Application for the authorisation of same products

Biocidal products that are identical to an already authorised product or product family can be authorised as a same biocidal product (Art. 15 para. 1 OBP).

The related reference product must either be already authorised in Switzerland or an application must at least have been submitted. This procedure is described in the industry as a back-to-back authorisation. It concerns identical products that are intended to be placed on the market under another trade name or by another authorisation holder.

Identical means that the biocidal product matches the reference product to the greatest possible extent, with the exception of administrative changes (Art. 4 of the Implementing Ordinance-Biocidal Products FDHA). Therefore, a same biocidal product differs from the reference product solely in administrative aspects (e.g. different name, other authorisation holder) or by limited conditions of use.

Procedure

An application for the authorisation of a same product shall always be submitted through the R4BP register for biocidal products.

Communication between national authorities, ECHA and applicant occurs exclusively through the R4BP. It is therefore important that the status of the submitted application (messages, questions, deadlines for payments/additional documentation etc.) be regularly checked by the applicant in the R4BP.

The following information has to be submitted with the application:

  • the authorisation number of the reference product or, if this application is still pending, the assigned application number from the R4BP3 product register (case number);
  • the declaration of the proposed administrative deviations between the same biocidal product and the reference product as well as proof that both products are identical in all other respects.
  • a letter of access for the data, on which the authorisation of the reference product is based, when one is not the owner of the data and its term of protection has not yet expired (Art. 27 para. 1 OBP);
  • A draft of the summary of the product characteristics (SPC: Summary of Products Characteristics) of the same biocidal product;
  • Draft of the label
  • Security data sheet

If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation:

  • its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

The submitted dossier will be validated within 30 days, subject to receipt of payment of the deposit. This takes the form of a test for completeness of the submitted documents. As soon as the application is complete it must be disposed of by the Notification Authority within 60 days. In the case where an application for the reference product is also pending, the period for the same product begins from the date of the authorisation of the reference product.

Period of Validity

The authorisation for a same biocidal product and the authorisation for a reference product can be modified or revoked independently of each other.

Fees

Authorisation of a same product to a reference product AL, recognition or simplified authorisation: CHF 500.- (basic fee).
The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

Last modification 05.06.2018

Top of page

Demande d’autorisation pour des mêmes produits

Les produits biocides identiques à un produit ou à une famille de produits déjà autorisés peuvent être autorisés en tant que même produit biocide (art. 15, al. 1, OPBio).

Le produit de référence doit être déjà autorisé en Suisse ou du moins une demande en ce sens avoir été transmise. Cette procédure est notamment décrite comme autorisation back-to-back par l'industrie. Ce sont des produits identiques vendus sous des noms commerciaux différents ou qui doivent être mis sur le marché par un autre demandeur.

Identique signifie que le produit biocide correspond très largement au produit de référence, à l'exception de divergences de nature administrative (art. 4 ordonnance d'exécution du DFI sur les produits biocides). Un même produit biocide ne se différencie donc du produit de référence que par des aspects administratifs (p. ex. noms ou titulaires d'autorisation différents) ou des limitations en termes de conditions d'utilisation.

Procédure

Toute demande d'autorisation pour un même produit doit être déposée par le biais du Registre des produits biocides (R4BP).

La communication entre les autorités nationales, l'agence des produits chimiques européenne (ECHA) et le demandeur passe exclusivement par le biais du R4BP. Il est donc important que le demandeur vérifie régulièrement le statut de sa demande (notifications, questions, délais de paiement/documents complémentaires à remettre, etc.) sur le R4BP.

La demande doit comporter les informations suivantes :

  • le numéro d'autorisation du produit de référence ou, si la demande d'autorisation est toujours pendante le « case number » de R4BP ;
  • l'indication des divergences entre le même produit biocide et le produit de référence demandées au titre de modifications administratives, ainsi que la preuve que les deux produits sont identiques à tous les autres égards ;
  • une lettre d'accès aux données sur lesquelles se fonde l'autorisation du produit de référence, pour autant que le demandeur ne soit pas le propriétaire de ces données et que la durée de protection de ces dernières n'ait pas expiré (art. 27, al. 1, let. a, OPBio) ;
  • un projet de résumé des caractéristiques du produit biocide identique (SPC : summary of products characteristics)
  • Un projet d’étiquette
  • Fiche des données de sécurité

Si le produit biocide pour lequel une autorisation selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE a été demandée est déjà commercialisé en Suisse sur la base d’une autorisation provisoire :

  • son numéro d'autorisation (CHAN ou CHAC) et son nom commercial (REMARQUE : tout renseignement engendre des coûts supplémentaires).

Le dossier est validé dans les 30 jours pour autant que l'avance de frais ait été versée. Il s'agit à ce stade de contrôler si tous les documents remis sont complets. Une fois la demande complète, l'organe de réception des notifications dispose de 60 jours pour prendre une décision. Lorsque la décision d'autorisation du produit de référence est encore pendante, le délai pour l'évaluation du même produit commence à courir à partir de la date de l'autorisation du produit de référence.

Durée de validité

L'autorisation d'un même produit biocide et celle de son produit de référence peuvent être modifiées ou révoquées indépendamment l'une de l'autre.

Emoluments

Autorisation d'un identique produit identique à un produit de référence AL, reconnaissance ou autorisation simplifiée : 500 CHF (émolument de base).
L’émolument pour les familles de produits biocides est également calculé à partir de l’émolument de base du type d’autorisation concerné (p. ex., autorisation AN 1000 CHF). Pour les familles de produits biocides avec une sous-famille, un supplément de 50 % du prix de base vient s’ajouter à l’émolument de base. Pour chaque sous-famille supplémentaire, l’émolument augmente de 25 %. Chaque sous-famille contient dix produits biocides. Pour chaque produit biocide supplémentaire, un montant d’1 % de l’émolument de base est ajouté à l’émolument. Pour les produits biocides d’une famille ou d’une sous-famille qui ne diffèrent que par leur concentration en pigments, en parfums ou en teintures (autrement dit, dont l’usage, la méthode d’utilisation, etc., sont identiques), les émoluments n’augmentent pas.

Remarque

Les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées à court terme. Nous recommandons donc aux personnes concernées de consulter régulièrement le site internet de l'ON et de s'abonner à la Newsletter de la protection des consommateurs de l'OFSP.

Dernière modification 05.06.2018

Début de la page