Authorisation for parallel trade

A licence for parallel trade can be granted for a biocidal product that is authorised in an EU Member State1 and is identical to a biocidal product that is already authorised in Switzerland.

Preliminary remarks

Based on the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) of 14 April 2015 the procedure for the authorisation of parallel trade is governed by the provisions of Article 53 of the Regulation (EU) 528/2012 (BPR) 2. An equivalent legal basis can be found in Article 13a of the Swiss Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP, SR 813.12).

Procedure

Applications for the authorisation for parallel trade are to be submitted exclusively through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 at the Notification Authority for Chemicals (see internet links). Dossiers in paper format will not be accepted.

An application for the authorisation for parallel trade can be filed when the biocidal product that is authorised in the EU or EFTA Member State is identical to the Reference product3, i.e.:

a) It is manufactured by the same company, by an affiliated company or manufactured under licence using the same manufacturing process;
b) The specification and the content of active substances as well as the type of formulation are identical;
c) It is identical in regard to the inactive substances present;
d) It is identical or equivalent in size, material and type of packaging in regard to potential adverse effects on human or animal health or on the environment.

The application for the authorisation for parallel trade must include the following information:

a) Name and authorisation number of the biocidal product in the EU or EFTA Member State;
b) Name and address of the competent authority of the EU or EFTA Member State;
c) Name and address of the authorisation holder in the EU or EFTA Member State;
d) Original label and directions for use, with which the biocidal product is distributed in the EU or EFTA Member State, if the Notification Authority deems that they are required for the examination;
e) Name and address of the applicant;
f) Name to be given to the biocidal product intended to be distributed;
g) Draft label for the biocidal product intended to be distributed, in two official languages;
h) A sample of the biocidal product to be imported, when the Notification Authority deems this to be required;
i) Name and authorisation number of the Reference product;
j) Translation of the essential parts of the original directions for use, when the Notification Authority requests it.

On receipt of the application for authorisation of a biocidal product for parallel trade the Notification Authority sends an invoice for the total expected fee to the applicant by means of R4BP 3. The timely4 payment of the cost estimate is required for the Notification Authority to process the application. The processing period is 60 days max. The Notification Authority can obtain additional information from the competent authority of the EU or EFTA Member State, when deemed necessary for the identification of the product.

If the authorisation for the parallel trade is granted by the Notification Authority in agreement with the assessment authorities, then the authorisation for placing on the market and the professional and commercial use of the biocidal product is subject to the same conditions and requirements as for the Reference product.

The authorisation for the parallel trade of a biocidal product remains valid for the remaining validity period of the authorisation of the Reference product. This is also the case when the authorisation of the reference product, upon application by the authorisation holder, is revoked, insofar as the requirements for the authorisation of the reference product are still met.

The Notification Authority revokes the authorisation for parallel trade if the authorisation for the biocidal product in the EU or EFTA Member State is revoked on the grounds of safety or effectiveness.

Fees

Fees for processing an application for the authorisation for parallel trade are CHF 2500.-.

Remark

The procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

 

1 A parallel MRA applies to the EFTA States Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway based on the EFTA-Agreement (Annex I).

2 Regulation (EU) 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 on the placing on the market and the use of biocidal products.

3 Herein, the reference product is understood to mean that identical product, which is already authorised in Switzerland.

4 Within 30 days after receipt of the invoice.

Last modification 21.11.2016

Top of page

Zulassung für den Parallelhandel

Ein Biozidprodukt, welches eine Zulassung in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat1 hat und identisch mit einem in der Schweiz schon zugelassenen Biozidprodukt ist, kann eine Bewilligung für den Parallelhandel erhalten.

Vorbemerkungen

Ein Biozidprodukt, welches eine Zulassung in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat1 hat und identisch mit einem in der Schweiz schon zugelassenen Biozidprodukt ist, kann eine Bewilligung für den Parallelhandel erhalten.

Das Verfahren um Zulassung für den Parallelhandel gestützt auf das Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) vom 14. April 2015 richtet sich nach den Regelungen von Artikel 53 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 (BPR)2. Eine äquivalente Rechtsgrundlage findet sich in Artikel 13a der Schweizer Biozidprodukteverordnung (VBP, SR 813.12).

Verfahren

Gesuche um Zulassung für den Parallelhandel sind ausschliesslich über das Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP 3 bei der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien einzureichen (siehe Internetlinks). Dossiers auf Papier werden nicht akzeptiert.

Ein Gesuch um Zulassung für den Parallelhandel kann gestellt werden, wenn das im EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat zugelassene Biozidprodukt identisch ist mit dem Referenzprodukt3, d.h.:

a) es wird von demselben Unternehmen, von einem angeschlossenen Unternehmen oder unter Lizenz nach demselben Herstellungsverfahren hergestellt;
b) die Spezifikation und der Gehalt an Wirkstoffen sowie der Formulierungstyp sind identisch;
c) es ist hinsichtlich der vorhandenen nicht wirksamen Stoffe identisch;
d) es ist mit seiner Grösse, dem Material und der Form der Verpackung hinsichtlich potenzieller negativer Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit von Mensch oder Tier oder auf die Umwelt identisch oder gleichwertig.

Das Gesuch um Zulassung für den Parallelhandel muss folgende Informationen enthalten:

a) Bezeichnung und Zulassungsnummer des Biozidprodukts im EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat;
b) Name und Adresse der zuständigen Behörde des EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat;
c) Name und Adresse der Inhaberin der Zulassung im EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat;
d) Original der Etikette und der Verwendungsvorschriften, mit denen das Biozidprodukt im EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat in Verkehr gebracht wird, wenn die Anmeldestelle dies für die Prüfung für erforderlich hält;
e) Name und Adresse der Gesuchstellerin;
f) vorgesehene Bezeichnung des Biozidprodukts, das in Verkehr gebracht werden soll;
g) Entwurf der Etikette für das Biozidprodukt, das in Verkehr gebracht werden soll, in zwei Amtssprachen;
h) eine Probe des einzuführenden Biozidprodukts, wenn die Anmeldestelle dies für erforderlich hält;
i) Bezeichnung und Zulassungsnummer des Referenzprodukts;
j) Übersetzung der wesentlichen Teile der Original-Verwendungsvorschriften, wenn die Anmeldestelle dies verlangt.

Nach Eingang des Gesuchs um Zulassung eines Biozidprodukts für den Parallelhandel stellt die Anmeldestelle der Gesuchstellerin mittels R4BP 3 Rechnung für die vollständige voraussichtliche Gebühr. Die fristgerechte4 Entrichtung des Kostenvorschusses ist Voraussetzung für die Bearbeitung des Gesuchs durch die Anmeldestelle. Die Bearbeitungsfrist beträgt max. 60 Tage. Die Anmeldestelle kann, wenn sie dies zur Feststellung der Identität des Produkts für erforderlich hält, von der zuständigen Behörde des EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaates zusätzliche Auskünfte einholen.

Wird die Zulassung für den Parallelhandel von der Anmeldestelle im Einvernehmen mit den Beurteilungsstellen gewährt, so erfolgt die Zulassung für das Inverkehrbringen und die berufliche und gewerbliche Verwendung des Biozidprodukts zu denselben Bedingungen und Auflagen wie für das Referenzprodukts.

Die Geltungsdauer der Zulassung für den Parallelhandel eines Biozidprodukts entspricht der verbleibenden Geltungsdauer der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts. Dies gilt auch, wenn die Zulassung des Referenzprodukts auf Antrag des Zulassungsinhabers widerrufen wird, sofern die Anforderungen der Zulassung des Referenzprodukts noch immer erfüllt sind.

Die Anmeldestelle widerruft die Zulassung für den Parallelhandel, wenn die Zulassung des Biozidprodukts im EU- oder EFTA-Mitgliedstaat aus Gründen der Sicherheit oder der Wirksamkeit widerrufen wird.

Gebühren

Die Bearbeitung eines Gesuchs um Zulassung für den Parallelhandel ist mit Gebühren von CHF 2'500.- verbunden.

Hinweis

Die Prozesse für die Zulassung von Biozidprodukten können sich kurzfristig ändern. Wir empfehlen den interessierten Kreisen daher, regelmässig die Webseite der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien zu besuchen und den Newsletter Verbraucherschutz des BAG zu abonnieren.

 

1 Ein paralleles MRA gilt für die EFTA Staaten Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen aufgrund des EFTA-Übereinkommens (Anhang I).

2 Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 22. Mai 2012 über die Bereitstellung auf dem Markt und die Verwendung von Biozidprodukten.

3 Als Referenzprodukt ist hierbei dasjenige identische Produkt zu verstehen, welches in der Schweiz bereits zugelassen ist.

4 Innert 30 Tagen nach Zugang der Rechnung.

Letzte Änderung 21.11.2016

Zum Seitenanfang