Application for simplified authorisation

This type of authorisation is applicable only in cases where all active substances contained in the product have been included in the list of Annex 1 of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP, SR 813.12) and meet the limitations of that Annex. In addition to the listing of the active substance(s) in Annex 1, the product has to fulfil all of the following conditions (art. 11h OBP):

  • The product has to be demonstrably suitably effective.
  • It may not contain any substances of concern as defined in art. 2, para. 2, lit. a OBP.
  • It may not contain nanomaterials.
  • No personal protective equipment is required for its handling or its intended use.

If any of these conditions are not met, an application for authorisation AL must be submitted for the product, even if all the active substances contained in the product are listed in Annex 1.

If the product contains one or more notified active substances that have not yet been included in the list of Annex 1, a simplified authorisation may not yet be granted. In that case, an application for authorisation AN is to be submitted to the Notification Authority for Chemicals.1

Authorisation AL vs. simplified authorisation

Authorisation AL Simplified authorisation
At least one AS in the list of Annex 2, other AS possibly in the list of Annex 1, or All AS in the list of Annex 1, adequately effective and no substances of concern and no nanomaterials and no personal protective equipment required
All AS in the list of Annex 1 and substances of concern and/or nanomaterials present and/or personal protective equipment required
 

Procedure

An application for simplified authorisation in Switzerland must be submitted to the Notification Authority for Chemicals via the European Register for Biocidal Products (R4BP). The data for an application for simplified authorisation must be submitted as a IUCLID file.

Companies that are interested should contact the Notification Authority for Chemicals beforehand and fill in the completeness checklist for a simplified authorization (XLS, 15 kB, 05.06.2018).

In general, a complete dossier will be assessed and ruled upon within 90 days, subject to the receipt of payment of the deposit for the authorisation fee. Should the Notification Authority consider the submitted application incomplete, it will grant an appropriate grace period for submission of the missing information.

Period of validity

The OBP does not explicitly define the period of validity of the simplified authorisation. The active substances in Annex 1 also are no longer limited in regard to their inclusion as they were in the past. According to the general principles of EU Biocidal Products Regulation No. 528/2012 (art. 17, para. 4 BPR), a simplified authorisation is therefore granted for a maximum period of 10 years.

Dossier for a simplified authorisation

Biocidal products that can be authorised through the simplified procedure are, by definition, products that contain only active substances with a low risk potential and only substances that are not of concern. Toxicological and ecotoxicological data for the product are, therefore, not required. However, a summary of the biocidal product characteristics (SPC) and information on its efficacy and shelf life are needed (art. 20, para. 1, lit. b BPR). The application dossier is to be submitted as a IUCLID file and must include the following elements:

  • a summary of the biocidal product characteristics (SPC) according to art. 20, para. 1, lit. a, no. ii BPR;
  • information on its efficacy;
  • any other relevant information that would allow the conclusion that the biocidal product fulfils the requirements laid out in article 25 BPR.

If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation:

  • its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

In terms of the efficacy data, the requirements detailed in section 6 of Appendix III BPR are relevant. For active substances listed in Category 6 of the list in Appendix 1 OBP, proof of technical equivalence must be submitted along with the application. Since the IUCLID dossier must include written confirmation from the competent authority indicating that authority's consent to an assessment of the application, the Notification Authority should be contacted prior to submission.

Additional details regarding the procedure and the dossier to be submitted can be found in the corresponding guidelines of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) (see links).

Market access in Switzerland without authorisation

Biocidal products that are already authorised in the EU through the simplified procedure do not require an application for authorisation in Switzerland according to the procedure described above; they may be placed on the market after prior notification. The authorisation holder must submit such notification to the Notification Authority 30 days prior to the first placement on the market. Notification must include the product's trade name and authorisation number (art. 13c OBP) and is to be submitted via the European Register for Biocidal Products (R4BP). An electronic version of the draft label is to be added. Article 38 OBP applies to the labelling. In this way Switzerland guarantees the same market access conditions as EU Member States. Based on the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA), the same procedure applies vice versa for products that have been authorised in Switzerland through the simplified procedure. After notification of the competent authorities in the respective EU countries, such products may be placed on the market in those countries.

Note

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can change at short notice. We therefore advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority for Chemicals and to subscribe to the FOPH's Consumer Protection newsletter.  1] If the active substance is already included in the list of Annex I of the EU Biocidal Products Regulation No. 528/2012 (BPR, see list of links) but implementation in Switzerland (through inclusion of the active substance in the list of Annex 1 OBP) has not yet happened, an application for simplified authorisation in Switzerland may nevertheless be submitted.

Last modification 27.06.2018

Top of page

Gesuch um vereinfachte Zulassung

Ein Biozidprodukt, das nur genehmigte Wirkstoffe der Liste nach Anhang I der VBP enthält und die Bedingungen nach Art. 11h VBP erfüllt, kann vereinfacht zugelassen werden. 

Diese Zulassungsart ist nur in Fällen anwendbar, in denen alle im Produkt enthaltenen Wirkstoffe in die Liste im Anhang 1 der Biozidprodukteverordnung (VBP, SR 813.12) aufgenommen wurden und den Beschränkungen gemäss diesem Anhang genügen. Zusätzlich zur Listung des bzw. der Wirkstoffe in Anhang 1 muss das Produkt alle der folgenden Bedingungen erfüllen (Art. 11h VBP):

  • Das Produkt muss nachgewiesenermassen ausreichend wirksam sein.
  • Es darf keine bedenklichen Stoffe nach Artikel 2 Absatz 2 Buchstabe a VBP enthalten.
  • Es darf keine Nanomaterialien enthalten.
  • Für seine Handhabung und seinen Verwendungszweck ist keine persönliche Schutzausrüstung erforderlich.

Trifft eine dieser Bedingungen nicht zu, so muss für das Produkt ein Gesuch um eine Zulassung ZL eingereicht werden, auch wenn alle Wirkstoffe, die es enthält, in Anhang 1 gelistet sind.

Enthält das Produkt einen oder mehrere notifizierte Wirkstoffe, die noch nicht in der Liste nach Anhang 1 aufgeführt sind, so kann für das Produkt noch keine vereinfachte Zulassung erteilt werden. In diesem Fall ist bei der Anmeldestelle ein Gesuch um Zulassung ZN einzureichen1.

Zulassung ZL vs Vereinfachte Zulassung

Zulassung ZL
Vereinfachte Zulassung
Mindestens ein WS in der Liste nach Anhang 2, übrige WS evtl. auch in der Liste nach Anhang 1, oder
Alle WS in der Liste nach Anhang 1, hinreichend wirksam und keine bedenklichen Stoffe und keine Nanomaterialien und keine persönliche Schutzausrüstung erforderlich
Alle WS in der Liste nach Anhang 1 und bedenkliche Stoffe und/oder Nanomaterialien vorhanden und/oder persönliche Schutzausrüstung erforderlich
 

Verfahren

Ein Gesuch um vereinfachte Zulassung in der Schweiz muss der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien über das europäische Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP eingereicht werden. Die Daten für ein Gesuch um vereinfachte Zulassung sind im IUCLID-Format einzureichen.

Interessierte Firmen sollten vorgängig die Anmeldestelle Chemikalien kontaktieren und die Vollständigkeitsprüfliste für die vereinfachte Zulassung (XLS, 15 kB, 05.06.2018) ausfüllen.

Ein vollständiges Dossier wird, vorbehaltlich des Eingangs des Kostenvorschusses für die Zulassungsgebühr, in der Regel innerhalb von 90 Tagen bewertet und verfügt. Falls die Anmeldestelle das eingereichte Gesuch als unvollständig erachtet, setzt sie eine angemessene Nachfrist für die Übermittlung dieser Angaben.

Geltungsdauer

Die Geltungsdauer eines vereinfacht-zugelassenen Biodzidproduktes beträgt gem. Art. 8 Abs. 1 Bst. k VBP 10 Jahre.

Dossier für eine vereinfachte Zulassung

Biozidprodukte, die nach dem vereinfachten Verfahren zugelassen werden können, sind per Definition Produkte, die nur Wirkstoffe mit niedrigem Risikopotential und nur unbedenkliche Stoffe enthalten. Daraus folgt, dass die Daten zur Toxikologie und Ökotoxikologie für das Produkt nicht erforderlich sind. Eine Zusammenfassung der Eigenschaften des Biozidproduktes (SPC) und Angaben zur Wirksamkeit und Haltbarkeit sind aber nötig (Art. 20 Abs. 1 Bst. b der BPR). Ein Gesuchsdossier ist im IUCLID-Format einzureichen und muss die folgenden Bestandteile enthalten:

  • eine Zusammenfassung der Eigenschaften des Biozidprodukts nach Artikel 20 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a Ziffer ii BPR (SPC, Summary of product characteristics);
  • Angaben zur Wirksamkeit;
  • jede sonstige relevante Angabe, die den Schluss rechtfertigt, dass das Biozidprodukt die in Artikel 25 BPR genannten Voraussetzungen erfüllt.

Falls das Biozidprodukt, für das eine Zulassung nach dem EU-harmonisierten Verfahren beantragt wird, in der Schweiz schon mit einer Übergangszulassung auf dem Markt ist:

  • dessen Zulassungsnummer (CHZN oder CHZB) und Handelsname (WICHTIG: bei Rückfragen entstehen zusätzliche Kosten)

Bezüglich der Wirksamkeitsdaten sind die Anforderungen gemäss der Sektion 6 des Anhang III der BPR relevant. Für Wirkstoffe, die sich in der Kategorie 6 der Liste nach Anhang 1 VBP befinden, muss mit dem Gesuch ein Nachweis der technischen Äquivalenz eingereicht werden. Da im IUCLID-Dossier eine schriftliche Bestätigung der bewertenden Behörde enthalten sein muss, aus der das Einverständnis dieser Behörde hervorgeht, das Gesuch zu bewerten, sollte vor der Einreichung die Anmeldestelle kontaktiert werden.

Weitere Einzelheiten zum Verfahren und zum einzureichenden Dossier sind den entsprechenden Wegleitungen der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) zu entnehmen (siehe Internetlinks).

Marktzugang in der Schweiz ohne Zulassung

Für Biozidprodukte, die in der EU bereits nach dem vereinfachten Verfahren zugelassen sind, muss in der Schweiz keine Zulassung nach dem oben beschriebenen Verfahren beantragt werden, sondern sie dürfen nach einer vorherigen Mitteilung in Verkehr gebracht werden. Die Zulassungsinhaberin muss diese Mitteilung 30 Tage vor dem ersten Inverkehrbringen bei der Anmeldestelle einreichen und dabei den Handelsnamen und die Zulassungsnummer mitteilen (Art. 13c VBP). Diese Notifizierung hat über das europäische Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP zu erfolgen. Ein Etikettentwurf ist in elektronischer Form beizufügen. Für die Kennzeichnung gilt Artikel 38 VBP. So gewährleistet die Schweiz dieselben Marktzugangsbedingungen wie die EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Das gleiche Verfahren ist aufgrund des MRA vice versa auch für Produkte anwendbar, die in der Schweiz im vereinfachten Verfahren zugelassen sind. Nach einer entsprechenden Mitteilung an die zuständigen Behörden (Competent authorities) der jeweiligen EU-Länder dürfen solche Produkte dort in Verkehr gebracht werden.

Hinweis

Die Prozesse und Prozeduren für die Zulassung von Biozidprodukten können sich kurzfristig ändern. Wir empfehlen den interessierten Kreisen daher, regelmässig die Webseite der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien zu besuchen und den Newsletter Verbraucherschutz des BAG zu abonnieren.

 

1] Falls der Wirkstoff im Produkt bereits in die Liste nach Anhang I der EU-Biozidprodukteverordnung Nr. 528/2012 (BPR, siehe Linkliste) aufgenommen wurde, hingegen der Nachvollzug in der Schweiz (durch die Aufnahme des Wirkstoffs in die Liste nach Anhang 1 der VBP) noch nicht erfolgt ist, kann trotzdem schon ein Gesuch um vereinfachte Zulassung in der Schweiz gestellt werden.

Letzte Änderung 27.06.2018

Zum Seitenanfang