Application for the authorisation of same products

Biocidal products that are identical to an already authorised product or product family can be authorised as a same biocidal product (Art. 15 para. 1 OBP).

The related reference product must either be already authorised in Switzerland or an application must at least have been submitted. This procedure is described in the industry as a back-to-back authorisation. It concerns identical products that are intended to be placed on the market under another trade name or by another authorisation holder.

Identical means that the biocidal product matches the reference product to the greatest possible extent, with the exception of administrative changes (Art. 4 of the Implementing Ordinance-Biocidal Products FDHA). Therefore, a same biocidal product differs from the reference product solely in administrative aspects (e.g. different name, other authorisation holder) or by limited conditions of use.

Procedure

An application for the authorisation of a same product shall always be submitted through the R4BP register for biocidal products.

Communication between national authorities, ECHA and applicant occurs exclusively through the R4BP. It is therefore important that the status of the submitted application (messages, questions, deadlines for payments/additional documentation etc.) be regularly checked by the applicant in the R4BP.

The following information has to be submitted with the application:

  • the authorisation number of the reference product or, if this application is still pending, the assigned application number from the R4BP3 product register (case number);
  • the declaration of the proposed administrative deviations between the same biocidal product and the reference product as well as proof that both products are identical in all other respects.
  • a letter of access for the data, on which the authorisation of the reference product is based, when one is not the owner of the data and its term of protection has not yet expired (Art. 27 para. 1 OBP);
  • A draft of the summary of the product characteristics (SPC: Summary of Products Characteristics) of the same biocidal product;
  • Draft of the label
  • Security data sheet

If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation:

  • its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

The submitted dossier will be validated within 30 days, subject to receipt of payment of the deposit. This takes the form of a test for completeness of the submitted documents. As soon as the application is complete it must be disposed of by the Notification Authority within 60 days. In the case where an application for the reference product is also pending, the period for the same product begins from the date of the authorisation of the reference product.

Period of Validity

The authorisation for a same biocidal product and the authorisation for a reference product can be modified or revoked independently of each other.

Fees

Authorisation of a same product to a reference product AL, recognition or simplified authorisation: CHF 500.- (basic fee).
The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

Last modification 05.06.2018

Top of page

Gesuch um Zulassung von gleichen Produkten

Biozidprodukte, die mit einem bereits zugelassenen Produkt oder einer Produktfamilie identisch sind, können als gleiche Biozidprodukte zugelassen werden (Art. 15 Abs. 1 VBP).

Das zugehörige Referenzprodukt muss entweder schon in der Schweiz zugelassen sein oder zumindest muss ein Gesuch eingereicht worden sein. Dieses Verfahren wird von der Industrie u.a. auch als „Back-to-Back"-Zulassung beschrieben. Es handelt sich um identische Produkte, die unter einem anderen Handelsnamen oder von einer anderen Zulassungsinhaberin in Verkehr gebracht werden sollen.

Identisch bedeutet, das Biozidprodukt stimmt mit dem Referenzprodukt weitestgehend überein, mit Ausnahme von verwaltungstechnischen Änderungen (Art. 4 der Biozidprodukte-Vollzugsverordnung EDI). Ein gleiches Biozidprodukt unterscheidet sich vom Referenzprodukt somit nur in administrativen Aspekten (z.B. unterschiedliche Namen, andere Zulassungsinhaber) oder durch eingeschränkte Verwendungsbedingungen.

Verfahren

Ein Gesuch um Zulassung eines gleichen Produkts ist immer über das Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP einzureichen (siehe Internetlinks).

Die Kommunikation zwischen nationalen Behörden, ECHA und Antragsteller erfolgt ausschliesslich über das R4BP. Es ist daher wichtig, dass der Status des eingereichten Gesuchs (Mitteilungen, Anfragen, Fristen für Zahlungen/nachzureichende Unterlagen usw.) regelmässig vom Gesuchsteller aktiv im R4BP überprüft wird.

Mit dem Gesuch müssen folgende Information eingehen:

  • die Zulassungsnummer des Referenzprodukts oder, wenn dessen Gesuch noch hängig ist, die vom Produktregister R4BP3 zugeteilte Antragsnummer (case number);
  • die Angabe der vorgeschlagenen verwaltungstechnischen Abweichungen zwischen dem gleichen Biozidprodukt und dem Referenzprodukt sowie den Nachweis, dass die beiden Produkte in jeder sonstigen Hinsicht identisch sind;
  • eine Zugangsbescheinigung für die Daten, die der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts zugrunde liegen, falls sie nicht Eigentümerin der Daten ist und deren Schutzdauer noch nicht abgelaufen ist (Art. 27 Abs. 1 VBP);
  • einen Entwurf der Zusammenfassung der Produkteigenschaften (SPC: Summary of Products Characteristics) des gleichen Biozidprodukts;
  • Ein Entwurf der Etikette;
  • Sicherheitsdatenblatt;

Falls das Biozidprodukt, für das eine Zulassung nach dem EU-harmonisierten Verfahren beantragt wird, in der Schweiz schon mit einer Übergangszulassung auf dem Markt ist:

  • dessen Zulassungsnummer (CHZN oder CHZB) und Handelsname (WICHTIG: bei Rückfragen entstehen zusätzliche Kosten)

Das eingegangene Dossier wird, vorbehaltlich des Eingangs des Kostenvorschusses, innerhalb von 30 Tagen validiert. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Vollständigkeitskontrolle der eingereichten Unterlagen. Sobald das Gesuch vollständig ist, muss es von der Anmeldestelle in 60 Tagen verfügt werden. Falls auch für das Referenzprodukt ein Gesuch hängig ist, beginnt die Frist für das gleiche Produkt ab dem Zeitpunkt der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts.

Geltungsdauer

Die Zulassung eines gleichen Biozidprodukts und die Zulassung eines Referenzprodukts können unabhängig voneinander geändert oder widerrufen werden.

Gebühren

Zulassung eines gleichen Produkts zu einem Referenzprodukt ZL, Anerkennung bzw. vereinfachte Zulassung: CHF 500.- (Grundgebühr).
Die Gebühr für Biozidproduktefamilien errechnet sich aus den Grundgebühren der jeweiligen Zulassungsart (z.B. Zulassung ZN 1000 CHF). Für Biozidproduktefamilien mit einer Subfamilie werden der Grundgebühr 50% des Grundpreises addiert. Für jede weitere Subfamilie erhöht sich die Gebühr um weitere 25%. Pro Subfamilie sind jeweils 10 Biozidprodukte inbegriffen. Für jedes zusätzliche Biozidprodukt erhöht sich die Gebühr um ein Prozent der Grundgebühr. Für Biozidprodukte einer Familie resp. Subfamilie, die sich durch nichts anderes (d.h. auch nicht durch Verwendungszweck, Verwendungsmethode etc.) als durch die Konzentration von Pigment-, Farb- oder Duftstoffen unterscheiden, erhöhen sich die Gebühren nicht.

Hinweis

Die Prozesse und Prozeduren für die Zulassung von Biozidprodukten können sich kurzfristig ändern. Wir empfehlen den interessierten Kreisen daher, regelmässig die Webseite der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien zu besuchen und den Newsletter Verbraucherschutz des BAG zu abonnieren.

Letzte Änderung 05.06.2018

Zum Seitenanfang