Application for recognition in parallel of an authorisation of an EU Member State

The procedure for recognition in parallel opens the possibility for an applicant to simultaneously undertake an authorisation procedure for a biocidal product in an EU country1 along with a recognition process for the same product in Switzerland. For this, Switzerland follows the provision pursuant to Article 34 of the Regulation (EU) no. 528/2012 (BPR). During the authorisation procedure in an EU State for products that had previously been placed on the market in Switzerland with a transitional authorisation AN or AC, this recognition procedure can ensure a seamless continuation of marketing. In this regard it is also allowed that the applicant for recognition does not correspond to the previous Swiss owner of the transitional authorisation (AN or AC). In this case the period of validity of the transitional authorisation is extended by 3 years, if the application for chronologically parallel recognition clearly states the identity of the product with the Swiss transitional authorisation and the application is received before the deadline (see below).

Authorisations for biocidal products that are, or comprise, genetically modified microorganisms are not recognised in Switzerland.

Procedure

Applications for recognition in parallel are to be submitted exclusively through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 at the Notification Authority for Chemicals (see internet links). If the application is intended to be submitted for parallel recognition in Switzerland by another person (for example by the owner of the previous Swiss transitional authorisation) as the request for first authorisation in the EU, then the Swiss applicant should initially clarify all legal, technical and IT requirements with the applicant in the EU.

It is recommended, before submitting an application for recognition in parallel, to consult the appropriate chapter in the "Biocides Submission Manual - National Authorisations" of the European Chemicals Agency ECHA (see internet links).

An application for recognition in parallel can be made either simultaneously with the application for the national first authorisation or at a later date with the help of the NA-MRP Wizard (a specific assistance function in the R4BP 3 System). However, it should be noted here that the owner of a transitional authorisation AN or AB may only profit from the extension of the validity period of 3 years if the application for chronologically parallel recognition is submitted via R4BP 3 with the Notification Authority Chemicals before the deadline, i.e. at the latest up to the date of the inclusion of the active substance in the lists of Annexes 1 and 2 of the OBP.

The application for recognition must include the following:

  • the name of the reference Member State (this is the state, whose competent authority assesses the application for authorisation of the biocidal product);
  • the names of the Member States concerned, in which an application for mutual recognition has likewise been made;
  • a summary of the characteristics of the biocidal product (= SPC according to Art. 20 para. 1 let. a number ii BPR in English or in an official language of Switzerland),
  • Safety data sheet
  • Draft label design (in an official language).

If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation:

  • its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

If the applicant for the parallel acceptance is not the same as the applicant for the first authorisation, then the former must additionally submit a letter of access for the biocidal product and for each biocidal active substance contained in the product.

The SPC-Editor of ECHA should be used to compile the SPC (see internet links). 

Under certain circumstances, which are regulated in Article 12 para. 2 OBP, the acceptance of an authorisation in regard to the conditions or requirements laid down can differ from the EU-authorisation.

Generally, an application for recognition in parallel will be disposed of by the Notification Authority within 120 days after the competent authority of the rapporteur Member State (= reference Member State in the context of Art. 34 OBP) has sent us the drafts of the assessment report and the SPC. In the case where the Swiss authorities object to the proposed authorisation conditions or propose an adaptation of them, the authorisation can be delayed due to the then required efforts to reach an agreement.

Fees

Pursuant to the Chemicals Fees Ordinance (SR 813.153.1, ChemFO) the fee for a recognition is between CHF 5000 and 10 000. The criteria that determine the fees are defined as follows:

Initial Fee

The initial fee for the recognition of a biocidal product is CHF 5000.- (basic fee).

The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

In case of withdrawal of the application during the procedure, following fees will be charged:

  • Before validation (art. 16 para. 2 OPB): no fees
  • After validation: 25% of the charged fees
  • After the evaluation (art. 17 para. 2 OPB) has started: 50-75% of the charged fees

Surcharges

Each request in regard to missing or incomplete documentation increases the fee by 5 %.

Rebates

The following rebates are granted:

- up to 50%, if:

  • the biocidal product is comparable with the biocidal product that was representative in the active substance approval in the Assessment Report (CAR)
  • the biocidal product is comparable with a biocidal product for which the company has already received a recognition or initial authorisation AL in Switzerland.

Note: the applicant has to apply for a rebate and provide reasons to support this claim.

Advance payment of fees:

The payment of a deposit is a precondition for the treatment of the application by the Swiss authorities. The invoice for the fees will be sent to the authorisation owner through the R4BP 3 System.

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified as a result of technical and administrative guidelines of the EU Commission and/or the European Chemical Agency ECHA. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

 

1 The MRA is also valid in the States of the European Economic Area (EEA).

Last modification 05.06.2018

Top of page

Demande de reconnaissance simultanée d’une autorisation émanant d’un Etat membre de l’UE

La procédure de reconnaissance simultanée permet au demandeur de lancer une procédure de reconnaissance en Suisse pour un produit biocide faisant parallèlement l'objet d'une demande d'autorisation dans un pays membre de l'UE1. La Suisse applique pour cela la règle énoncée à l'art. 34 du règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 (RPB), démarche qui permet de continuer, pendant toute la durée de la procédure d'autorisation dans un pays de l'UE, à commercialiser sur le marché suisse des produits bénéficiant d'une autorisation provisoire AN ou AC. Par ailleurs, cela induit que le demandeur n'est pas obligatoirement le titulaire suisse de l'autorisation provisoire (AN ou AC). Dans ce cas, la durée de validité de l'autorisation provisoire est prolongée de trois ans si, au moment de la demande de reconnaissance simultanée, il est clairement déclaré que le produit faisant l'objet de cette demande est identique à celui qui bénéficie de l'autorisation provisoire et si la demande est déposée dans les délais impartis (voir plus bas).

Les autorisations des produits biocides consistant en des microorganismes génétiquement modifiés, ou contenant de tels microorganismes, ne sont pas reconnues en Suisse.

Procédure

Les demandes de reconnaissance simultanée sont à remettre à l'organe de réception des notifications de produits chimiques exclusivement via le registre des produits biocides R4BP 3. Si la demande de reconnaissance parallèle en Suisse est déposée par une personne différente de celle qui dépose la demande de première autorisation au sein de l'UE (p. ex. le titulaire de l'autorisation provisoire suisse), le demandeur suisse devrait préalablement régler toutes les questions juridiques, techniques et informatiques avec le demandeur au sein de l'UE.

Avant de déposer une première demande de reconnaissance simultanée, il est recommandé de consulter le chapitre consacré à cette procédure dans le Biocides Submission Manual : national authorisations de l'Agence européenne des produits chimiques ECHA (cf. liens Internet).

Une demande de reconnaissance simultanée peut être déposée soit en même temps que la demande de première autorisation nationale, soit ultérieurement, à l'aide du NA-MRP Wizard (une fonction spécifique du système R4BP 3). A noter toutefois que le titulaire d'une autorisation AN ou AC ne peut bénéficier d'une prolongation de trois ans de cette autorisation que si la demande de reconnaissance simultanée parvient, via le R4BP 3, à l'organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques à temps, c'est-à-dire au plus tard à la date où la substance active a été inscrite sur la liste de l'annexe 1 ou 2 OPBio.

La demande de reconnaissance dans le R4BP doit comprendre les documents suivants :

  • la lettre d'accès pour le produit biocide si le demandeur et le titulaire de l'autorisation pour le produit de référence sont différents ;
  • les lettres d'accès pour les substances actives contenues dans le produit biocide ;
  • un résumé des caractéristiques du produit biocide (= SPC selon l'art. 20, al. 1, let. a, ch. ii RPB, en anglais ou dans l'une des langues officielles de la Suisse). Une fois que l'État membre de l'UE de référence a terminé l'évaluation, le demandeur doit remettre un SPC dans la langue utilisée pour la décision (l'autorisation), c'est-à-dire une des langues officielles ;
  • un projet d'étiquetage (dans l'une des langues officielles) et de la fiche de données de sécurité, dans la mesure où celle-ci doit être établie. Ces projets doivent être joints lors du dépôt de la demande dans le R4BP 3, via la rubrique Documents.
  • si le produit biocide pour lequel une autorisation selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE a été demandée est déjà commercialisé en Suisse sur la base d’une autorisation provisoire : son numéro d'autorisation (CHAN ou CHAC) et son nom commercial (document de l'ECHA (XLS, 77 kB, 03.09.2019)).
  • un document de synthèse sur la famille de produits biocides (XLS, 29 kB, 03.09.2019) (seulement requis pour les familles de produits biocides). 

Le SPC devrait être réalisé à l'aide du SPC Editor de l'ECHA (cf. liens Internet).

Pour certains motifs, décrits à l'art. 12, al. 2, OPBio, les conditions ou les charges imposées dans l'autorisation de l'UE peuvent diverger de celles fixées dans l'autorisation faisant l'objet de la reconnaissance.

En règle générale, l'organe de réception des notifications évalue les demandes de reconnaissance simultanée dans les 120 jours suivant la réception du projet de rapport d'évaluation et du résumé des caractéristiques, envoyés par l'Etat membre rapporteur (= Etat membre de l'UE de référence au sens de l'art. 34 RPB). Si les autorités suisses ont des objections contre les conditions d'autorisation proposées ou qu'elles suggèrent des modifications par rapport à celles-ci, l'octroi de l'autorisation risque d'être repoussé en raison des efforts de conciliation qui s'imposeront.

Emoluments

D'après l'ordonnance sur les émoluments relatifs aux produits chimiques, (SR 813.153.1, OEChim) les émoluments pour une reconnaissance se situent entre Fr. 5'000.- et 10'000.-. Les critères pour fixer l'émolument dans ce cadre sont les suivantes:

Emolument de base

L'émolument de base pour une reconnaissance d'un produit est de 5'000.- CHF

L’émolument pour les familles de produits biocides est également calculé à partir de l’émolument de base du type d’autorisation concerné (p. ex., autorisation AN 1000 CHF). Pour les familles de produits biocides avec une sous-famille, un supplément de 50 % du prix de base vient s’ajouter à l’émolument de base. Pour chaque sous-famille supplémentaire, l’émolument augmente de 25 %. Chaque sous-famille contient dix produits biocides. Pour chaque produit biocide supplémentaire, un montant d’1 % de l’émolument de base est ajouté à l’émolument. Pour les produits biocides d’une famille ou d’une sous-famille qui ne diffèrent que par leur concentration en pigments, en parfums ou en teintures (autrement dit, dont l’usage, la méthode d’utilisation, etc., sont identiques), les émoluments n’augmentent pas.

Lorsque la demande est retirée pendant la procédure, les émoluments suivant seront facturés:

  • Avant la validation (art. 16 para. 2 OPBio) : pas d’émolument
  • Après la validation : 25% des émoluments facturés
  • Après le début de l’évaluation : 50-75% des émoluments facturés

Majoration

Une majoration de 5% est demandée pour chaque document manquant ou incomplet.

Déduction

une déduction jusqu'à 50% est accordée :

  • si le produit biocide est similaire au produit représentatif du CAR de la substance active
  • si le produit biocide est similaire à un produit du demandeur déjà autorisé par une reconnaissance ou une première autorisation sur le marché suisse

Remarques au sujet des déductions: Le demandeur doit déposer une demande de déduction sur les émoluments et justifier sa demande.

Avancement de frais

Les demandes sont traitées par les autorités suisses uniquement sur versement d'une avance de frais. La facture est transmise au détenteur de l'autorisation par le système R4BP 3.

Remarque

En raison des directives techniques et administratives de la Commission européenne et/ou de l'ECHA, les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées. Nous recommandons donc aux personnes concernées de consulter régulièrement le site Internet de l'organe de réception des notifications et de s'abonner à la Newsletter de la protection des consommateurs de l'OFSP. 

 

1 L'ARM s'applique également dans les Etats de l'Espace économique européen (EEE).

Dernière modification 03.09.2019

Début de la page