Biocidal active substances

In order that active substances may be used as or for biocidal products, they have to be "approved" or at least be notified for approval.

Approval of an active substance

In most cases the approval of the active substances is based on an assessment by the EU authorities.

Switzerland adopts the assessment procedures for biocidal active substances from the EU. However, Switzerland is actively integrated into the assessment process. Consequently, it is possible for Swiss applicants and European applicants to have a substance assessed by the Swiss authorities or by an authority in the EU with a view to inclusion in Annex 1 or 2 of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP; SR 813.12).

The procedure for assessing dossiers on existing biocidal active substances is regulated by the Delegated Regulation (EU) no 1062/2014 (see list of links). The data requirements for an application for approval of an active substance are described in Article 6 of Regulation (EU) no 528/2012 (BPR). Applications for existing and new biocidal active substances shall be submitted through the European Register for Biocidal Products R4BP. The European Chemical Agency ECHA provides guidelines for the submission of these types of dossier (see list of links).

Biocidal active substances are defined as substances and microorganisms including viruses with an intended effect for use as a biocidal product.

Active substance use

Active substances may be placed on the market, if:

  1. they are placed on the market exclusively for use in or as a biocidal product. In other words: they are mixed into a formulation in order that the resulting product becomes a biocidal product, or the active substance is itself a biocidal product (e.g. a gas); and
  2. the active substances are either notified (see below) or included in the lists in Annex 1 (XLS, 110 kB, 01.03.2018) or Annex 2 (XLS, 712 kB, 25.06.2019) of the OBP (Lists of active substances for the simplified procedure and Union lists of authorised active substances).

The list of notified active substances was established within the framework of an EU-Review Programme for biocidal active substances. The active substance list was originally part of Annex II of Regulation (EC) no 1451/2007. At the end of October 2014 it was replaced by Regulation (EU) no 1062/2014. In Annex II part 1 of the new Regulation active substances are listed that are still under examination in the scope of the programme (under certain conditions, with an appropriate declaration, an interest for notification and therefore for later approval can be indicated[1] for unlisted active substances). The approval or non-approval of all active substances is expected by 2024. Each active substance will be scientifically assessed for the product categories in which it was notified in regard to its risk for human health and the environment and its efficacy. After the assessment a decision is taken on whether the active substance is approved for a product-type or not. In the latter case the active substance for the product-type will be struck off the list of notified active substances. If the inclusion of the active substance is published in the list of Annex 1 or 2 OBP (List of active substances for the simplified authorisation procedure and Union List of approved active substances), the Notification Authority communicates this to the owner of an AN or AC authorisation of a biocidal product with this active substance.

The following consequences arise:

  1. In order to use an approved active substance as or in a biocidal product, an application must be submitted for an AL authorisation or for a simplified authorisation. In addition, an application can also be submitted for acceptance of a product authorised in the EU/EFTA or a Union authorisation.
  2. For active substances which have been struck off the list of notified active substances for the product-type in question, then the existing transitional authorisation AN or AC with this active substance will be revoked by the Notification Authority.
  3. An application AN can be submitted for notified active substances, whose authorisation has not yet been decided. This type of authorisation is not a subject of the MRA and represents a purely Swiss provision for the transitional period.

N.B. The list of notified active substances is published in the European Review Regulation no 1062/2014. Both the list of the notified active substances as well as the deleted and included or authorised active substances need to be examined. The Notification Authority has published an unofficial, consolidated list to facilitate this (green: included in the lists in Annex 1 or 2 OBP; red: no longer notified).

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice as a result of technical and administrative guidelines of the EU Commission and/or the ECHA. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

[1] New active substances; see OBP Art. 2 para. 2 letter g

Last modification 31.01.2019

Top of page

Substances actives biocides

Pour pouvoir être utilisées comme des substances actives biocides, les substances actives doivent être « approuvées » ou du moins notifiées en vue de l'approbation.

Approbation des substances actives

Dans la grande majorité des cas, l'approbation des substances actives résulte d'un examen des autorités européennes.

Si en matière de substances actives biocides, la Suisse reprend les procédures d'examen de l'UE, elle participe activement à l'évaluation. Les fabricants suisses et européens souhaitant faire inscrire une substance dans l'annexe 1 ou 2 de l'ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio ; RS 813.12) peuvent donc soumettre leur demande d'évaluation soit à l'autorité suisse soit à une autorité européenne.

La procédure d'examen de dossiers relatifs à des substances actives biocides existantes est régie par le règlement délégué (UE) n°1062/2014 (voir la liste de liens). Les exigences concernant les données à fournir pour une demande d'approbation d'une substance active sont décrites à l'art. 6 du règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 RPB. Quant aux demandes pour des substances actives existantes ou nouvelles, il convient de les déposer par le biais du Registre européen des produits biocides (R4BP). L'Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA) met à disposition des guides pratiques pour la soumission de tels dossiers (voir la liste des liens).

Par substances actives biocides, on entend les substances et les microorganismes, y compris les virus, avec une action destinée à un usage biocide.

Utilisation des substances actives

Les substances actives peuvent être mises sur le marché si :

  1. elles sont uniquement destinées à être utilisées dans des produits biocides. En d'autres termes, elles sont mélangées à une formulation afin que le mélange qui en découle soit un produit biocide ou la substance active est elle-même un produit biocide (p. ex. un gaz) ; et
  2. elles sont soit notifiées (voir ci-dessous) ou figurent sur la liste de l'annexe 1 (XLS, 110 kB, 01.03.2018) ou l'annexe 2 (XLS, 712 kB, 25.06.2019) de l'OPBio (liste des substances actives pour la procédure simplifiée et liste de l'Union des substances actives approuvées).

La liste des substances actives notifiées a été établie dans le cadre d'un programme de réexamen (reviewprogramme) de l'Union européenne concernant les substances actives biocides. La liste des substances actives se trouvait à l'origine à l'annexe II du Règlement (CE) n° 1451/2007. Celui-ci a été remplacé fin octobre 2014 par le Règlement (UE) n° 1062/2014. Les substances actives qui se trouvent encore dans le programme d'examen sont listées à l'annexe II, partie 1, du nouveau règlement (à certaines conditions, il est possible, pour des substances actives non listées, de manifester par le biais d'une déclaration idoine un intérêt pour la notification et donc pour une approbation ultérieure[1]). D'ici 2024, le sort de toutes les substances actives devrait être réglé. Le risque pour l'homme et l'environnement ainsi que l'efficacité sont évalués scientifiquement pour chaque substance en prenant en compte les types de produits pour lesquels elle est notifiée. Après l'évaluation, la décision d'approuver ou non la substance active est arrêtée. En cas de décision négative, la substance active est rayée de la liste des substances actives notifiées. Si l'inscription de la substance active est publiée dans la liste de l'annexe 1 ou 2 OPBio (liste des substances actives pour la procédure simplifiée et liste de l'Union des substances actives approuvées), l'organe de réception des notifications le communique au titulaire de l'autorisation AN ou AC d'un produit biocide contenant cette substance active.

Il en résulte que :

  1. Pour utiliser une substance active approuvée en tant que produit biocide ou dans un tel produit, il faut déposer une demande d'autorisation AL ou d'autorisation simplifiée. Il est en outre possible de déposer une demande de reconnaissance d'un produit autorisé par un pays membre de l'UE/AELE ou une demande d'autorisation de l'Union.
  2. Pour les substances actives qui ont été rayées de la liste des substances actives notifiées pour le type de produit concerné, les autorisations provisoires AN ou AC avec cette substance active sont révoquées par l'organe de réception des notifications.
  3. Pour les substances actives notifiées dont la décision d'approbation est pendante, une demande d'autorisation AN peut être déposée. Ce type d'autorisation ne relève pas de l'ARM et constitue une disposition purement suisse pour la période transitoire.

Attention : la liste des substances notifiées est publiée dans le règlement délégué (UE) n° 1062/2014. Il est nécessaire de consulter aussi bien la liste des substances actives notifiées que la liste des substances qui ne sont plus notifiées et celles inscrites sur la liste ou approuvées. Afin de faciliter la recherche, l'organe de réception des notifications met à disposition une liste consolidée inofficielle (PDF, 1 MB, 09.05.2019) (vert : inscrite sur la liste de l'annexe 1 ou 2 OPBio ; rouge : n'est plus notifiée)

Remarque

En raison des directives techniques et administratives de la Commission européenne et/ou de l'ECHA, les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées à court terme. Nous recommandons donc aux personnes concernées de consulter régulièrement le site internet de l'organe de réception des notifications et de s'abonner à la Newsletter publiée par l'unité de direction Protection des consommateurs de l'OFSP.

[1] Nouvelle substance active ; voir art. 2, al. 2, let. g, OPBio

Dernière modification 31.01.2019

Début de la page