Objects

For certain substances the chemicals legislation contains provisions that must be respected when objects are placed on the market. 

Obligations in the context of self-regulation

  • In the case of objects containing dangerous substances, substances considered PBT or vPvB, or substances of very high concern (SVHC) listed in Annex 3 ChemO, the manufacturer must assess (Art. 5 para. 2 ChemO) whether these substances may endanger the environment or indirectly endanger human health when these objects are used as intended, or in a foreseeable manner, or when they are appropriately disposed of.
  • In the case of objects containing SVHC the manufacturer must assess (Art. 5 para. 3 ChemO) whether these substances may endanger human health when these objects are used as intended, or in a foreseeable manner, or when they are appropriately disposed of.

Restrictions and Bans

Specific bans or restrictions have been decreed in regard to placing on the market or to the use of certain substances or families of substances due to health and environmental risks associated with their use.
These provisions, which often also apply to the use of the substances in objects, are found in the Annexes of the Chemical Risk Reduction Ordinance (ORRChem). An overview of these restrictions and bans can be found under ‘Links’.

Duty to provide information on substances of very high concern (SVHC) in objects

Anyone who commercially supplies an object that contains more than 0.1 wt % of an SVHC listed in Annex 3 ChemO, must inform the recipient of the presence of the SVHC in the object and the measures required for safe use (Art. 71 ChemO). This information has to be provided to professional users or traders without being so requested, and to private users on request within 45 days.

In accordance with European practice the limit value applies to each part of an object. With a bicycle, for example, the 0.1 % limit is based on the weight of the handlebar grips, if they contain a substance from the SVHC list.

More detailed information on comprehending the duty to provide information: Fact Sheet on the duty to provide information pursuant to Article 71 ChemO.

Last modification 03.07.2018

Top of page

Objets

La législation sur les produits chimiques contient des prescriptions relatives à certaines substances, qui doivent être observées lors de la mise sur le marché d’objets. 

Obligations dans le cadre du contrôle autonome

  • Si des objets contiennent des substances dangereuses, des substances évaluées PBT ou vPvB ou des substances extrêmement préoccupantes (SVHC) au sens de l'annexe 3 OChim, le fabricant doit (art. 5, al. 2, OChim) évaluer si ces substances peuvent mettre en danger l'environnement lorsque lesdits objets sont employés conformément à l'usage prévu ou à l'usage prévisible ou lorsqu'ils sont éliminés conformément aux prescriptions en la matière.
  • Dans le cas d'objets contenant des SVHC, le fabricant doit (art. 5, al. 3, OChim) évaluer si ces substances peuvent mettre en danger la santé humaine lorsque lesdits objets sont employés conformément à l'usage prévu ou à l'usage prévisible ou lorsqu'ils sont éliminés conformément aux prescriptions en la matière.

Restrictions et interdictions

Pour des substances ou groupes de substances déterminés, des interdictions ou des restrictions spécifiques peuvent être imposées lors de leur mise sur le marché ou de leur utilisation en raison des risques liés à leur usage pour la santé humaine ou pour l’environnement.
Ces dispositions, qui concernent souvent l’usage de la substance dans les objets également, sont inscrites dans les annexes de l’ordonnance sur la réduction des risques liés aux produits chimiques (ORRChim). Un aperçu de ces restrictions et interdictions est disponible dans la rubrique « Liens ».

Devoir d’information pour les substances extrêmement préoccupantes (SVHC)

Toute personne qui remet, à titre commercial, un objet contenant une SVHC visée à l'annexe 3 OChim avec une concentration supérieure à 0,1 % du poids doit informer l’utilisateur de la présence de cette SVHC dans l’objet et des mesures nécessaires pour une utilisation sûre (art. 71 OChim). Il doit remettre ces informations de manière spontanée à l’utilisateur professionnel et au commerçant. Sur demande, il doit les transmettre dans un délai de 45 jours à l’utilisateur privé.

Conformément à la pratique européenne, la valeur limite porte sur chaque partie de l’objet. Par exemple, si les poignées d’un vélo contiennent une SVHC, la limite de 0,1 % se calcule par rapport au poids des poignées.

De plus amples informations sur l’obligation d’informer peuvent être téléchargées : Notice concernant l'obligation d'informer selon l'article 71 OChim.

Dernière modification 03.07.2018

Début de la page