Authorisation procedure AN for in situ generated active substances

Laws relating to in situ generated active substances

Under the terms of the European regulation on biocidal products (BPR; EU 528/2012) that came into force on 1 September 2013, and the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP, 813.12), active substances generated in situ, and the associated precursors, are considered to be biocidal products and are subject to approval.

Nomenclature for in situ generated active substances

The name of in situ generated active substances was amended in step with the new nomenclature for the review program. The new nomenclature for the in situ generated active substances thus clearly defines a precursor/active substance combination and the procedure used to produce the active substance (e.g. active chlorine from sodium chloride by electrolysis). It is therefore important that you use the new names of the in situ generated active substance for the application. More detailed information on in situ systems may be found here.

In situ systems: precursors and in situ generated active solution

Under the new nomenclature the active substance name describes the underlying in situ system that generates the active substance in situ (previously named by the Swiss authorities as the active solution). The technical active substance generated in situ is understood to mean the in situ produced solution. This comprises the pure in situ generated active substance, possible residues of the precursor(s), and if applicable, by-products formed during the in situ reaction. If the solvent (usually water) is not comprised in one of the precursors, then this must be listed in the composition of the technical active substance generated in situ. An example: precursor (e.g. powder) is dissolved in (aquarium) water.
If a precursor for the in situ production of a biocidal active substance is marketed, then pursuant to Art. 2 para 1 let. a OBP the precursor is considered to be the biocidal product subject to approval. If for an in situ system no precursor for the in situ production of a biocidal active substance is marketed (e.g. generation of ozone from the oxygen of ambient air, active chlorine from sea water by electrolysis), then the technical active substance generated in situ is considered to be the biocidal product subject to approval.

Various in situ systems

The various in situ systems consist of one or more precursor(s) and require, if applicable, the use of a device (production procedure such as e.g. electrolysis) to generate the biocidal active substance in situ.

If an in situ system consists of a plurality of precursors, these may be either marketed in individual containers that are packaged together (e.g. two containers that are packaged together with a plastic film), or they may be firmly connected/blended together (e.g. multi-component tabs).

IMPORTANT MODIFICATION:
The Swiss authorities have matched the definition of in situ systems to those of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA). Acids, bases or oxidising agents are now considered as precursors (recommendations BPR – in situ active substances 2017). Previously the Swiss authorities differentiated between precursors and auxiliaries. For the in situ system “chlorine dioxide generated from sodium chlorite by acidification” the sodium chlorite (precursor) was differentiated from the acid (auxiliary). Sodium chlorite and the acid are now considered as precursors and are therefore subject to approval.

Requirements for the application dossier of an in situ system

The applicant must submit to the Notification Authority Chemicals documents on the various components of the in situ system (i.e. precursor[s], if applicable auxiliaries and production procedure) as well as on the technical active substance generated in situ.

Information for the authorisation holder can be found on this subpage.

Due to the diversity of in situ systems the requirements for the application documents are not standardised. The Swiss authorities have sub-divided the in situ systems into four categories, based on the requirements for the application dossier. These categories are based on the experience so far and may be extended at a later date or, if necessary, amended.

The following categories are differentiated:

Fees

CHF 1500.-  

Last modification 15.05.2018

Top of page

Procédure d’autorisation AN pour substances actives générées in situ

Législation sur les substances actives générées in situ

En vertu du règlement européen sur les produits biocides (RPB ; UE n° 528/2012), entré en vigueur le 1er septembre 2013, et de l’ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio, RS 813.12), les substances actives générées in situ ainsi que leurs précurseurs sont considérés comme des produits biocides et sont soumis à autorisation.

Nomenclature des substances actives générées in situ

La dénomination des substances actives générées in situ a été modifiée en fonction de la nouvelle nomenclature du programme d’examen. La nouvelle nomenclature des substances actives générées in situ définit clairement une combinaison précurseur – substance active ainsi que la méthode de production de la substance (par exemple chlore actif produit par électrolyse du chlorure de sodium). Il est donc essentiel d’utiliser la nouvelle dénomination de la substance active générée in situ au moment de la demande. Des informations plus détaillées sur les systèmes in situ sont disponibles sur cette page.

Système in situ : précurseurs et solution active générée in situ

La dénomination de la substance active selon la nouvelle nomenclature décrit le système in situ sous-jacent qui produit la substance active (appelée précédemment solution active par les autorités suisses) in situ. On entend par substance active générée techniquement in situ la solution produite sur place. Elle comprend la substance active pure générée in situ et, le cas échéant, ce qui reste du (ou des) précurseur(s) et les sous-produits engendrés par la réaction in situ. Si le solvant (en général l’eau) n’est pas contenu dans un des précurseurs, il convient de l’indiquer dans la composition de la substance active générée techniquement in situ. Exemple : un précurseur (par exemple une poudre) est dissous dans de l’eau (d’aquarium).

Si un précurseur est commercialisé dans le but de produire in situ une substance active biocide, c’est lui qu’on qualifie de produit biocide soumis à autorisation au sens de l’art. 2, al. 1, let. a, OPBio. Si, pour un système in situ donné, aucun précurseur n’est commercialisé dans le but de produire in situ une substance active biocide (par exemple : ozone produit à partir de l’oxygène présent dans l’air ambiant ; chlore actif produit par électrolyse d’eau de mer), c’est la substance active générée techniquement in situ qu’on qualifie de produit biocide soumis à autorisation.

Diversité des systèmes in situ

Les différents systèmes in situ peuvent se composer d’un ou de plusieurs précurseurs et peuvent exiger l’utilisation d’un appareil pour générer in situ la substance biocide (méthode de production comme l’électrolyse).

Si plusieurs précurseurs composent un système in situ, ils peuvent soit être commercialisés dans des récipients séparés, tout en étant emballés ensemble (deux récipients entourés d’un film plastique, par exemple), soit être mélangés ou solidement fixés les uns aux autres (tablettes à plusieurs composants, par exemple).

MODIFICATION IMPORTANTE :
Les autorités suisses ont adapté la définition des systèmes in situ à celle de l’Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA). Désormais, les acides, les bases ou les agents d’oxydation sont considérés comme des précurseurs (recommendations BPC – in-situ active substances 2017). Précédemment les autorités suisses faisaient la distinction entre précurseurs et agents auxiliaires. Dans le cas du système in situ « dioxyde de chlore généré par acidification à partir de chlorite de sodium », le chlorite de sodium était un précurseur et l’acide un agent auxiliaire. A présent, le chlorite de sodium et l’acide sont considérés comme des précurseurs ; ils sont donc soumis à autorisation.

Conditions pour le dossier de demande

Le demandeur doit déposer auprès de l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques les documents relatifs aux différents composants du système in situ (à savoir le(s) précurseur(s) et méthode de production) et à la substance active générée techniquement in situ.

Des informations relatives aux titulaires d’une autorisation sont disponibles sur cette page.

Étant donné la diversité des systèmes in situ, les conditions que les dossiers de demande doivent satisfaire varient. Les autorités suisses ont divisé les systèmes in situ en quatre catégories (voir ci-après), en fonction des conditions applicables aux dossiers de demande.

Ces catégories se fondent sur les expériences faites jusqu’ici et pourront être élargies ou modifiées à l’avenir:

Emoluments

CHF 1500.- 

Dernière modification 15.05.2018

Début de la page