Provision of evidence required under Article 62d of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP)

With the latest revision of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP; SR 813.12), intellectual property protection for active substance (research) data is now also regulated in Switzerland. In accordance with the relevant provisions of the EU Biocidal Products Regulation1 (BPR), such products may only be marketed if their active substances come from listed suppliers.

1. Background and goal

In the EU, certain manufacturers and importers of active substances have participated in the ongoing work programme2 for the systematic toxicological and ecotoxicological evaluation of notified active substances and have submitted active substance dossiers. These companies have thus incurred considerable costs (for research prior to marketing). Article 95 of the BPR seeks to ensure that those not involved to date are not exempt from financial responsibilities (prevention of "free riding"), and that all parties contribute to the costs of active substance approval.

All suppliers of active substances for which dossiers have been validated are included in the ECHA list of active substances and suppliers (also known as the Article 95 List; see links listed on the right). Persons who have participated in the work programme are automatically included in the ECHA list. An additional active substance manufacturer may at any time submit a complete substance dossier or a letter of access in order to be included in the list. Manufacturers or importers of biocidal products can also have substances included in the list if the manufacturer in the supply chain fails to do so. Under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA), companies domiciled or with a registered office in Switzerland do not require representation in the EU in order to be included in the Article 95 List. The first official Article 95 List was published on 24 September 2014, and updates are now issued monthly by the ECHA (see links listed on the right). This list is also used by the Swiss authorities.

With effect from 1 September 2016, biocidal products can only be placed on the market in Switzerland if - for the active substance contained in or generated by the biocidal product - the substance or product supplier is included in the Article 95 List issued by the ECHA.

2. Which biocidal products are affected?

In the EU, Art. 95 BPR is applicable from 1 September 2015 for biocidal products which, under transitional provisions, may be made available in EU countries without being authorised in accordance with the BPR (biocidal products with notified, not yet approved active substances). In Switzerland, such biocidal products may be placed on the market with the transitional authorisations AN and AC. The BPR concept of equal treatment for all persons placing active substances and biocidal products on the market is being implemented in Switzerland through Article 62d OBP, which covers all transitional authorisations AN and AC.

3. What action needs to be taken?

Holders of transitional authorisations AN are thus required to submit the following information to the Notification Authority for Chemicals (NAChem):

or

  • if inclusion in the list has been approved by the ECHA but the entry has not yet been published: a certified copy of the ECHA decision concerning the inclusion of the suppliers from whom the active substances contained in the biocidal product are obtained;

or

  • a reference to data for which the protection period specified in Article 28 OBP has expired;

Such evidence does not have to be provided for active substances contained in a biocidal product which are listed in Annex 1 OBP in categories 1-5 and 7.

For submissions as specified above, the holders of existing AN authorisations can use the Excel form (XLSM, 289 kB, 10.10.2017) available on the NAChem website to declare the origin of their active substances or to register any exemptions. After you have entered the biocidal product data into the Excel form (without the authorisation number) you can then select the suppliers who are in the Article 95 List (see point 4.3 on page 6 of the guideline). Afterwards save the excel file as an xlsx file (without macro) in order that you can send the evidence via mail to the notification authority.

N.B.:

Within the supply chain for your biocidal product, it is sufficient if one company is included in the ECHA list for the relevant active substance and product type. Find out who, within your supply chain, is included in the ECHA list or is submitting an application for inclusion, and then submit the completed form to the Notification Authority without delay!

What should you do if your supplier is not included in the ECHA list and nobody in your supply chain intends to submit an application for inclusion?

  • Apply to the ECHA for inclusion of your company in the list: for this, you must submit the documents specified in Art. 95 para. 1 BPR (letter of access to a substance dossier, or your own substance dossier).

Under the MRA, companies domiciled or with a registered office in Switzerland do not require representation in the EU in order to be included in the Article 95 List.

or

  • Change the supply chain: Obtain the active substance or product from a company which is included in the ECHA List (requires an application for amendment of the authorisation)

or

  • Discontinue marketing of the product: Biocidal products containing active substances from non-listed companies may no longer be placed on the market in Switzerland as of 1 September 2016 and must not be supplied to end consumers as of 1 September 2017.

4. What will happen if authorisation holders or applicants who are affected fail to supply information on suppliers according to Art. 62d of the Notification Authority for Chemicals?

Authorisation holders (of already authorised biocidal products)

Biocidal products for which the requisite evidence has not been submitted by 1 September 2016 can no longer be placed on the market after 1 September 2016 or supplied to end consumers after 1 September 2017. From September 2016, the Notification Authority can thus successively cancel the authorisations concerned.

Applicants (New application AN)

The abovementioned evidence in accordance with Art. 62d OBP is required in order to enable the Notification Authority for Chemicals to grant an authorisation AN.

5. How can an active substance or product supplier be included in the Article 95 List?

Under the MRA, companies domiciled or with a registered office in Switzerland can submit an application directly to the ECHA for inclusion in the Article 95 List.

Information on the steps involved in applying for inclusion in the Article 95 List, as well as an overview of the ECHA authorisation process, can be found on the ECHA website (see list of links). 

 

 

1] Art. 95 of Regulation (EU) No 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 concerning the making available on the market and use of biocidal products, OJ L 167 of 27 June 2012, p. 1; last amended by Regulation (EU) No 334/2014, OJ L 103 of 5 April 2014, p. 22.

2] Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) No 1062/2014 of 4 August 2014 on the work programme for the systematic examination of all existing active substances contained in biocidal products referred to in Regulation (EU) No 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council, OJ L 294 of 10 October 2014, p.1.

3] see Footnote 1

Last modification 27.02.2017

Top of page

Preuve conformément à l’article 62d de l’ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio)

Suite à la révision de l'ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio ; RS 813.12), la protection de la propriété intellectuelle applicable aux données de recherche sur les substances actives est désormais aussi réglementée en Suisse. En accord avec les prescriptions correspondantes du règlement européen sur les produits biocides (RPB)1, seuls les produits dont les substances actives proviennent de fournisseurs figurant sur la liste peuvent être commercialisés.  

1. Contexte et objectif

Dans l'Union européenne, certains fabricants et importateurs de substances actives ont participé au programme de travail2 en cours visant à une évaluation en profondeur des aspects toxicologiques et écotoxicologiques de substances actives notifiées et ont déposé les dossiers correspondants. Pour ces entreprises, ceci a impliqué, ou implique encore, des coûts importants (pour le développement et la commercialisation). L'art. 95 RPB veille à ce que les entreprises qui n'ont pas participé jusqu'ici à ce programme soient appelées à prendre leur responsabilité sur le plan financier (empêcher les « profiteurs ») et que toutes contribuent à part égale aux coûts d'approbation des substances actives.

Tous les fournisseurs de substances actives disposant de dossiers validés sont enregistrés par l'ECHA sur la « List of active substance suppliers » (appelée aussi liste selon l'art. 95 ; voir la liste des liens ci-contre). Les personnes qui ont participé au programme y sont automatiquement inscrites. Un fabricant de substances actives peut à tout moment présenter un dossier de substance ou une lettre d'accès en vue de figurer sur la liste. Les fabricants de produits biocides ou les importateurs disposent aussi de la possibilité d'y faire inscrire des substances actives lorsque le fabricant ne le fait pas. Conformément à l'ARM, les entreprises qui ont leur siège en Suisse n'ont pas besoin d'une représentation dans l'UE pour pouvoir figurer sur la liste selon l'art. 95.

La première liste officielle selon l'art. 95 de l'ECHA, publiée le 24 septembre 2014 (voir la liste des liens ci-contre), est actualisée chaque mois par l'agence. Cette liste est aussi utilisée par les autorités suisses.

Depuis le 1er septembre 2016, les produits biocides ne peuvent être mis sur le marché en Suisse que si le fournisseur de la substance active contenue dans le produit biocide ou produite par celui-ci figure sur la liste selon l'art. 95 de l'ECHA.

2. Quels sont les produits biocides concernés ?

Dans l'UE, l'art. 95 RPB s’applique depuis le 1er septembre 2015 aux produits biocides dont la mise en vente dans les Etats de l'UE est autorisée, sur la base de dispositions transitoires, sans autorisation conformément au RPB (produits biocides contenant des substances actives notifiées mais non encore acceptées). En Suisse, de tels produits biocides, disposant d'une autorisation transitoire AN et AC, peuvent être mis sur le marché. Le principe du RPB visant à l'égalité de traitement de toutes les personnes qui mettent sur le marché des substances actives et des produits biocides est transposé en Suisse par le biais de l'art. 62d OPBio. Comme indiqué, il porte sur toutes les autorisations transitoires de type AN et AC.

3. Que doivent faire les personnes souhaitant obtenir une autorisation AN ?

À l’avenir, les personnes souhaitant obtenir une autorisation transitoire AN devront transmettre les informations suivantes à l'organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques (ONChim) :

ou

  • dans le cas où l'ECHA a accepté l'inscription sur la liste mais ne l'a pas encore publiée, une copie certifiée de la décision de l'ECHA concernant l'enregistrement des fournisseurs chez lesquels les titulaires se sont procuré les substances actives contenues dans le produit biocide ; 

ou

  • indication des données pour lesquelles la durée de protection selon l'art. 28 OPBio est arrivée à échéance.

Cette preuve ne doit pas être apportée pour les substances actives, contenues dans un produit biocide, appartenant aux catégories 1 à 5 et 7 de l'annexe 1 OPBio.

L'ONChim met à disposition sur sa page Internet, en vue d'apporter la preuve indiquée ci-dessus, un formulaire Excel (XLSM, 289 kB, 10.10.2017) avec lequel les demandeurs d'une autorisation AN peuvent déclarer l'origine de leurs substances actives ou faire valoir d'éventuelles exceptions. Une fois que le demandeur a rempli le formulaire (sans indiquer de numéro d’autorisation), il peut sélectionner l’un des fournisseurs figurant sur la liste visée à l’art. 95 (voir 4.3, p. 6 des instructions). Sauvegardez après le formulaire Excel comme fichier xlsx (sans macro), afin que vous puissiez envoyer la preuve par mail à l’organe de notification.

Important :

Il suffit que parmi les fournisseurs de vos produits biocides une entreprise figure sur la liste ECHA pour la substance active ou pour le type de produit correspondants. Vérifiez, parmi vos fournisseurs, lequel figure sur cette liste ou a déposé une demande d'inscription, et envoyez sans tarder à l'organe de réception des notifications le formulaire contenant les informations requises !

Que faire si le fournisseur n'est pas répertorié sur la liste de l'ECHA et si personne de la chaîne des fournisseurs n'en a fait la demande ?

  • Dépôt d'une demande d'inscription de votre entreprise sur la liste de l'ECHA. Vous devez à cet effet soumettre les informations conformément à l'art. 95, al. 1, RPB (lettre d'accès au dossier ou dossier lui-même sur la substance active). 

Conformément au MRA, les entreprises ayant leur siège en Suisse n'ont pas besoin d'une représentation dans l'UE pour pouvoir être inscrites sur la liste selon l'article 95.

ou

  • Changement de fournisseur. Vous vous procurez la substance active ou le produit biocide auprès d'une entreprise répertoriée sur la liste de l'ECHA (implique une demande de modification de l'autorisation).

ou

  • Arrêt de la commercialisation du produit. Les produits biocides contenant des substances actives provenant d'entreprises qui ne figurent pas sur la liste ne peuvent plus être commercialisées en Suisse depuis le 1er septembre 2016 et ne peuvent être remises au consommateur final que jusqu'au 1er septembre 2017.

4. Que se passe-t-il si le titulaire de l'autorisation ou le demandeur ne transmet pas à l’ONChim le renseignement concernant le fournisseur conformément à l’art. 62d ?

Titulaires d’autorisation (produits biocides déjà autorisés) :
Les produits biocides pour lesquels les informations requises n'ont pas été fournies jusqu'au 1er septembre 2016 ne pourront plus être mis sur le marché après le 1er septembre 2016 ni remis au consommateur final après le 1er septembre 2017. L'organe de notification peut par la suite, à partir de septembre 2016, révoquer progressivement les autorisations concernées.

Demandeurs (nouvelle demande d’autorisation AN) :
La preuve demandée à l’art. 62d  OPBio constitue une condition sine qua non pour que l’ONChim octroie une autorisation AN.

5. Comment un fournisseur de substances actives ou de produits peut-il parvenir sur la liste selon l'art. 95 de l'ECHA ?

Conformément à l'ARM, les entreprises ayant leur siège en Suisse peuvent directement déposer une demande d'inscription sur la liste selon l'article 95. 

Vous pouvez obtenir, sur le site Internet de l'ECHA (voir la liste des liens), des informations concernant les étapes à entreprendre pour figurer sur la liste selon l'article 95, ainsi qu'un aperçu sur la procédure d'autorisation de l'ECHA. 

 

 

1] Art. 95 du Règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 22 mai 2012 concernant la mise à disposition sur le marché et l'utilisation des produits biocides. JO C 167 du 27.6.2012, p. 1; modifié pour la dernière fois par le Règlement (UE) n° 334/2014, JO C 103 du 5.4.2014, p. 22.

2] Règlement délégué (UE) n° 1062/2014 de la Commission du 4 août 2014 relatif au programme de travail pour l'examen systématique de toutes les substances actives existantes contenues dans les produits biocides visé dans le règlement (UE) n° 528/212 du Parlement européen et du Conseil, JO C 294 du 10.10.2014, p. 1.  

3] Cf. note 3

Dernière modification 27.02.2017

Début de la page