Safety Data Sheet (SDS)

The safety data sheet contains important information on hazards, protection measures, procedures after accidents, etc. for the chemical product in question. Its distribution in the industrial occupational field is obligatory.

  • The SDS contains information on possible product hazards and gives instructions for the correct handling, for suitable protective measures, for storage, for transport and for waste disposal as well as for procedures in the case of accident.
  • The employer is responsible for the correct handling of chemical products in the workplace. The employer can be supported in this task by employees (safety officers and supervisors). The employer must ensure that the employees are informed about working correctly with chemical products and are instructed on the correct handling methods. For products with hazardous ingredients it is obligatory to transmit a safety data sheet.
  • The manufacturer of the product is responsible for issuing the SDS. In Switzerland a possible importer acts as the responsible manufacturer. All sellers (dealers) along the supply chain are responsible for the distribution. Safety data sheets are used throughout Europe – in principle the Swiss SDS and the European SDS are identical. As in any other country the country-specific information for Switzerland has to be added. This includes the responsible manufacturer/importer, the Swiss emergency information, any specific Swiss limit values (see SUVA), limitations such as maternity and child protection or other information in accordance with Swiss legal provisions.
    The adaptation may be made either in the sections 1, 7, 8, 13 and 15 of the SDS or as a cover sheet.

The guide “The safety data sheet in Switzerland” describes how the safety data sheet has to be compiled or adapted for Switzerland.

Annexes 1 and 2 of this guide are intended to give practical instructions for preparing or adapting safety data sheets that have to be made available in Switzerland.

  • Annex 1 of this guide corresponds to the Regulation (EU) 2015/830 (adaptation REACH) generally adapted to Swiss provisions.
    This Annex is intended to be a practical aid for all who have to draw up a safety data sheet for the Swiss market.
  • Annex 2 of this guide specifically describes in detail sections 1, 7, 8, 13 and 15 of the Regulation (EU) 2015/830, which, pursuant to Art. 20 para. 2 ChemO, are to be adapted to the Swiss requirements.
    It is a supplement to Annex 1 of this guide and of use specifically for adapting a safety data sheet from the EEA.

Last modification 20.02.2017

Top of page

Fiche de données de sécurité (FDS)

La fiche de données de sécurité relative à un produit chimique contient des informations essentielles sur les dangers qu’il présente, les mesures de protection, le comportement à adopter en cas d’accident, etc. Elle doit obligatoirement être remise à tous les commerçants et les utilisateurs professionnels.

  • La FDS contient des informations sur les dangers potentiels du produit et fournit des indications concernant son utilisation, les mesures de protection appropriées, le stockage, le transport, l’élimination du produit ainsi que le comportement à adopter en cas d’accident.
  • Il incombe à l’employeur de s’assurer que les produits chimiques sont utilisés correctement au sein de l’entreprise. Il peut être assisté dans cette tâche par les employés désignés à cet effet (responsables de la sécurité et responsables hiérarchiques). L’employeur doit veiller à ce que les employés soient informés sur la manière adéquate de travailler avec les produits chimiques et instruits en conséquence. Il est obligatoire de remettre une FDS pour les produits contenant des composants dangereux
  • Le fabricant du produit est tenu d’établir la FDS correspondante. En Suisse, l’importateur est considéré comme le fabricant du produit. Quant à la remise du produit, tous les vendeurs (commerçants) intervenant le long de la chaîne de livraison en sont responsables. Les fiches de données de sécurité sont utilisées dans toute l’Europe. La FDS suisse correspond pour l’essentiel à la FDS européenne et contient des données spécifiques au pays pour lequel elle est établie. Il s’agit d’indications concernant le fabricant/l’importateur responsable, le numéro d’appel pour les cas d’urgence, les valeurs limites spécifiques en Suisse (voir SUVA), les restrictions relatives, par exemple, à la protection de la mère et de la jeunesse ou d’autres informations en fonction des prescriptions légales suisses.
    L’adaptation peut figurer soit dans les sections 1, 7, 8, 13 et 15 de la FDS ou en page de couverture.

Le guide « La fiche de données de sécurité en Suisse » décrit comment établir ou adapter la fiche de données de sécurité pour la Suisse.

Les annexes 1 et 2 du présent guide servent d'instructions pratiques pour l'établissement ou l'adaptation des fiches de données de sécurité à fournir en Suisse :

  • l'annexe 1 correspond au règlement (UE) no2015/830 globalement adapté aux équivalences suisses ; il sert donc de marche à suivre pour tous les professionnels tenus de rédiger une fiche de données de sécurité pour le marché suisse.
  • l'annexe 2 décrit spécifiquement et en détail les sections 1, 7, 8, 13 et 15  du règlement (UE) no2015/830, qui doivent être adaptées aux exigences suisses en vertu de l'art. 20, al. 2, OChim. Elle complète donc l'annexe 1 du présent guide et permet notamment d’adapter la fiche de données de sécurité de l'EEE

Dernière modification 20.02.2017

Début de la page