Transitional regulation

Overview of deadlines following entry of the active substance
Overview of deadlines following entry of the active substance

When the European Commission takes a decision to approve the last notified active substance of a biocidal product (included in the Lists of Annex 1 or 2), then the authorisation holder of an AN authorisation, in order to be able to seamlessly market its biocidal product, must submit, by at the latest the date of inclusion of this active substance, an application to the Notification Authority Chemicals following the European harmonised procedure.

Inclusion of active substances in the Lists of Annex 1 and/or 2

The inclusion of active substances in the Lists of Annex 1 (XLS, 110 kB, 01.03.2018) or Annex 2 (XLS, 712 kB, 25.06.2019) of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP; SR 813.12) is published approx. two years before the entry into force. Since the information is published later in Switzerland than in the EU, the Notification Authority informs each company individually at around the time the inclusion is published in the EU.

Authorisation holders can then decide how to proceed with their products. If they do nothing, the following periods of validity will apply: Authorisations of the type AN or AC are valid six months after the final active substance in the biocidal product is included in the Lists of Annex 1 or 2. In this case, product may still be placed on the market for up to 360 days and supplied to end consumers for additional 360 days (as of the date of inclusion). Professional or commercial use is not limited insofar there is not an unacceptable effect on humans, animals and the environment. If the intention is to keep the products on the market for longer, they must be assessed using the harmonised EU criteria, i.e. one of the following dossiers must be submitted to the Notification Authority:

The final date on which this dossier may be submitted is the date on which the last active substance in the biocidal product is included. This deadline has been harmonised throughout Europe.

If the biocidal product is already on the Swiss market under a transitional authorisation (authorisation AN/AC or the same product in conjunction with an authorisation AN/AC) the applicant must state the authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC number) and the proprietary name of this biocidal product when submitting the application to the Notification Authority for Chemicals using the harmonised European procedure (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise).

If the applicant submits a full dossier for an AL authorisation, for a simplified authorisation or for a parallel recognition, the AN or AC authorisation will be valid for three years after inclusion of the last active substance. After an AL authorisation or a recognition has been issued, the biocidal product with the existing label can be placed on the market for up to 360 days and supplied to end consumers for additional 360 days.

Last modification 12.06.2018

Top of page

Réglementation transitoire

Si la Commission européenne décide d'approuver la dernière substance active notifiée d'un produit biocide (inscription dans la liste de l’annexe 1 ou 2 OPBio), le titulaire d'une autorisation AN/AC doit déposer sa demande selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE auprès de l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques. Il doit le faire avant la date d’inscription effective, le respect de cette condition étant indispensable pour que le produit biocide puisse être commercialisé sans interruption.

Inscription des substances actives sur les listes selon les annexes 1 ou 2

L'inclusion des substances actives sur les listes selon l'annexe 1 (XLS, 110 kB, 01.03.2018) ou l'annexe 2 (XLS, 712 kB, 25.06.2019) (anciennement IA ou I) de l'Ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio; RS 813.12) est publiée environ deux ans avant l'entrée en vigueur. La publication en Suisse intervenant après celle dans l'UE, l'organe de réception des notifications informe personnellement chaque entreprise généralement dès que l'information concernant l'inscription est publiée dans l'UE.

Les titulaires d'autorisation peuvent alors décider de la démarche à entreprendre pour leurs produits. S'ils ne font rien, la durée de validité suivante s'applique : L'autorisation AN ou AC est encore valable six mois après la date d'insciption de la dernière substance active contenue dans le produit dans la liste de l'annexe 1 ou 2. Dans ce cas, le produit peut encore être mis sur le marché durant 360 jours et remis au consommateur final durant 360 jours additionnels. L’utilisation professionnelle ou commerciale n’est pas limitée pour autant qu’il n’y ait pas d’effet inacceptable pour l’homme, les animaux et l’environnement. Si les produits devaient être commercialisés plus longtemps, ils doivent être examinés conformément aux critères harmonisés dans l'UE : il faut transmettre à l'organe de réception des notifications une des demandes suivantes:

Le dépôt de ces dossiers se fait au plus tard à la date d'inscription de la dernière substance active contenue dans le produit. Ce délai est le même dans toute l'Europe.

Si le produit biocide est déjà commercialisé sur le marché suisse sur la base d’une autorisation provisoire (autorisation AN/AC ou autorisation d’un même produit en relation avec une autorisation AN/AC), le demandeur de l'autorisation doit, lorsqu’il soumet sa demande selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE, transmettre le numéro d’autorisation (CHAN ou CHAC) et le nom commercial de ce produit biocide à l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques (REMARQUE : tout renseignement engendre des coûts supplémentaires).

Si le demandeur envoie un dossier complet pour une demande d'autorisation AL, d'autorisation simplifiée, ou de reconnaissance simultanée, l'autorisation AN ou AC vaut encore trois ans après l'inclusion de la dernière substance active du produit biocidel ou la reconnaissance soit prise. Le produit muni de l'ancienne étiquette peut encore être mis sur le marché durant 360 jours et remis au consommateur final durant 360 jours additionnels à partir de l'obtention de la nouvelle autorisation resp. reconnaissance rester 12 mois sur le marché.

Dernière modification 22.08.2019

Début de la page