Application for simplified authorisation

This type of authorisation is applicable only in cases where all active substances contained in the product have been included in the list of Annex 1 of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP, SR 813.12) and meet the limitations of that Annex. In addition to the listing of the active substance(s) in Annex 1, the product has to fulfil all of the following conditions (art. 11h OBP):

  • The product has to be demonstrably suitably effective.
  • It may not contain any substances of concern as defined in art. 2, para. 2, lit. a OBP.
  • It may not contain nanomaterials.
  • No personal protective equipment is required for its handling or its intended use.

If any of these conditions are not met, an application for authorisation AL must be submitted for the product, even if all the active substances contained in the product are listed in Annex 1.

If the product contains one or more notified active substances that have not yet been included in the list of Annex 1, a simplified authorisation may not yet be granted. In that case, an application for authorisation AN is to be submitted to the Notification Authority for Chemicals.1

Authorisation AL vs. simplified authorisation

Authorisation AL Simplified authorisation
At least one AS in the list of Annex 2, other AS possibly in the list of Annex 1, or All AS in the list of Annex 1, adequately effective and no substances of concern and no nanomaterials and no personal protective equipment required
All AS in the list of Annex 1 and substances of concern and/or nanomaterials present and/or personal protective equipment required
 

Procedure

An application for simplified authorisation in Switzerland must be submitted to the Notification Authority for Chemicals via the European Register for Biocidal Products (R4BP). The data for an application for simplified authorisation must be submitted as a IUCLID file.

Companies that are interested should contact the Notification Authority for Chemicals beforehand and fill in the completeness checklist for a simplified authorization (XLS, 15 kB, 05.06.2018).

In general, a complete dossier will be assessed and ruled upon within 90 days, subject to the receipt of payment of the deposit for the authorisation fee. Should the Notification Authority consider the submitted application incomplete, it will grant an appropriate grace period for submission of the missing information.

Period of validity

The OBP does not explicitly define the period of validity of the simplified authorisation. The active substances in Annex 1 also are no longer limited in regard to their inclusion as they were in the past. According to the general principles of EU Biocidal Products Regulation No. 528/2012 (art. 17, para. 4 BPR), a simplified authorisation is therefore granted for a maximum period of 10 years.

Dossier for a simplified authorisation

Biocidal products that can be authorised through the simplified procedure are, by definition, products that contain only active substances with a low risk potential and only substances that are not of concern. Toxicological and ecotoxicological data for the product are, therefore, not required. However, a summary of the biocidal product characteristics (SPC) and information on its efficacy and shelf life are needed (art. 20, para. 1, lit. b BPR). The application dossier is to be submitted as a IUCLID file and must include the following elements:

  • a summary of the biocidal product characteristics (SPC) according to art. 20, para. 1, lit. a, no. ii BPR;
  • information on its efficacy;
  • any other relevant information that would allow the conclusion that the biocidal product fulfils the requirements laid out in article 25 BPR.

If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation:

  • its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

In terms of the efficacy data, the requirements detailed in section 6 of Appendix III BPR are relevant. For active substances listed in Category 6 of the list in Appendix 1 OBP, proof of technical equivalence must be submitted along with the application. Since the IUCLID dossier must include written confirmation from the competent authority indicating that authority's consent to an assessment of the application, the Notification Authority should be contacted prior to submission.

Additional details regarding the procedure and the dossier to be submitted can be found in the corresponding guidelines of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) (see links).

Market access in Switzerland without authorisation

Biocidal products that are already authorised in the EU through the simplified procedure do not require an application for authorisation in Switzerland according to the procedure described above; they may be placed on the market after prior notification. The authorisation holder must submit such notification to the Notification Authority 30 days prior to the first placement on the market. Notification must include the product's trade name and authorisation number (art. 13c OBP) and is to be submitted via the European Register for Biocidal Products (R4BP). An electronic version of the draft label is to be added. Article 38 OBP applies to the labelling. In this way Switzerland guarantees the same market access conditions as EU Member States. Based on the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA), the same procedure applies vice versa for products that have been authorised in Switzerland through the simplified procedure. After notification of the competent authorities in the respective EU countries, such products may be placed on the market in those countries.

Note

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can change at short notice. We therefore advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority for Chemicals and to subscribe to the FOPH's Consumer Protection newsletter.  1] If the active substance is already included in the list of Annex I of the EU Biocidal Products Regulation No. 528/2012 (BPR, see list of links) but implementation in Switzerland (through inclusion of the active substance in the list of Annex 1 OBP) has not yet happened, an application for simplified authorisation in Switzerland may nevertheless be submitted.

Last modification 27.06.2018

Top of page

Demande d'autorisation simplifiée

Ce type d'autorisation n'est octroyé que lorsque toutes les substances actives contenues dans le produit sont inscrites dans la liste visée à l'annexe 1 de l'ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio ; RS 813.12) et que les restrictions qui y sont énoncées sont respectées. En outre, le produit doit remplir toutes les conditions suivantes (art. 11h OPBio) :

  • Il est prouvé que le produit est suffisamment efficace ;
  • Le produit ne contient aucune substance préoccupante au sens de l'art. 2, al. 2, let. a, OPBio ;
  • Il ne contient aucun nanomatériau ;
  • La manipulation du produit biocide et son utilisation prévue ne nécessitent pas d'équipement de protection individuelle.

Si l'une de ces conditions n'est pas remplie, il convient de transmettre une demande d'autorisation AL, même si toutes les substances actives sont inscrites dans l'annexe 1.

Si le produit contient une ou plusieurs substances actives notifiées qui ne sont pas encore inscrites sur la liste visée à l'annexe 1, aucune autorisation simplifiée ne peut être octroyée. Dans ce cas, il convient de déposer une demande d'autorisation AN auprès de l'Organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques (ON).1

Autorisation AL contre autorisation simplifiée

Authorisation AL Autorisation simplifiée
au moins une SA dans la liste selon l'annexe 2, autres SA éventuellement dans la liste selon annexe 1 ou toutes les SA dans la liste selon l'annexe 1, suffisamment efficace et aucune substance préoccupante, ni nanomatériaux et aucune protection personnelle n'est nécessaire
toutes les SA dans la liste selon annexe 1 et présence de substances préoccupantes et/ou nanomatériaux et/ou nécessité d'une protection personnelle  

Procédure

En Suisse, la demande d'autorisation simplifiée doit être déposée auprès de l'ON via le Registre européen des produits biocides (R4BP). Les données nécessaires à une demande d'autorisation simplifiée doivent être transmises au format IUCLID.

Les entreprises intéressées doivent au préalable prendre contact avec l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques et remplir la liste de contrôle des données à transmettre pour une autorisation simplifiée (XLS, 15 kB, 05.06.2018).

L'évaluation d'un dossier complet, sous réserve du paiement d'un acompte sur les émoluments, dure en règle générale 90 jours jusqu'à la décision. Si l'ON estime que le dossier déposé est incomplet, il prolonge le délai en conséquence.

Durée de validité

La durée de validité de l'autorisation simplifiée n'est pas explicitement fixée dans l'OPBio. De même, le délai de validité de l'inscription des substances actives dans l'annexe 1 n'est plus défini.

Par conséquent, en se basant sur le précepte général du règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 (RPB) pour l'autorisation des produits biocides (art. 17, par. 4, RPB), l'autorisation simplifiée est accordée pour une durée maximale de 10 ans.

Dossier à fournir pour une autorisation simplifiée

Les produits biocides qui peuvent être autorisés selon la procédure simplifiée sont, par définition, des produits ne contenant que des substances actives à faible risque et des substances non préoccupantes. Partant, les données toxicologiques et écotoxicologiques ne sont pas indispensables. Un résumé des caractéristiques du produit biocide ainsi que les données concernant l'efficacité et la conservation doivent, par contre, être fournies (art. 20, par. 1, let. b, RPB). Le dossier doit être transmis au format IUCLID et contenir les éléments ci-après :

  • un résumé des caractéristiques du produit biocide conformément à l'art. 20, par. 1, let. a, ch. ii, RPB (summary of product characteristics, SPC)
  • des données concernant l'efficacité ;
  • toute autre donnée pertinente qui permette de justifier que le produit biocide remplit les conditions énoncées à l'art. 25 RPB.

Si le produit biocide pour lequel une autorisation selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE a été demandée est déjà commercialisé en Suisse sur la base d’une autorisation provisoire :

  • son numéro d'autorisation (CHAN ou CHAC) et son nom commercial (REMARQUE : tout renseignement engendre des coûts supplémentaires).

Les informations requises concernant l'efficacité doivent être conformes à l'annexe III, colonne 1, point 6, RPB. Pour les substances figurant dans la catégorie 6 sur la liste visée à l'annexe 1 OPBio, la demande doit comporter une preuve de l'équivalence technique. Le dossier doit également comprendre une attestation écrite de l'autorité compétente selon laquelle elle accepte d'évaluer la demande ; il convient donc de prendre contact avec l'ON avant le dépôt du dossier.

La procédure à suivre et le dossier à fournir sont décrits en détail dans les guides de l'Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA) (cf. Liens internet).

Accès au marché suisse sans autorisation

Aucune demande d'autorisation ne doit être déposée pour les produits déjà au bénéfice d'une autorisation simplifiée dans l'UE ; une déclaration préalable suffit pour pouvoir les mettre sur le marché suisse. Le titulaire de l'autorisation doit faire parvenir cette déclaration à l'ON 30 jours avant la première mise sur le marché, en lui communiquant le nom commercial et le numéro d'autorisation (art. 13c OPBio) via le Registre européen des produits biocides (R4BP). Un projet d'étiquette doit y être joint sous forme électronique. Les modalités d'étiquetage sont régies à l'art. 38 OPBio. Ainsi, la Suisse offre les mêmes conditions de mise sur le marché que les Etats membres de l'UE. La même procédure s'applique, en vertu de l'accord sur la reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM), aux produits autorisés selon la procédure simplifiée en Suisse. Après avoir procédé à la déclaration requise auprès des autorités compétentes du pays de l'UE concerné, ces produits peuvent ensuite y être commercialisés.

Remarque

Les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées à court terme. Nous recommandons donc aux personnes concernées de consulter régulièrement le site internet de l'ON et de s'abonner à la newsletter Protection des consommateurs de l'OFSP.

 

1] Si la substance active contenue dans le produit a déjà été inscrite sur la liste figurant à l'annexe I du règlement européen sur les produits biocides n° 528/2012 (RPB, cf. Liens internet) mais que la Suisse n'a pas encore adapté sa législation (en reprenant la substance en question dans l'annexe 1 OPBio), il est néanmoins possible de déposer une demande d'autorisation simplifiée en Suisse.

Dernière modification 27.06.2018

Début de la page