuchs durch die schweizerischen Behörden. Die Gebührenrechnung wird der Zulassungsinhaberin durch das R4BP 3-System übermittelt.

Hinweis

Die Prozesse und Prozeduren für die Zulassung von Biozidprodukten können sich infolge von technischen und administrativen Richtlinien der EU-Kommission und/oder der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur ECHA ändern. Wir empfehlen den interessierten Kreisen daher, regelmässig die Webseite der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien zu besuchen und den Newsletter Verbraucherschutz des BAG zu abonnieren.

 

1 Das MRA hat auch in den Staaten des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR) Geltung.

Letzte Änderung 05.06.2018

Zum Seitenanfang