Safety Data Sheet (SDS)

The safety data sheet contains important information on hazards, protection measures, procedures after accidents, etc. for the chemical product in question. Its distribution in the industrial occupational field is obligatory.

  • The SDS contains information on possible product hazards and gives instructions for the correct handling, for suitable protective measures, for storage, for transport and for waste disposal as well as for procedures in the case of accident.
  • The employer is responsible for the correct handling of chemical products in the workplace. The employer can be supported in this task by employees (safety officers and supervisors). The employer must ensure that the employees are informed about working correctly with chemical products and are instructed on the correct handling methods. For products with hazardous ingredients it is obligatory to transmit a safety data sheet.
  • The manufacturer of the product is responsible for issuing the SDS. In Switzerland a possible importer acts as the responsible manufacturer. All sellers (dealers) along the supply chain are responsible for the distribution. Safety data sheets are used throughout Europe – in principle the Swiss SDS and the European SDS are identical. As in any other country the country-specific information for Switzerland has to be added. This includes the responsible manufacturer/importer, the Swiss emergency information, any specific Swiss limit values (see SUVA), limitations such as maternity and child protection or other information in accordance with Swiss legal provisions.
    The adaptation may be made either in the sections 1, 7, 8, 13 and 15 of the SDS or as a cover sheet.

The guide “The safety data sheet in Switzerland” describes how the safety data sheet has to be compiled or adapted for Switzerland.

Annexes 1 and 2 of this guide are intended to give practical instructions for preparing or adapting safety data sheets that have to be made available in Switzerland.

  • Annex 1 of this guide corresponds to the Regulation (EU) 2015/830 (adaptation REACH) generally adapted to Swiss provisions.
    This Annex is intended to be a practical aid for all who have to draw up a safety data sheet for the Swiss market.
  • Annex 2 of this guide specifically describes in detail sections 1, 7, 8, 13 and 15 of the Regulation (EU) 2015/830, which, pursuant to Art. 20 para. 2 ChemO, are to be adapted to the Swiss requirements.
    It is a supplement to Annex 1 of this guide and of use specifically for adapting a safety data sheet from the EEA.

Last modification 20.02.2017

Top of page

Sicherheitsdatenblatt (SDB)

Das Sicherheitsdatenblatt beinhaltet wichtige Informationen zu Gefahren, Schutzmassnahmen, Vorgehen bei Unfällen, etc. zum betreffenden chemischen Produkt. Dessen Abgabe ist im gewerblich-beruflichen Bereich obligatorisch.

  • Das SDB beinhaltet Informationen zu möglichen Gefahren des Produkts und gibt Anweisungen zum richtigen Umgang, zu den geeigneten Schutzmassnahmen, zur Lagerung, zum Transport und zur Entsorgung sowie zum Vorgehen im Unglücksfall.
  • Verantwortlich für den korrekten Umgang mit chemischen Produkten im Betrieb ist der Arbeitgebende. Er kann sich von dafür eingesetzten Arbeitnehmenden (Sicherheitsbeauftragte und Vorgesetzte) unterstützen lassen. Der Arbeitgeber muss dafür sorgen, dass die Arbeitnehmenden über die korrekte Arbeit mit chemischen Produkten informiert und im richtigen Umgang angeleitet werden. Für Produkte mit gefährlichen Inhaltsstoffen ist die Übermittlung eines Sicherheitsdatenblatts obligatorisch.
  • Verantwortlich für die Erstellung des SDB ist der Hersteller des Produkts. In der Schweiz gilt ein allfälliger Importeur als der verantwortliche Hersteller. Für die Abgabe sind alle Verkäufer (Händler) entlang der Lieferkette verantwortlich. Sicherheitsdatenblätter werden europaweit angewendet – das schweizerische SDB und das europäische SDB sind prinzipiell identisch. Wie in jedem anderen Land auch müssen die landesspezifischen Angaben der Schweiz ergänzt werden. Dazu gehören der verantwortliche Hersteller/Importeur, die schweizerische Notfallauskunft, allfällige spezifische schweizerische Grenzwerte (siehe SUVA), Einschränkungen wie Mutter- und Jugendschutz oder andere Informationen gemäss schweizerischen Rechtsvorschriften.
    Die Anpassung kann entweder in den Abschnitten 1, 7, 8, 13 und 15 des SDB erfolgen oder als Deckblatt.

Die Wegleitung „Das Sicherheitsdatenblatt in der Schweiz"  beschreibt wie das Sicherheitsdatenblatt für die Schweiz erstellt bzw. angepasst werden muss.

Die Anhänge 1 und 2 dieser Wegleitung sollen eine praktische Anleitung geben für die Erstellung bzw. Anpassung von Sicherheitsdatenblättern, die in der Schweiz übermittelt werden müssen:

  • Anhang 1 dieser Wegleitung entspricht der Verordnung EU Nr. 2015/830 (Anpassung REACH) generell angepasst an die schweizerischen Entsprechungen.
    Dieser Anhang soll somit eine praktische Hilfe sein für alle, die ein Sicherheitsdatenblatt für den Schweizer Markt erstellen müssen.
  • Anhang 2 dieser Wegleitung beschreibt speziell die Abschnitte 1, 7, 8, 13 und 15 der Verordnung EU Nr. 2015/830, die gem. Art. 20 Abs. 2 ChemV an die schweizerischen Anforderungen anzupassen sind, im Detail.
    Er ist eine Ergänzung zu Anhang 1 dieser Wegleitung und speziell für die Anpassung eines Sicherheitsdatenblatts des EWR von Nutzen.

Letzte Änderung 20.02.2017

Zum Seitenanfang