Labelling

The label for chemical products contains the most important information for safe product use. It provides information on potential risks, applicable protective measures and what to do in case of an accident.

Information on hazards posed by chemical products (substances and mixtures/preparations) is provided by the product label and in the trade and professional context also by the safety data sheet. This information has been harmonised worldwide in the globally harmonised system for the classification and labelling of chemicals (GHS) of the UNO. The EU transposed this into its law in the CLP Regulation (Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008, Classification, Labelling, Packaging). Switzerland has extensively harmonised its law with these provisions in order that technical barriers to trade do not occur.

In the internet document “Swiss CLP: Guide to Classification, Labelling and Packaging of Substances and Preparations in Switzerland” the implementation in Switzerland is explained in detail and deals thoroughly with the provisions for the classification of chemicals by taking into consideration available resources for the CLP Regulation and points to be given particular attention in Switzerland (for example multilingualism).

The most important elements of a label
The elements of the label presented below concern chemical products that meet the definition for hazardous chemical products pursuant to Article 3 of the Chemicals Ordinance SR 813.11.

Product identifier
For preparations/mixtures the trade names or the designation of the mixture. For substances: Name and identification number (if available use the EC number, otherwise the CAS number). Detailed indications are available in the listed, supporting documents.

Hazard pictograms
The hazard pictograms are an eye-catcher and serve as a rough guide to the hazard type. The hazard pictograms can be downloaded from the UNECE website.
The size of the hazard symbol for packages of up to 3 litres is at least 16x16 mm edge length; this may be reduced at most to 10x10 mm due to limited space, for example for small package sizes typically below 500 mL or g. Pictogram sizes of 10 x 10 mm are actually only intended for container sizes below 125 mL or g.
The hazard pictograms are defined as black symbols on a white background in a red rhomboidal border. Pantone 485C or cmyk: 0/100/100/0 are recommended for the red border.

Signal word
The signal word serves as a rough guide to the severity of the hazard. There are two possible signal words, “Notice” and “Danger”. They are assigned according to the classification.

Hazard statements
The hazard warnings describe the hazards in more detail. The text must appear in full; however, the H-statement number does not need to be indicated on the label. All required hazard warnings must be listed, insofar as no clear duplication exists or they are not explicitly superfluous.

Safety instructions
The safety instructions indicate the measures to be taken for protection and first aid. The texts must also appear in full; however, the P-statement number does not need to be indicated.
If necessary, the required selection shall be made, e.g. for P261 Avoid breathing dust/fumes/gas/mist/vapours/spray, only those terms that are relevant shall be listed. No more than six safety instructions should appear on the label unless the type and the severity of the hazards necessitate a greater number.

Ingredients and other complementary information
Depending on the content and characteristics of certain substances, these must be listed on the label even for preparations/mixtures. Still more indications on the label may also be necessary. Indications for this can be found in the documents Swiss-CLP and the ECHA Guidelines on Labelling and Packaging.

Manufacturer
Products used by the general public must exhibit the names, address and telephone number of the responsible manufacturer in Switzerland. For commercial products this may also be the person responsible for the placement on the market in the EEA.

Languages
As products used by the general public may be marketed throughout Switzerland, the label must be written in at least two official languages. The hazard and safety statements are grouped together according to the language.
Chemical products that are placed on the market under the Cassis de Dijon principle may also be labelled only in the language of the sales region in question. This requires that steps be taken to ensure that no sales occur in other linguistic regions. The sale of such products in officially bilingual municipalities such as Biel/Bienne or Fribourg/Freiburg is not possible.

Text size
Legislative texts require that the labelling elements must be clearly legible and indelible. The Swiss authorities deem that in normal cases this is given by a minimum text size corresponding to Arial 7 for black text on a white background. Other colour combinations may require a larger text size.

Biocidal products, plant protection agents, washing and cleaning agents
Additional requirements, listed in the relevant specific legislation, apply to biocidal products, plant protection agents, washing and cleaning agents.

Documents

Flyer

Last modification 18.08.2017

Top of page

Etiquetage

L'étiquette figurant sur les produits chimiques fournit les informations essentielles à une utilisation sans danger. Elle renseigne sur les risques potentiels, les mesures de protection à adopter et la marche à suivre en cas d'accident.

Pour identifier les dangers liés aux produits chimiques (substances et préparations/mélanges), on se réfère à leur étiquette. La fiche de données de sécurité renseigne les utilisateurs professionnels et les commerçants. Cette information a été uniformisée au niveau international par le système général harmonisé de classification et d'étiquetage des produits chimiques (SGH) de l'ONU. L'UE a transposé le SGH dans son droit en adoptant le règlement (CE) n° 1272/2008 relatif à la classification, à l’étiquetage et à l’emballage (règlement CLP). Afin d'éviter les entraves techniques au commerce, la Suisse a largement harmonisé sa législation avec ces dispositions.

Le document «Swiss CLP: Guide concernant la classification, l'étiquetage et l'emballage des substances et des préparations en Suisse», consultable sur internet, décrit en détail la mise en œuvre du règlement en Suisse. Il explique les critères d'étiquetage des produits chimiques en s'appuyant sur les documents d'orientation relatifs au règlement CLP et les aspects à prendre particulièrement en compte en Suisse (p. ex., le plurilinguisme).

Principaux éléments d'une étiquette
Les éléments de l'étiquette présentés ci-après concernent les produits chimiques remplissant les critères de dangerosité figurant à l'art. 3 de l'ordonnance sur les produits chimiques (RS 813.11).

Identifiant du produit
Pour les préparations/mélanges : nom commercial ou désignation du mélange. Pour les substances : nom et numéro d'identification (nomenclature EC lorsqu'elle existe, sinon numéro CAS). Des informations détaillées figurent dans les documents mentionnés ci-après.

Pictogrammes de danger
Les pictogrammes de danger attirent le regard et permettent de se faire une idée générale des dangers liés au produit. Ils peuvent être téléchargés depuis le site de l'UNECE.
La taille des symboles de danger est d'au moins 16x16 mm pour les emballages jusqu'à 3 litres ; elle peut être réduite jusqu'à 10x10 mm au maximum pour des raisons de place (p. ex., pour les emballages de moins de 500 ml ou grammes). Les pictogrammes de 10x10 mm sont en principe prévus uniquement pour les emballages de moins de 125 ml ou grammes.
Les pictogrammes de danger sont constitués d'un symbole noir sur fond blanc entouré d'un losange rouge. Pour le cadre rouge, il est recommandé d'utiliser la teinte Pantone 485C ou cmyk: 0/100/100/0.

Mention d’avertissement
La mention d'avertissement sert à indiquer de manière générale le niveau de dangerosité. Il existe deux mentions d'avertissement : « Attention » et « Danger ». Leur choix dépend de la catégorie dans laquelle le produit est classé.

Mentions de danger
Les mentions de danger décrivent les risques de manière plus précise. Elles doivent apparaître en toutes lettres. En revanche, le numéro de la phrase H ne doit pas nécessairement figurer sur l'étiquette. Toutes les mentions de danger doivent être indiquées, pour autant qu'il n'y ait pas de doublon explicite ou qu'elles ne soient pas superflues.

Conseils de prudence
Les conseils de prudence indiquent les mesures de protection et de premiers secours à prendre. Ils doivent également figurer en toutes lettres. En revanche, le numéro de la phrase P n'est pas obligatoire.
Il peut également être indispensable d'opérer certains choix. Par exemple, pour la phrase P261 « Eviter de respirer les poussières/fumées/gaz/brouillards/vapeurs/ aérosols », il y a lieu de retenir uniquement les termes s'appliquant au produit.
Six conseils de prudence au maximum peuvent figurer sur l'étiquette, sauf si le type et la gravité des dangers en nécessitent davantage.

Substances et autres informations complémentaires
Selon leur teneur et leurs propriétés, certaines substances contenues dans des préparations/mélanges doivent également figurer sur l'étiquette. D'autres informations peuvent s'avérer nécessaires. Les documents Swiss-CLP et le Guide ECHA sur l'étiquetage et l'emballage fournissent de plus amples informations à ce sujet.

Fabricant
Le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone du fabricant responsable en Suisse doivent figurer sur les produits destinés au grand public. Pour les produits destinés aux commerçants, il peut également s'agir de la personne responsable de la mise sur le marché dans l'EEE.

Langues
Pour qu'un produit destiné au grand public puisse être commercialisé dans toute la Suisse, les informations sur l'étiquette doivent figurer dans au moins deux langues officielles. Les mentions de danger et les conseils de prudence doivent être regroupés par langue.
Les produits chimiques mis sur le marché selon le principe du Cassis de Dijon peuvent être étiquetés uniquement dans la langue de la région où ils sont mis en vente. Dans ce cas, il faut s'assurer qu'ils ne sont pas vendus dans d'autres régions linguistiques. De tels produits ne peuvent pas être vendus dans des communes officiellement bilingues comme Bienne ou Fribourg.

Taille des caractères
Conformément à la législation, les éléments doivent être marqués de manière claire et indélébile. Les autorités suisses considèrent que ces critères sont remplis en utilisant des caractères en Arial 7 au minimum pour un texte noir sur fond blanc. D'autres combinaisons de couleur peuvent nécessiter une plus grande taille.

Produits biocides, produits phytosanitaires, lessives et produits de nettoyage
Les produits biocides, les produits phytosanitaires, les lessives et les produits de nettoyage sont soumis à d'autres exigences prévues dans des législations spécifiques.

Documents

Dernière modification 18.08.2017

Début de la page