Authorisation for parallel trade

A licence for parallel trade can be granted for a biocidal product that is authorised in an EU Member State1 and is identical to a biocidal product that is already authorised in Switzerland.

Preliminary remarks

Based on the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) of 14 April 2015 the procedure for the authorisation of parallel trade is governed by the provisions of Article 53 of the Regulation (EU) 528/2012 (BPR) 2. An equivalent legal basis can be found in Article 13a of the Swiss Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP, SR 813.12).

Procedure

Applications for the authorisation for parallel trade are to be submitted exclusively through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 at the Notification Authority for Chemicals (see internet links). Dossiers in paper format will not be accepted.

An application for the authorisation for parallel trade can be filed when the biocidal product that is authorised in the EU or EFTA Member State is identical to the Reference product3, i.e.:

a) It is manufactured by the same company, by an affiliated company or manufactured under licence using the same manufacturing process;
b) The specification and the content of active substances as well as the type of formulation are identical;
c) It is identical in regard to the inactive substances present;
d) It is identical or equivalent in size, material and type of packaging in regard to potential adverse effects on human or animal health or on the environment.

The application for the authorisation for parallel trade must include the following information:

a) Name and authorisation number of the biocidal product in the EU or EFTA Member State;
b) Name and address of the competent authority of the EU or EFTA Member State;
c) Name and address of the authorisation holder in the EU or EFTA Member State;
d) Original label and directions for use, with which the biocidal product is distributed in the EU or EFTA Member State, if the Notification Authority deems that they are required for the examination;
e) Name and address of the applicant;
f) Name to be given to the biocidal product intended to be distributed;
g) Draft label for the biocidal product intended to be distributed, in two official languages;
h) A sample of the biocidal product to be imported, when the Notification Authority deems this to be required;
i) Name and authorisation number of the Reference product;
j) Translation of the essential parts of the original directions for use, when the Notification Authority requests it.

On receipt of the application for authorisation of a biocidal product for parallel trade the Notification Authority sends an invoice for the total expected fee to the applicant by means of R4BP 3. The timely4 payment of the cost estimate is required for the Notification Authority to process the application. The processing period is 60 days max. The Notification Authority can obtain additional information from the competent authority of the EU or EFTA Member State, when deemed necessary for the identification of the product.

If the authorisation for the parallel trade is granted by the Notification Authority in agreement with the assessment authorities, then the authorisation for placing on the market and the professional and commercial use of the biocidal product is subject to the same conditions and requirements as for the Reference product.

The authorisation for the parallel trade of a biocidal product remains valid for the remaining validity period of the authorisation of the Reference product. This is also the case when the authorisation of the reference product, upon application by the authorisation holder, is revoked, insofar as the requirements for the authorisation of the reference product are still met.

The Notification Authority revokes the authorisation for parallel trade if the authorisation for the biocidal product in the EU or EFTA Member State is revoked on the grounds of safety or effectiveness.

Fees

Fees for processing an application for the authorisation for parallel trade are CHF 2500.-.

Remark

The procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

 

1 A parallel MRA applies to the EFTA States Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway based on the EFTA-Agreement (Annex I).

2 Regulation (EU) 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 on the placing on the market and the use of biocidal products.

3 Herein, the reference product is understood to mean that identical product, which is already authorised in Switzerland.

4 Within 30 days after receipt of the invoice.

Last modification 21.11.2016

Top of page

Autorisation de commerce parallèle

Un produit biocide qui a été autorisé dans un Etat membre de l'UE1 et qui est identique à un produit biocide déjà autorisé en Suisse peut faire l'objet d'une autorisation de commerce parallèle.

Remarques préliminaires

Conformément à l'Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM) du 14 avril 2015, la procédure d'autorisation de commerce parallèle satisfait aux dispositions de l'art. 53 du règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 (RPB)2. La base légale équivalente dans la législation suisse se trouve à l'art 13a de l'ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio, RS 813.12).

Procédure

Les demandes d'autorisation de commerce parallèle doivent être remises à l'organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques exclusivement via le registre des produits biocides R4BP 3 (cf. liens Internet). Les dossiers sur papier ne sont pas acceptés.

Ces demandes peuvent être déposées si le produit biocide autorisé dans l'Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE est identique au produit de référence [3], c'est-à-dire lorsque les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

a) il est fabriqué par la même société, par une société associée ou sous licence selon le même procédé de fabrication ;
b) la spécification et la teneur en substances actives ainsi que le type de formulation sont identiques ;
c) il est identique en ce qui concerne les substances non actives présentes ;
d) il est identique ou équivalent dans sa dimension ainsi que dans le matériau et la forme de l'emballage en ce qui concerne les conséquences néfastes potentielles sur la santé humaine ou animale ou sur l'environnement.

La demande d'autorisation de commerce parallèle doit comprendre :

a) le nom et le numéro d'autorisation du produit biocide dans l'Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE ;
b) les nom et adresse de l'autorité compétente de l'Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE ;
c) les nom et adresse du titulaire de l'autorisation dans l'Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE ;
d) l'étiquette et le mode d'emploi d'origine accompagnant le produit biocide lors de sa mise sur le marché dans l'Etat de l'UE ou de l'AELE, si l'organe de réception des notifications juge ces éléments nécessaires pour l'examen de la demande ;
e) les nom et adresse du demandeur ;
f) le nom prévu pour le produit biocide destiné à être mis sur le marché ;
g) un projet d'étiquette pour le produit biocide destiné à être mis sur le marché, dans deux langues officielles ;
h) un échantillon du produit biocide destiné à être importé, si l'organe de réception des notifications le juge nécessaire ;
i) le nom et le numéro d'autorisation du produit de référence ;
j) la traduction des parties pertinentes du mode d'emploi d'origine si l'organe de réception des notifications l'exige.

Une fois réceptionnée la demande d'autorisation de commerce parallèle, l'organe de réception des notifications transmet au demandeur, via le R4BP 3, la facture intégrale des émoluments prévus. Les demandes sont traitées par l'organe de réception des notifications uniquement si l'avance de frais est versée à temps4. Le délai de traitement s'élève à 60 jours maximum. Si l'organe de réception des notifications le juge nécessaire pour déterminer l'identité du produit, il peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires à l'autorité compétente de l'Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE.

Si l'autorisation de commerce parallèle est délivrée par l'organe de réception des notifications en accord avec les organes d'évaluation, l'autorisation de mise sur le marché et les utilisations professionnelles et commerciales du produit biocide seront soumises aux mêmes conditions que celles applicables dans le cas de l'autorisation du produit de référence.

L'autorisation de commerce parallèle est valable pour la durée de validité restante de l'autorisation du produit de référence. Ce principe reste applicable même si l'autorisation du produit de référence est révoquée à la demande du titulaire de l'autorisation, pour autant que les exigences liées à l'autorisation du produit de référence sont toujours remplies.

L'organe de réception des notifications révoque l'autorisation de commerce parallèle si l'autorisation du produit biocide dans l'Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE est elle-même révoquée pour des raisons de sécurité ou d'efficacité.

Emoluments

Le traitement des demandes d'autorisation de commerce parallèle est soumis à des émoluments de l'ordre de 2500 francs.

Remarques

Les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées à court terme. Pour cette raison, nous recommandons aux personnes intéressées de consulter régulièrement le site internet de l'organe de réception des notifications et de s'abonner à la newsletter « Protection des consommateurs » de l'OFSP.

 

1 Un ARM a également été conclu en parallèle avec l'Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Norvège sur la base de la convention AELE (annexe I).

2 Règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 22 mai 2012 concernant la mise à disposition sur le marché et l'utilisation des produits biocides

3 On entend par produit de référence le produit identique déjà autorisé en Suisse.

4 Dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la facture

Dernière modification 21.11.2016

Début de la page