Biocidal active substances

In order that active substances may be used as or for biocidal products, they have to be "approved" or at least be notified for approval.

Approval of an active substance

In most cases the approval of the active substances is based on an assessment by the EU authorities.

Switzerland adopts the assessment procedures for biocidal active substances from the EU. However, Switzerland is actively integrated into the assessment process. Consequently, it is possible for Swiss applicants and European applicants to have a substance assessed by the Swiss authorities or by an authority in the EU with a view to inclusion in Annex 1 or 2 of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP; SR 813.12).

The procedure for assessing dossiers on existing biocidal active substances is regulated by the Delegated Regulation (EU) no 1062/2014 (see list of links). The data requirements for an application for approval of an active substance are described in Article 6 of Regulation (EU) no 528/2012 (BPR). Applications for existing and new biocidal active substances shall be submitted through the European Register for Biocidal Products R4BP. The European Chemical Agency ECHA provides guidelines for the submission of these types of dossier (see list of links).

Biocidal active substances are defined as substances and microorganisms including viruses with an intended effect for use as a biocidal product.

Active substance use

Active substances may be placed on the market, if:

  1. they are placed on the market exclusively for use in or as a biocidal product. In other words: they are mixed into a formulation in order that the resulting product becomes a biocidal product, or the active substance is itself a biocidal product (e.g. a gas); and
  2. the active substances are either notified (see below) or included in the lists in Annex 1 (XLS, 110 kB, 01.03.2018) or Annex 2 (XLS, 712 kB, 25.06.2019) of the OBP (Lists of active substances for the simplified procedure and Union lists of authorised active substances).

The list of notified active substances was established within the framework of an EU-Review Programme for biocidal active substances. The active substance list was originally part of Annex II of Regulation (EC) no 1451/2007. At the end of October 2014 it was replaced by Regulation (EU) no 1062/2014. In Annex II part 1 of the new Regulation active substances are listed that are still under examination in the scope of the programme (under certain conditions, with an appropriate declaration, an interest for notification and therefore for later approval can be indicated[1] for unlisted active substances). The approval or non-approval of all active substances is expected by 2024. Each active substance will be scientifically assessed for the product categories in which it was notified in regard to its risk for human health and the environment and its efficacy. After the assessment a decision is taken on whether the active substance is approved for a product-type or not. In the latter case the active substance for the product-type will be struck off the list of notified active substances. If the inclusion of the active substance is published in the list of Annex 1 or 2 OBP (List of active substances for the simplified authorisation procedure and Union List of approved active substances), the Notification Authority communicates this to the owner of an AN or AC authorisation of a biocidal product with this active substance.

The following consequences arise:

  1. In order to use an approved active substance as or in a biocidal product, an application must be submitted for an AL authorisation or for a simplified authorisation. In addition, an application can also be submitted for acceptance of a product authorised in the EU/EFTA or a Union authorisation.
  2. For active substances which have been struck off the list of notified active substances for the product-type in question, then the existing transitional authorisation AN or AC with this active substance will be revoked by the Notification Authority.
  3. An application AN can be submitted for notified active substances, whose authorisation has not yet been decided. This type of authorisation is not a subject of the MRA and represents a purely Swiss provision for the transitional period.

N.B. The list of notified active substances is published in the European Review Regulation no 1062/2014. Both the list of the notified active substances as well as the deleted and included or authorised active substances need to be examined. The Notification Authority has published an unofficial, consolidated list to facilitate this (green: included in the lists in Annex 1 or 2 OBP; red: no longer notified).

Remark

The processes and procedures for the authorisation of biocidal products can be modified at short notice as a result of technical and administrative guidelines of the EU Commission and/or the ECHA. Consequently, we advise interested parties to regularly consult the website of the Notification Authority Chemicals and to subscribe to the Consumer Protection newsletter from the FOPH.

[1] New active substances; see OBP Art. 2 para. 2 letter g

Last modification 31.01.2019

Top of page

Biozide Wirkstoffe

Wirkstoffe, damit sie als oder für Biozidproduke verwendet werden dürfen, müssen "genehmigt" sein oder zumindest für die Genehmigung notifiziert sein.

Wirkstoffgenehmigung

In den allermeisten Fällen erfolgt die Genehmigung der Wirkstoffe aufgrund einer Bewertung durch die EU-Behörden.

Die Schweiz übernimmt die Bewertungsverfahren zu Biozidwirkstoffen von der EU. Sie ist aber aktiv in den Bewertungsprozess eingebunden. Es ist Schweizer Gesuchstellern und Europäischen Gesuchstellern daher möglich, einen Stoff im Hinblick auf eine Aufnahme in Anhang 1 oder 2 der Biozidprodukteverordnung (VBP; SR 813.12) von der Schweizer Behörde oder von einer Behörde in der EU bewerten zu lassen.

Das Verfahren zur Bewertung von Dossiers über alte biozide Wirkstoffe ist durch die Delegierte Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1062/2014 geregelt (siehe Linkliste). Die Datenanforderungen für einen Antrag auf Genehmigung eines Wirkstoffs sind in Artikel 6 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 528/2012 (BPR) beschrieben. Anträge für alte und für neue biozide Wirkstoffe sind über das europäische Register für Biozidprodukte R4BP einzureichen. Die Europäische Chemikalienaguntur ECHA stellt Wegleitungen für die Einreichung derartiger Dossiers zur Verfügung (siehe Linkliste).

Biozide Wirkstoffe sind definiert als Stoffe und Mikroorganismen einschliesslich Viren, mit einer für die Verwendung als Biozidprodukt beabsichtigten Wirkung.

Wirkstoffverwendung

Wirkstoffe dürfen in Verkehr gebracht werden, wenn:

  1. sie ausschliesslich zur Verwendung in oder als Biozidprodukt in Verkehr gebracht werden. In anderen Worten: sie werden in eine Formulierung gemischt, damit das entstehende Produkt ein Biozidprodukt wird, oder der Wirkstoff ist selbst ein Biozidprodukt (z.B. ein Gas); und
  2. die Wirkstoffe entweder notifiziert (s. unten) oder in den Listen nach Anhang 1 (XLS, 110 kB, 01.03.2018) oder Anhang 2 (XLS, 706 kB, 29.11.2018) der VBP (Liste der Wirkstoffe für das vereinfachte Verfahren und Unionsliste genehmigter Wirkstoffe) aufgeführt sind.

Die Liste der notifizierten Wirkstoffe wurde aufgestellt im Rahmen eines EU-Überprüfungsprogramms (Review-Programm) für biozide Wirkstoffe. Die Wirkstoffliste befand sich ursprünglich im Anhang II der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1451/2007. Ende Oktober 2014 wurde sie durch die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1062/2014 ersetzt. Im Anhang II Teil 1 der neuen Verordnung sind die Wirkstoffe gelistet, die sich im Rahmen des Programms weiterhin in Prüfung befinden (unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann für nicht gelistete Wirkstoffe mit einer entsprechenden Erklärung ein Interesse zur Notifizierung und somit zur späteren Genehmigung bekundet werden[1]). Bis 2024 wird voraussichtlich über Genehmigung oder Nichtgenehmigung aller Wirkstoffe entschieden. Jeder Wirkstoff wird für die Produktarten, in denen er notifiziert ist, wissenschaftlich hinsichtlich seines Risikos für Mensch und Umwelt und seiner Wirksamkeit bewertet. Nach der Bewertung wird entschieden, ob der Wirkstoff für eine Produktart genehmigt wird oder nicht. Im letzteren Fall wird der Wirkstoff für die Produktart in der Liste der notifizierten Wirkstoffe gestrichen. Wird die Aufnahme des Wirkstoffs auf die Liste nach Anhang 1 oder 2 VBP (Liste der Wirkstoffe für das vereinfachte Zulassungsverfahren und Unionsliste genehmigter Wirkstoffe) veröffentlicht, teilt die Anmeldestelle dies der Inhaberin einer ZN- oder ZB-Zulassung eines Biozidprodukts mit diesem Wirkstoff mit.

Es ergeben sich folgende Konsequenzen:

  1. Zur Verwendung eines genehmigten Wirkstoffs als oder in einem Biozidprodukt muss ein Gesuch um Zulassung ZL oder um vereinfachte Zulassung gestellt werden. Zudem kann auch ein Gesuch um Anerkennung eines in der EU/der EFTA zugelassenen Produkts oder eine Unionszulassung eingereicht werden.
  2. Für Wirkstoffe, die aus der Liste der notifizierten Wirkstoffe für die betreffende Produktart gestrichen wurden, wird die bestehende Übergangszulassung ZN oder ZB mit diesem Wirkstoff von der Anmeldestelle widerrufen.
  3. Für notifizierte Wirkstoffe, über deren Genehmigung noch nicht entschieden wurde, kann ein Gesuch ZN gestellt werden. Diese Zulassungsart ist nicht Gegenstand des MRA und stellt eine rein schweizerische Bestimmung für die Übergangsperiode dar.

Achtung: Die Liste der notifizierten Wirkstoffe ist in der Europäischen Review-Verordnung Nr. 1062/2014 publiziert. Es ist notwendig, sowohl die Liste der notifizierten Wirkstoffe als auch der gestrichenen und aufgenommenen bzw. genehmigten Wirkstoffe zu prüfen. Zur Erleichterung hat die Anmeldestelle eine inoffizielle, konsolidierte Liste aufgeschaltet (PDF, 1 MB, 10.04.2018) (grün: in die Listen nach Anhang 1 oder 2 VBP aufgenommen; rot: nicht mehr notifiziert).

Hinweis

Die Prozesse und Prozeduren für die Zulassung von Biozidprodukten können sich infolge von technischen und administrativen Richtlinien der EU-Kommission und/oder der ECHA kurzfristig ändern. Wir empfehlen den interessierten Kreisen daher, regelmässig die Webseite der Anmeldestelle Chemikalien zu besuchen und den Newsletter Verbraucherschutz des BAG zu abonnieren.

[1] Neuer Wirkstoff; siehe VBP Art. 2 Abs. 2 Bst. g

Letzte Änderung 29.03.2018

Zum Seitenanfang