Application for Authorisation AL

This type of authorisation is applicable only in cases, in which all active substances contained in the product have been included in the Lists of Annex 1 and/or 2 of the OBP (previously list IA and/or I). At least one active substance must be in the list of Annex 2, the others can be included in the list of Annex 1. If the product contains a substance of concern or a nanomaterial, or personal protective equipment is required for use, then an authorisation AL must be requested, even when the product contains only active substances from the list of Annex 1. If the product contains one or more notified active substances that have not yet been included in these lists, then no authorisation AL may yet be requested for the product. An application for authorisation AN is to be submitted to the Notification Authority.

Procedure

When the active substances of a biocidal product are included in the list of Annex 1 or 2, more stringent requirements apply for an authorisation of the product. In the case where the product is also placed on the market in the EU, an authorisation may be requested there and the recognition of the EU authorisation can be subsequently requested in Switzerland. For a separate authorisation in Switzerland (AL) the same requirements apply as in the EU.

The application submitted for an authorisation AL must be accompanied by a dossier with the data according to Annex 5 OBP. Applications are to be submitted exclusively through the Register for Biocidal Products R4BP 3 at the Notification Authority for Chemicals. Companies that are interested should contact the Notification Authority for Chemicals beforehand and fill in (XLS, 24 kB, 05.06.2018).

The submitted dossier will be validated within 30 days, subject to the receipt of payment of the deposit. This takes the form of a test for completeness of the submitted documents. A complete and validated dossier is generally assessed and ruled on within 365 days.

Period of Validity

The period of validity of the authorisation AL is limited to a maximum of 10 years. Depending on the active substance, the time limit may also be shorter, e.g. if it concerns an active substance to be replaced according to Article 10 of the Regulation (EU) no. 528/2012. An application for renewal has to be submitted 550 days prior to the expiration of the authorisation in order to be able to continue to market the product without interruption. 

Dossier for an authorisation AL

The data requirements are listed in Annex 5 of the OBP, where reference is made to the Annexes II (for the active substance) and III (for the product) of the Regulation (EU) no. 528/2012 on biocidal products. The dossier for an authorisation AL shall be established according to the guidelines of the EU Regulation. Annex III of the EU Regulation lists the required data for the biocidal product and contains the following sections:

  1. Applicant
  2. Identity of the biocidal product
  3. Physical, chemical and technical properties
  4. Physical hazards and respective characteristics
  5. Methods of detection and identification
  6. Effectiveness against target organisms
  7. Intended uses and exposure
  8. Toxicological profile for humans and animals
  9. Ecotoxicological studies
  10. Environmental fate and behaviour
  11. Measures to be adopted to protect humans, animals and the environment
  12. Classification, labelling and packaging
  13. Evaluation and summary

Extensive data are required for each section, and are entered into the product dossier that is being established. Thus, the effectiveness and suitability inter alia of the product (section 6) must be determined (by laboratory or field studies, depending on the field of application), the exposure of the user or indirectly affected person (section 7) summarised, fate and behaviour of the substance in the environment (section 10) described by measured data or adequate numerical modelling, and a risk assessment carried out for humans, animals and the environment (section 11).

The EU presents detailed instructions "Guidance on information requirements" on the ECHA website:

The guidance corresponds to the current state of scientific knowledge and the Swiss authorities are likewise guided by it. In many cases it refers to the "Technical Notes for Guidance" for the RL 98/8/EG (TNsG, found under "Biocidal Products Directive" in the listed link to ECHA), which continue to retain their validity, in so far as no revised documents become available.

The IUCLID software (International Uniform Chemical Information Database) is used for collecting, organising and saving data on the active substances and the biocidal product. The structured data then allows the dossier to be drawn up and submitted in the manner required by the OBP. All information required for drawing up a IUCLID dossier is found in the "Biocides Submission Manual 1: Using IUCLID for biocide applications":

The program itself as well as all associated documents and supplementary databases can be downloaded free of charge from the following site:

Access to the active substance dossier 

In order to include an active substance in Annex I of Directive 98/8/EC or for its approval pursuant to the EU Directive, the applicant has already had to submit a dossier on the active substance and on a product. For the product dossier of an authorisation AL, one may refer to or use this reference dossier or part of it. A prerequisite for this is the Letter of Access to the Reference Dossier. Whether the Reference Dossier or part of it may simply be cited or also submitted, must be clarified in each case with the authorities (Notification Authority).

When preparing the dossier, the special provisions on the active substance in the List in Annex 2 of the OBP and in the Assessment Report on the active substance from the EU have to be taken into account found under:

The contents and conclusions of this report form the basis for the assessment of the product.

If the biocidal product contains active substances in the form of nanomaterials, then the assessment of the active substance must have explicitly taken into account the nanoform. Otherwise the authorisation AL applies only to the biocidal product with active substances that are not present in nanoform.

Fees

According to the chemical fees ordinance (SR 813.153.1, ChemGebV; not available in English) the fee for an authorisation AL ranges from CHF 15 000 to 60 000. The criteria for the calculation of the fee within this range are the following: 

Basic fee

The basic fee for a simple dossier amounts to CHF 30'000.-

A simple dossier for a biocidal product consists of:

  • One active substance
  • For one application method
  • For one product type
  • For one user category

Extra charge

An increase of the basic charges of 8% is claimed for:

  • Each additional active substance
  • Each substance of concern
  • Each candidate for substitution
  • Each additional product type
  • Each additional application method
  • Each additional application
  • Outdoor application
  • Studies on potential residuals in food and animal feed 

The basic fee is increase of 5% per claim because of missing or incomplete documents.

The fee for biocidal product families is made up of the basic fee for the relevant authorisation (e.g. Authorisation AN, CHF 1000). In the case of biocidal product families with one sub-family, the basic fee is increased by 50%. An increase of a further 25% is made for each additional sub-family. 10 biocidal products may be included in each sub-family. For each additional biocidal product in a sub-family, the fee increases by one per cent. No additional charge is made for biocidal products in a biocidal product family or sub-family that do not differ (i.e. whether in their use, method of use etc.) other than by their concentration of pigments, colorants or fragrances.

Deductions

The following deductions are granted:

- up to 50%, if:

  • The biocidal product is comparable with the biocidal product which was representative in the competent authority report (CAR) for the active substance.
  • The biocidal product is comparable with the biocidal product for which the company already has a authorisation AL in Switzerland. 

- up to 8%, if:

  • The company is allowed, not to submit certain data (waiving; except for physical-chemical properties).
  • The company obtained a letter of access to data of comparable biocidal products which are already authorised (except for physical-chemical properties).

Remark: The applicant has to submit an application for the deductions justifying them.

Example how to calculate the fee

The following excel file allows calculating the prospective fee for a practical example:

Advance payment

An advance payment in respect of costs is a prerequisite for the treatment of an application.

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can change at short notice as a result of technical and administrative guidelines of the EU Commission and/or of the European Chemicals Agency ECHA as well as due to the updating of the mutual recognition agreement relating to biocidal products (MRA) between Switzerland and the EU. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

Last modification 05.06.2018

Top of page

Demande d'autorisation AL

Ce type d'autorisation n'est octroyé que dans les cas où toutes les substances actives contenues dans le produit sont inscrites sur les listes selon l'annexe 1 et/ou 2 de l'ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio; RS 813.12) (anciennement IA et/ou I). Au moins une des substances doit figurer sur la liste selon l'annexe 2, toutes les autres peuvent alors être inscrites sur la liste selon l'annexe 1. Si le produit contient une substance préoccupante, des nanomatériaux ou si une protection personnelle est nécessaire lors de l'utilisation, il convient de déposer une demande d'autorisation AL, même s'il s'agit exclusivement de substances actives admises sur la liste selon l'annexe 1. Si le produit comporte une ou plusieurs substances actives notifiées qui ne figurent pas encore sur l'une des deux listes, il n'est pas possible de requérir une autorisation AL. Il convient de déposer une demande d'autorisation AN auprès de l'ON (Organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques).

Procédure

L'inscription dans la liste selon l'annexe 1 ou 2 des substances contenues dans un produit biocide impliquent des exigences plus strictes en termes d'autorisation. Si le produit est également mis sur le marché dans l'UE, il est possible d'y déposer une demande d'autorisation puis, pour la Suisse, de transmettre une demande de reconnaissance de cette autorisation. En Suisse, une autorisation (AL) est soumise aux mêmes exigences qu'au sein de l'UE.

La demande d'autorisation (AL) nécessite le dépôt d'un dossier conforme à l'annexe 5 OPBio. Les demandes sont à remettre à l'organe de réception des notifications de produits chimiques exclusivement via le registre des produits biocides R4BP 3.Les entreprises intéressées doivent au préalable prendre contact avec l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques et remplir (XLS, 25 kB, 05.06.2018).

Le dossier transmis est validé dans les 30 jours sous réserve du paiement de l'avance de frais. Il s'agit ici du contrôle du caractère complet des données transmises. En règle générale, l'évaluation d'un dossier complet et validé est terminée avec la décision dans les 365 jours.

Durée de validité

La durée de validité de l'autorisation AL est limitée au maximum à 10 ans. Selon la substance active la durée de validité peut être plus courte, p.ex. s'il s'agit d'une substance active dont la substitution est envisagée selon l'art. 10 du règlement (UE) no 528/2012. Pour pouvoir laisser le produit sans interruption sur le marché, il convient de faire parvenir une demande de prolongation 550 jours avant l'échéance de l'autorisation.

Dossier à fournir pour une autorisation AL

Les exigences sont fixées dans l'annexe 5 OPBio qui renvoie aux annexes II (pour la substance active) et III (pour le produit) du règlement (UE) no 528/2012. Le dossier en vue d'une autorisation AL est à préparer selon les exigences du règlement européen. Les données requises pour le produit biocide sont décrites dans l'annexe III du règlement européen et englobent les chapitres suivants :

  1. Demandeur
  2. Identité du produit biocide
  3. Propriétés physiques, chimiques et techniques
  4. Dangers physiques et caractéristiques correspondantes
  5. Méthodes de détection et d'identification
  6. Efficacité contre les organismes cibles
  7. Utilisations envisagées et exposition
  8. Profil toxicologique pour les humains et les animaux
  9. Etudes écotoxicologiques
  10. Devenir et comportement dans l'environnement
  11. Mesures à prendre pour protéger l'homme, les animaux et l'environnement
  12. Classification, étiquetage et emballage
  13. Résumé et évaluation

De nombreuses données sont requises dans chaque chapitre ; elles sont toutes intégrées dans le dossier à constituer concernant le produit. Ainsi, l'efficacité et l'adéquation du produit doivent être prouvées (chap. 6), selon le domaine d'application, par des essais en laboratoire ou de terrain ; l'exposition de l'utilisateur ou d'une personne indirectement concernée doit être démontrée (chap. 7) ; le devenir et le comportement des substances dans l'environnement doivent être décrits par des mesures ou des modèles de calcul adéquats (chap. 10) ; une évaluation des risques pour l'être humain, les animaux et l'environnement doit être effectuée (chap. 11).

L'UE met à disposition, sur le site de l'ECHA, une « orientation relative aux exigences en matière d'information (guidance on biocides requirements) » :

Elle correspond aux connaissances scientifiques actuelles en la matière, et les autorités suisses s'y réfèrent également. Dans de nombreux cas, elle renvoie aux Technical Notes for Guidance relatives à la directive 98/8/CE, qui sont toujours valables en l'absence de documents révisés (ces TNsG sont disponibles sous Directive sur les produits biocides, cf. lien susmentionné).

Le logiciel IUCLID (International Uniform Chemical Information Database) est utilisé pour collecter, classer et enregistrer les données concernant les substances et les produits biocides. Il permet de constituer le dossier et de le déposer conformément aux exigences de l'OPBio. Toutes les informations nécessaires à la constitution d'un dossier IUCLID se trouvent dans « Biocides Submission Manual 1: Using IUCLID for biocide applications » :

Le logiciel ainsi que la documentation et les bases de données correspondantes sont disponibles gratuitement à l'adresse suivante :

Accès au dossier relatif à la substance

Pour qu'une substance active soit admise dans l'annexe I 98/8/CE ou autorisée selon le règlement UE, la personne qui effectue la notification dans l'UE doit déjà avoir déposé un dossier concernant la substance en question ainsi qu'un produit la contenant. Pour le dossier relatif à une autorisation AL, il est possible de se référer ou de renvoyer au dossier complet concernant l'admission dans l'annexe I (dossier de référence) ou à certaines parties de celui-ci, à condition d'établir une lettre d'accès au dossier de référence. Dans certains cas, il convient de déterminer avec les autorités concernées (organes de réception) si le dossier de référence complet - ou une partie de celui-ci - doit également être déposé.

En élaborant le dossier, le demandeur doit tenir compte des dispositions spéciales relatives à la substance active figurant dans la liste de l'annexe 2 OPBio et du rapport d'évaluation UE la concernant (Assessment Report) ; ces informations sont disponibles à l'adresse:

Le produit est évalué sur la base du contenu et des conclusions de ce rapport.

Si le produit biocide contient des substances actives sous forme de nanomatériaux, ceux-ci doivent avoir étés expressément considérés lors de l'évaluation de la substance active. Dans le cas contraire, l'autorisation AL est valable uniquement pour le produit biocide avec des substances actives qui n'est pas sous form de nanomatériaux.

Emoluments

D'après l'ordonnance sur les émoluments relatifs aux produits chimiques, (SR 813.153.1, OEChim) les émoluments pour une autorisation AL se situent entre Fr. 15'000.- et 60'000.-. Les critères pour fixer l'émolument dans ce cadre sont les suivants : 

Emoluments de base

L'émolument de base pour un dossier standard est de 30'000.- CHF.

On entend par dossier standard un produit biocide avec :

  • une substance active
  • une méthode d'application
  • un type de produit
  • un type d'utilisateur

Majorations

Une majoration de 8% est demandée pour

  • chaque substance active supplémentaire
  • chaque substance préoccupante
  • chaque substance active dont la substitution est envisagée
  • chaque type de produit supplémentaire
  • chaque type d'utilisateur supplémentaire
  • chaque méthode d'utilisation supplémentaire
  • l'utilisation à l'extérieur
  • l'étude de résidus potentiels dans les denrées alimentaires

Une majoration de 5% est demandée pour chaque document manquant ou incomplet.

L’émolument pour les familles de produits biocides est également calculé à partir de l’émolument de base du type d’autorisation concerné (p. ex., autorisation AN 1000 CHF). Pour les familles de produits biocides avec une sous-famille, un supplément de 50 % du prix de base vient s’ajouter à l’émolument de base. Pour chaque sous-famille supplémentaire, l’émolument augmente de 25 %. Chaque sous-famille contient dix produits biocides. Pour chaque produit biocide supplémentaire, un montant d’1 % de l’émolument de base est ajouté à l’émolument. Pour les produits biocides d’une famille ou d’une sous-famille qui ne diffèrent que par leur concentration en pigments, en parfums ou en teintures (autrement dit, dont l’usage, la méthode d’utilisation, etc., sont identiques), les émoluments n’augmentent pas.

Déductions

  • si le produit biocide est similaire au produit représentatif du rapport d'évaluation (CAR) de la substance active, une déduction jusqu'à 50% est accordée, ou similaire à un produit pour lequel la firme a déjà reçu une première autorisation en Suisse.
  • si l'entreprise demande et obtient une exemption pour une étude (waiving ; hors les propriétés physico-chimiques) une déduction de 8% est accordée.
  • si l'entreprise obtient une lettre d'accès permettant d'utiliser des études (hors les propriétés physico-chimiques) pour des produits très similaires déjà autorisés sur le marché suisse, une déduction de 8% est accordée.

Remarques au sujet des déductions :

  • Le demandeur doit déposer une demande de déduction sur les émoluments et justifier sa demande.

Exemple

Dans la liste excel suivante l'émolument pour un exemple concret peut être calculé:

Avancement des frais

Le paiement d'une avance des frais est une condition à l'évaluation de la demande.

Notes

En raison des directives techniques et administratives de la Commission européenne et/ou de l'agence des produits chimiques européenne (ECHA), ainsi que de l'actualisation du contrat concernant la reconnaissance mutuelle des produits biocides (MRA) entre la Suisse et l'UE, les procédures d'autorisation pour les produits biocides peuvent être modifiées à court terme. Nous recommandons donc aux personnes concernées de consulter le site internet de l'ON et de s'abonner à la Newsletter de la protection des consommateurs de l'OFSP.

Dernière modification 05.06.2018

Début de la page