Application for mutual recognition in sequence of an authorisation of an EU Member State

Preliminary remarks

The procedure for mutual recognition in sequence of an authorisation (hereinafter called "Recognition", cf. Art. 12 of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products OBP) is based on chapter 18 of the Mutual Recognition Agreement, MRA, revised on 14 April 2015) between Switzerland and the EU, and Article 33 of the Regulation (EU) 528/2012 BPR[1]. The agreement opens up the possibility to an applicant with a registered office or branch office in Switzerland or in an EU or EFTA Member State to obtain recognition in Switzerland[2],[3] for an authorisation granted for a biocidal product (Reference product) in an EU or EFTA Member State. 

This recognition procedure harmonises the implementation and coordination of applications for recognition in the EU and EFTA Member States. However, authorisations for reference products that are, or comprise, genetically modified microorganisms are not recognised in Switzerland (Art. 12 para. 4 OBP).

Procedure

Applications for the recognition of an authorisation from a Reference State are to be submitted through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 with the Notification Authority for Chemicals (see links). 

It is recommended, before submitting an application for recognition, to consult the appropriate chapter in the "Biocides Submission Manual - Application Instructions: National Authorisations" of the European Chemicals Agency ECHA (see links).

The application for recognition must include the following documents:

  • The letter of access to the biocidal product if the applicant is not identical with the holder of the authorisation of the reference product;
  • The letter of access to the active substances comprised in the biocidal product;
  • A summary of the characteristics of the biocidal product (= SPC according to Art. 20 para. 1 let. a number ii BPR in the language of the decision (an official language of Switzerland).
  • A draft of the label and of the safety data sheet, insofar as the latter has to be created. These drafts should be uploaded with the application in R4BP 3 in the section "Documents".
  • Overview document for the biocidal product family (XLS, 29 kB, 03.09.2019) (only required for biocidal product families)

If the application for recognition in Switzerland is not submitted by the holder of the authorisation of the reference product, rather e.g. by the former holder of the transitional authorisation AN or AC, then all legal, technical and information technical conditions linked with their application have to be clarified beforehand with the holder of the authorisation of the reference product. The Notification Authority for Chemicals cannot undertake this task.

On receipt of the application for recognition the Notification Authority sends an invoice for the total expected fee to the applicant by means of R4BP 3. The timely[4] payment of the cost estimate is required for the Notification Authority to process the application.

As soon as the application is totally "valid", the Notification Authority informs the applicant of the date of application. The application documents will be evaluated by the authority[5] within 120 days of this date.

If the Notification Authority concludes that it only intends to recognise the authorisation of the reference state with conditions and/or requirements, namely because this is needed for the protection of the environment or of human health, then it will inform this to the applicant and to the authorities in the EU or EFTA Member States, following the procedure of Article 33 and 35-37 BPR. The Swiss authorities and those of the Member States concerned will then endeavour to arrive at a common position in regard to the contested points in the context of the recognition. The underlying instruction may then possibly have to be adjusted for this. One possibility for Switzerland not to recognise or adapt the requirements of a national authorisation or Union authorisation is to make a derogation. If no agreement is reached between Switzerland and the EU, then, based on the MRA, the dossier will be sent to the "Joint Committee", where renewed attempts will be made to reach an agreement. In such cases the corresponding administrative provisions will not be granted until the disagreements between the contractual parties have been settled.

Particular rules apply to applications for recognition of the authorisation of a reference product that comprises active substances under Article 5 para. 2 or Article 10 para. 1 BPR.

Fees

Pursuant to the Chemicals Fees Ordinance (SR 813.153.1, ChemFO) the fee for a recognition is between CHF 5000 and 10 000. The criteria that determine the fees are defined as follows:

Initial Fee

The initial fee for the recognition of a biocidal product is CHF 5000.- (basic fee).

The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

In case of withdrawal of the application during the procedure, following fees will be charged:

  • Before validation (art. 16 para. 2 OPB): no fees
  • After validation: 25% of the charged fees
  • After the evaluation (art. 17 para. 2 OPB) has started: 50-75% of the charged fees

Surcharges

Each request in regard to missing or incomplete documentation increases the fee by 5 %.

Rebates

The following rebates are granted:

- up to 50%, if:

  • the biocidal product is comparable with the biocidal product that was representative in the active substance approval in the Assessment Report (CAR)
  • the biocidal product is comparable with a biocidal product for which the company has already received a recognition or initial authorisation AL in Switzerland.

Note: the applicant has to apply for a rebate and provide reasons to support this claim.

Advance payment of fees

The payment of a deposit is a precondition for the treatment of the application.

Remarks

An application for the authorisation of a biocidal product that is identical to a biocidal product that is already authorised in Switzerland or for which a corresponding application is pending, has to be made as an application for an identical biocidal product (Art. 15 OBP).

The procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

 

[1] Regulation (EU) 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 on the placing on the market and the use of biocidal products.

[2] If the authorisation for the biocidal product in the EU Member State is still pending, then an application for chronologically parallel recognition has to be made → see separate guidelines under Biocidal products → Authorisations → Authorisation for parallel recognition

[3] The recognition of a Union authorisation is regulated in Art. 14a OBP; see separate guidelines under Biocidal products → Authorisations → Union Authorisation

[4] Within 30 days after receipt of the invoice.

[5] The Notification Authority deals with third parties, the evaluation is made internally by the evaluation authorities.

Last modification 03.09.2019

Top of page

Demande de reconnaissance séquentielle d'une autorisation émanant d'un Etat membre de l'UE

Remarques préliminaires

La procédure de reconnaissance séquentielle (auparavant « reconnaissance », cf. art. 12 de l'ordonnance sur les produits biocides [OPBio]) se fonde sur le chap. 18 de l'Accord entre la Confédération suisse et la Communauté européenne relatif à la reconnaissance mutuelle en matière d'évaluation de la conformité (Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle [ARM], révisé le 14.4.2015) et l'art. 33 du règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 (RPB)[1]. L'accord offre la possibilité à un demandeur ayant son siège ou une succursale en Suisse ou dans un pays membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE de faire reconnaître en Suisse une autorisation délivrée pour un produit biocide (produit de référence) par un Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE[2],[3]

Cette procédure permet d'harmoniser l'exécution et la coordination des demandes de reconnaissance au sein des Etats membres de l'UE et de l'AELE. Par contre, les autorisations concernant des produits de référence consistant en des microorganismes génétiquement modifiés, ou contenant de tels microorganismes, ne sont pas reconnues (art. 12, al. 4, OPBio).

Procédure

Les demandes de reconnaissance d'autorisations émanant d'un Etat de référence doivent être remises à l'organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques exclusivement via le registre des produits biocides R4BP 3 (cf.  liens ­plus bas). Les dossiers sur papier ne sont pas acceptés.

Avant de déposer une demande de reconnaissance, il est recommandé de consulter le chapitre consacré à cette procédure dans le Biocides Submission Manual - Application Instructions: National Authorisations de l'Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA) (cf. liens plus bas).

La demande de reconnaissance doit comprendre :

  • une traduction de l'autorisation du produit de référence dans une langue officielle suisse ou en anglais ;
  • les lettres d'accès pour les substances actives contenues dans le produit biocide ;
  • la lettre d'accès pour le produit biocide, si le demandeur et le titulaire de l'autorisation pour le produit de référence sont différents ;
  • un projet d'étiquetage et de la fiche de données de sécurité, dans la mesure où celle-ci doit être établie. Ces projets doivent être joints lors du dépôt de la demande dans le R4BP 3, via la rubrique Documents.

Si la demande de reconnaissance en Suisse est effectuée, par exemple, par l'ancien titulaire de l'autorisation provisoire AN ou AC et non par le titulaire de l'autorisation du produit de référence, le demandeur suisse doit préalablement régler avec ce dernier toutes les questions juridiques, techniques et informatiques. L'organe de réception des notifications ne peut assumer cette tâche.

Une fois réceptionnée la demande de reconnaissance, l'organe de réception des notifications transmet au demandeur, via le R4BP 3, la facture intégrale des émoluments prévus. Les demandes sont traitées par l'organe de réception des notifications uniquement si l'avance de frais est versée à temps[4].

Dès que la demande est complète (« valid »), l'organe de réception des notifications en informe le demandeur en lui indiquant la date de validation. Dès lors, les autorités[5] procèdent à l'évaluation de la demande dans un délai de 120 jours.

Si l'organe de réception des notifications n'envisage de reconnaître l'autorisation de l'Etat de référence qu'à certaines conditions, notamment à des fins de protection de l'environnement ou de la santé humaine, il en informe le demandeur et les autorités compétentes dans les Etats membres de l'UE ou de l'AELE concernés, conformément à la procédure décrite aux art. 33 et 35 à 37 RPB. Les autorités suisses et les Etats concernés s'efforcent alors de trouver un accord concernant les points contestés. Le cas échéant, la décision qui sous-tend l'autorisation doit être adaptée. La Suisse peut refuser de reconnaître une autorisation nationale ou une autorisation de l'Union ou en adapter les conditions en demandant une dérogation. Si la Suisse et l'UE ne parviennent pas à s'entendre, le dossier est soumis à un « comité mixte », conformément à l'ARM, qui essaie à son tour de trouver un accord. En pareil cas, les décisions administratives correspondantes ne sont pas rendues jusqu'à ce que le désaccord entre les parties soit réglé.

Des dispositions spéciales s'appliquent aux demandes de reconnaissance des autorisations pour les produits de référence contenant des substances actives au sens de l'art. 5, par. 2, ou de l'art. 10, par. 1, RPB.

Emoluments

D'après l'ordonnance sur les émoluments relatifs aux produits chimiques, (SR 813.153.1, OEChim) les émoluments pour une reconnaissance se situent entre Fr. 5'000.- et 10'000.-. Les critères pour fixer l'émolument dans ce cadre sont les suivantes:

Emolument de base

L'émolument de base pour une reconnaissance d'un produit est de 5'000.- CHF

L’émolument pour les familles de produits biocides est également calculé à partir de l’émolument de base du type d’autorisation concerné (p. ex., autorisation AN 1000 CHF). Pour les familles de produits biocides avec une sous-famille, un supplément de 50 % du prix de base vient s’ajouter à l’émolument de base. Pour chaque sous-famille supplémentaire, l’émolument augmente de 25 %. Chaque sous-famille contient dix produits biocides. Pour chaque produit biocide supplémentaire, un montant d’1 % de l’émolument de base est ajouté à l’émolument. Pour les produits biocides d’une famille ou d’une sous-famille qui ne diffèrent que par leur concentration en pigments, en parfums ou en teintures (autrement dit, dont l’usage, la méthode d’utilisation, etc., sont identiques), les émoluments n’augmentent pas.

Lorsque la demande est retirée pendant la procédure, les émoluments suivant seront facturés :

  • Avant la validation (art. 16 para. 2 OPBio) : pas d’émolument
  • Après la validation : 25% des émoluments facturés
  • Après le début de l’évaluation : 50-75% des émoluments facturés 

Majoration

Une majoration de 5% est demandée pour chaque document manquant ou incomplet.

Déduction

  • si le produit biocide est similaire au produit représentatif du CAR de la substance active ou à un produit du demandeur déjà autorisé par une reconnaissance ou une première autorisation sur le marché suisse, une déduction jusqu'à 50% est accordée.

Remarques au sujet des déductions:

  • Le demandeur doit déposer une demande de déduction sur les émoluments et justifier sa demande.

Suite à la demande du demandeur, les déductions sont accordées ou refusées ultérieurement par l'organe de notification en accord avec les offices d'évaluation.

Avance des frais

Les demandes sont traitées uniquement sur versement d'une avance de frais.

Remarques

Un produit biocide identique à un produit biocide déjà autorisé en Suisse ou pour lequel une demande d'autorisation est pendante doit faire l'objet d'une autorisation en tant que même produit biocide (conformément à l'art. 15 OPBio).

Les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées à court terme. Pour cette raison, nous recommandons aux personnes intéressées de consulter régulièrement le site internet de l'organe de réception des notifications et de s'abonner à la newsletter « Protection des consommateurs » de l'OFSP.

 

[1] Règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 22 mai 2012 concernant la mise à disposition sur le marché et l'utilisation des produits biocides

[2] Si l'autorisation du produit biocide est en cours dans l'Etat membre en question, le demandeur doit déposer une demande de reconnaissance simultanée → cf. procédure séparée sous Produits biocides → Autorisations → Demande de reconnaissance simultanée

[3] La reconnaissance des autorisations de l'Union est régie par l'art. 14a OPBio ; cf. procédure séparée sous Produits biocides → Autorisations → Autorisation de l'Union

[4] Dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la facture.

[5] L'organe de réception des notifications est l'autorité compétente vis-à-vis des tiers ; en interne, l'évaluation est prise en charge par les organes d'évaluation.

Dernière modification 05.06.2018

Début de la page