UFI (Unique Formula Identifier)

The Unique Formula Identifier (UFI) allows the Tox Info Suisse, the Swiss poison centre to quickly identify the composition in case of poisoning.

In Switzerland, the unique formula identifier (UFI) will be introduced for preparations, biocidal products and fertilisers that are classified as hazardous on the basis of their health and physical effects:

  • From 1.1.2022: preparations, biocidal products and fertilisers newly placed on the market, which are intended for private users;
  • From 1.1.2022: preparations, biocidal products and fertilisers that already are labelled with a UFI. In particular, products imported from the EEA fall into this category. This ensures that Tox Info Suisse can identify such products quickly and reliably in an emergency.
  • From 1.1.2026: all other preparations, biocidal products and fertilisers that are classified as hazardous on the basis of their health and physical effects.

For products imported from the EU, the current UFI from the EU can also be used in Switzerland.

A UFI for products, which are placed on the market in Switzerland, but not in the EU, can be generated with the programme (see below) using the Swiss VAT number. The UFI has to be indicated on the product and to be reported into the product register RPC in case of preparations or in the application for biocidal products and fertilisers.

For preparations designated for export into the EU/EEA, the UFI should be generated according to the ┬źNotice concerning UFI┬╗.

The notification authority Chemicals has provided a UFI generator (see below).

  • The company is characterised by the Swiss VAT number.
  • The individual formulations are characterised by a formulation number (9-digit number between 0 and 268,435,455), which the manufacturer must enter and manage. The manufacturer must ensure that each formulation number is unique for a particular formulation. If the VAT number is the same, the same UFI is generated with the same formulation number.

Last modification 23.11.2021

Top of page

UFI (eindeutiger Rezepturidentifikator)

Der UFI ermöglicht dem Tox Info Suisse, der schweizerischen Giftnotrufzentrale, eine schnelle Identifizierung der Zusammensetzung bei einem Vergiftungsfall.

In der Schweiz wird der eindeutige Rezepturidentifikator (UFI) für Zubereitungen, Biozidprodukte und Dünger eingeführt, die aufgrund der von ihnen ausgehenden Gesundheitsgefahren oder physikalischen Gefahren als gefährlich eingestuft sind:

  • ab dem 1.1.2022: neu in Verkehr gebrachte Zubereitungen, Biozidprodukte und Dünger, die für private Verwenderinnen bestimmt sind.
  • ab dem 1.1.2022: Zubereitungen, Biozidprodukte und Dünger, die bereits über einen UFI verfügen. In diese Kategorie fallen insbesondere Produkte, die aus dem EWR importiert werden. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass Tox Info Suisse solche Produkte im Notfall rasch und sicher identifizieren kann.
  • ab dem 1.1.2026: alle anderen Zubereitungen, Biozidprodukte und Dünger, die aufgrund der von ihnen ausgehenden physikalischen Gefahren oder Gesundheitsgefahren als gefährlich eingestuft werden.

Für Produkte, die aus der EU importiert werden, kann der aktuelle UFI aus der EU auch in der Schweiz verwendet werden.

Ein UFI für Produkte, die nur in der Schweiz und nicht in der EU in Verkehr gebracht werden, kann mit dem Programm (s.u.) unter Verwendung der Schweizer Mehrwertsteuernummer generiert werden. Dieser ist dann auf dem Produkt anzubringen sowie bei der Meldung der Zubereitung ins Produkteregister (RPC) bzw. im Gesuch bei Biozidprodukten und Düngern anzugeben.

Für Produkte, die für den Export in die EU/den EWR bestimmt sind, sollte der UFI gemäss der «Notiz zum UFI» generiert werden.

Letzte Änderung 19.01.2021

Zum Seitenanfang