Efficacy dossier

Efficacy assessments in efficacy dossiers

Microorganisms multiply at a very high rate but are not visible to the naked eye. Because users can’t check the efficacy of a product by eye, they have to rely on the products they use being reputable.

Disinfectants only provide effective protection from infection if they substantially reduce the number of germs. It is up to applicants to demonstrate the efficacy of products they intend to market. The range of effects and limits to efficacy must be specified in the product documentation (label, directions and advertising).

Tests

There have been standardised tests in various countries for more than 30 years. To normalise test methods and the evaluations conducted by examination authorities, the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) has created a technical committee for disinfectants, the CT216. The CEN’s standardised tests are preferred to all regional test methods. Standard EN 14885, Chemical disinfectants and antiseptics – application of European Standards for chemical disinfectants and antiseptics, provides an overview of the available tests and the areas for which they ae designed. It also contains overview tables with tests for the different application methods. The EU’s document on the efficacy of disinfectants (1) likewise serves as a basis for determining what tests are used.

However, in the transitional phases our office will also accept regional tests (AFNOR, DGHM). The AFNOR, DGHM and European standards may appear alongside each other in the same dossier.

The test section consists of three levels (see download: Overview of proofs of efficacy). Each phase and level produces differentiated results on the basis of which the strengths and weaknesses of a product can be determined.

  • Phase 1 consists of a suspension test. This phase will not be accepted for the dossier as it does not produce sufficiently meaningful results.
  • Level 1 of Phase 2 consists of a quantitative suspension test (see download: Overview of proofs of efficacy). In addition to being diluted with water, the product is diluted with a solution of impurities to simulate organic contamination. This type of contamination is frequently encountered in practice because surfaces, instruments and hands may be dirty. This phase is important, because certain active substances react with proteins, which inhibits them and cause the product to lose its effect. This test is quantitative because it is used to determine the number of eliminated target organisms expressed as a log10 reduction factor.
  • Level 2 of Phase 2 is also crucial, as the conditions of the test are comparable with the real-life conditions when a product is used in practice. (see download: Overview of proofs of efficacy). In other words, these tests are designed to simulate real-life conditions. Unlike the tests in the two previous levels, which are the same for all types of application, the tests in this final phase vary according to what the disinfectant is used for. In Level 2 of Phase 2 the following tests must be conducted depending on what the disinfectant is used for:

Instrument disinfection:

Germ carrier method. The bacteria are placed on a microscope slide, which is then disinfected in a solution of the test product.

Hand disinfection:

Hygienic treatment of the hands through rubbing. Three levels/types of effectiveness are recognised:

  • Hygienic hand disinfection (EN1500). Clean hands.
  • Hygienic hand washing (EN1499). Dirty hands.
  • Surgical hand disinfection (EN12791). Clean hands.

Surface disinfection:

Treatment of the surface, drying, application of the disinfectant, which can dry during application. Different tests must be used for disinfection by wiping, spraying and fogging.

These two mandatory phases provide detailed information on the efficacy of a disinfectant. They determine:

  1. the different target organisms,
  2. effect concentrations,
  3. and the contact times required for the product to have a satisfactory effect.

As these tests are standardised, they allow a reliable comparison between the compositions of the various active substances.

Efficacy assessments must be conducted according to recognised standards at competent labs (bacteriology, virology, etc.) with an appropriate quality assurance system. Full copies of the reports must be submitted to us. Test reports must contain all the information necessary to interpret the results. All test and control data must be described and specified as required by the standards. We also require that the report contain clear details of the active substances of the formula tested, including the applicable concentrations. The expert opinions must be signed by the scientist responsible. In cases of doubt the office may require the raw data and a random sample for analysis.

Subsequent changes to an expert report are not permitted. Any corrections, amendments or deletions must be made as a supplement to the report in which the changes made and the date and reasons for these changes are specified.

Details of the standard tests to be submitted for each area of application are given in the following file: "Overview of proofs of efficacy"

Last modification 27.08.2019

Top of page

Dossier d'efficacité

Expertises d'efficacité dans les dossiers d'efficacité

Les micro-organismes ont un taux très élevé de multiplication mais ne se voient pas. Par conséquent, l'efficacité d'un produit ne peut pas être confirmée visuellement par l'utilisateur. Celui-ci doit se fier au sérieux du produit utilisé.

Les désinfectants n'offrent une protection efficace contre les infections que s'ils assurent une réduction élevée des micro-organismes. Il appartient au déclarant de fournir la preuve de l'efficacité du produit qu'il veut commercialiser. Le spectre d'activité et les limites de cette efficacité doivent apparaître dans les documents du produit (étiquette, mode d’emploi, publicité).

Organisation des tests

Des tests normalisés existent dans différents pays depuis plus de trente ans. Afin d'unifier les pratiques de tests et les évaluations par les autorités de régulation, le comité européen de standardisation CEN a fondé un comité technique pour les désinfectants, nommé CT216. Les tests normés CEN sont à préférer aux tests régionaux. La norme EN 14885 « Antiseptiques et désinfectants chimiques - Application des Normes européennes relatives aux antiseptiques et désinfectants chimiques » fournit une vue d'ensemble des tests disponibles et les domaines pour lesquels ils sont prévus. Elle indique également, dans des tableaux, les tests pour les diverses applications. Le document EU sur l’efficacité des désinfectants (1) est également utilisé pour définir les tests à effectuer.

Durant la phase transitoire, les tests "régionaux" (AFNOR, DGHM) sont acceptés par notre office. Les normes AFNOR, DGHM et les normes européennes peuvent être réunies dans un même dossier.

La procédure expérimentale est composée de trois niveaux. (voir "Vue d’ensemble des expertises à livrer selon les domaines d’application"). Chaque phase et étape fournit des résultats différenciés qui permettent de déterminer les qualités et les points faibles d'un produit.

  • La phase 1 n'est pas demandée dans le dossier pour l’autorisation d’un produit car elle ne fournit que trop peu d'indications. Elle est composée d'un test en solution. La phase 2 / étape 1 est composée d'un test quantitatif en solution. 7) Phase 2 / étape 1 (voir "Vue d’ensemble des expertises à livrer selon les domaines d’application"). Le produit n'est pas seulement dilué dans de l'eau mais également dans une solution contenant des substances interférentes qui simulent une charge organique. Celle-ci est fréquente dans les conditions de la pratique puisque les surfaces, instruments, mains à désinfecter peuvent être sales. Cette phase est importante car certaines substances actives réagissent avec les protéines et sont inhibées, si bien que le produit n'est pas actif. Ce test est dit quantitatif car on détermine la réduction du nombre de pathogènes cibles, calculée en log 10 de micro-organismes cibles.
  • La phase 2 / étape 2 représente également une étape déterminante car les conditions expérimentales des tests s'approchent de celles rencontrées lors de l'utilisation pratique du produit. Phase 2 / étape 2 (voir "Vue d’ensemble des expertises à livrer selon les domaines d’application") En d'autres termes, ces tests tentent de simuler des conditions proches de la pratique. Contrairement aux deux étapes précédentes, qui sont identiques pour tous les modes d'application, les tests de cette dernière phase diffèrent selon l'indication du désinfectant. Les tests suivants de la phase 2 / étape 2 sont applicables selon l'utilisation du désinfectant:

des instruments:

Méthode des portes-germes. Les bactéries sont appliquées sur un porte-objet qui est ensuite désinfecté dans une solution du produit à tester.

des mains:

Traitement hygiénique des mains par frictions. Trois niveaux ou types d'efficacité sont reconnus:

  • désinfection hygiénique des mains (EN1500). Mains propres.
  • lavage hygiénique des mains (EN1499). Mains sales.
  • désinfection chirurgicale des mains (EN12791). Mains propres.

des surfaces:

Contamination de supports, séchage puis application du désinfectant qui peut sécher durant la période d'action. On utilise des tests différents selon que la méthode d’application du désinfectant est par essuyage, par vaporisation ou par nébulisation.

Les deux phases exigées apportent des données précises sur l'efficacité du désinfectant. Elles déterminent 

  • Les pathogènes cibles,
  • les concentrations à utiliser et
  • les temps d'application nécessaires pour que le produit agisse d'une manière satisfaisante. 

Dans la mesure où ces tests sont normalisés, ils permettent une comparaison fiable entre les différentes formulations de substances actives. Les expertises d'efficacité doivent avoir été effectuées selon des normes reconnues dans des laboratoires compétents (bactériologie, virologie, etc.) et possédant un système d'assurance qualité adéquat. Des copies complètes des rapports doivent nous être envoyées. Les rapports de tests doivent contenir toutes les indications nécessaires pour permettre l'interprétation des résultats. Toutes les données des tests et des contrôles doivent être décrites et reportées comme indiqué dans les normes. De plus nous exigeons que les substances actives de la formulation testée soient indiquées clairement dans le rapport avec leurs concentrations respectives. Les expertises doivent être signées par le scientifique responsable. Les données brutes ainsi qu'un échantillon pour analyse peuvent être exigées par l'office en cas de doute.

Aucune modification d'un rapport d'expertise n'est autorisée à une date ultérieure. Toute correction, ajout ou suppression doit prendre la forme d'un amendement au rapport qui indiquera les changements apportés ainsi que la date et les raisons de ces modifications.

Les détails des normes à livrer en fonction des domaines d'application sont disponibles dans le présent fichier "Vue d’ensemble des expertises à livrer selon les domaines d’application"

(1)  Transitional Guidance on Efficacy Assessment for Product Types 1-5, Disinfectants, May 2016

Dernière modification 13.01.2017

Début de la page