Permethrin-containing topical insecticides

Modification of the interpretation practice relating to permethrin-containing topical insecticides  

The assessment authorities (FOPH, FOEN, SECO and FSVO) have adopted the following decision:

A product that contains the active substance permethrin and which is advertised or used directly on the skin or on the pelt of animals to control insects shall not be considered as a biocidal product within the meaning of the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (SR 813.12, OBP) therefore cannot be authorised as such.

 

In collaboration with Swissmedic it has been decided that in Switzerland, analogously to the interpretation adapted in several EU countries, these products in future will fall under the Therapeutic Products legislation and accordingly are a veterinary medicinal product subject to authorisation. This includes all delivery forms, i.e. permethrin-containing collars, ear tags and similar products that remain for long periods on the animal.

 

The distinction between veterinary medicinal product and biocide was previously often made by means of a case-by-case decision based on differentially weighted arguments. It was generally considered that products claimed to control insects and arachnids, and which remained for longer periods on the animal, were classified as veterinary medicinal products. In contrast, products that contained notified active substances of product type 18 and which claimed to control insects that remained for only short periods on the animal, were previously classified as biocidal products.

 

The present decision on the modification of the interpretation practice was taken by considering the reasons set out in points 1 and 2. The distinction and classification of permethrin-containing products as veterinary medicinal products, independently of the claimed target organism, is thus clearly comprehensible and consistent.

 

1. Permethrin is a pharmacologically active substance with an insecticidal and acaricidal action. The use of permethrin-containing products on the skin or pelt of animals results in an action against insects and arachnids; because it is associated with specific diseases it is classified as a veterinary treatment against ectoparasites. This also applies to treatments against insects, such as e.g. flies that temporarily remain on or in contact with animals, because these insects may also transmit and cause diseases to animals. Consequently, the product falls under the definition of Article 4 of the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA) and is regarded as a veterinary medicinal product subject to authorisation.

 

2. The topical application of biocidal products of the product type 18 (insecticides, acaricides and products to control other arthropods) is not explicitly provided for in the European Biocidal Products Regulation (BPR) or the Swiss Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP). This is in contrast to the product types 1, 3 and 19 (human hygiene; veterinary hygiene; repellents and attractants), for which the possibility of such an application is explicitly mentioned. For all other product types there are no biocidal products that have been authorised for topical application – except for PT18 up to now in the veterinary field. Topical insecticides for use on humans have already to be authorised as a medicinal product today.

 

For insecticidal and acaricidal biocidal products for topical use and which contain active substances other than permethrin, the previous interpretation is maintained until the active substance is assessed in the EU (review programme) and a decision for approval is taken (admission of the active substance into the Union list or not). The same applies to products that contain permethrin and other additionally notified active substances that are still being assessed.
The concerned authorisation holders will be informed in writing in due time whether the product can be authorised as a biocidal product or will be regarded as a veterinary medicinal product subject to authorisation. The abovementioned authorities will closely follow the decision-making process for the interpretation in the EU. However, it is likely that products that contain notified active substances of product type 18 and are foreseen for topical application on an animal will in future be regarded as veterinary medicinal products.
Please note that such products (containing active substances other than permethrin, or additional active substances combined with permethrin) can already be authorised as veterinary medicinal products if they meet the required conditions.

 

Sales deadlines in accordance with Article 26a OBP will be granted for those products already present on the market and which are impacted by this modification of the interpretation. The Notification Authority for Chemicals will adopt such an action and deliver it to the authorisation holders concerned.

 

 

Last modification 14.05.2019

Top of page

Permethrinhaltige topische Insektizide

Änderung der Auslegungspraxis bezüglich permethrinhaltiger topischer Insektizide  

Die Beurteilungsstellen für Biozide (BAG, BAFU, SECO und BLV) haben folgenden Beschluss gefasst:

Ein Produkt mit dem Wirkstoff Permethrin, welches direkt auf der Haut bzw. auf dem Fell von Tieren zur Bekämpfung von Insekten (z.B. Fliegen) verwendet oder angepriesen wird, gilt nicht als Biozidprodukt im Sinne der Biozidprodukteverordnung (SR 813.12, VBP) und kann daher nicht als solches zugelassen werden.

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit Swissmedic wurde entschieden, dass diese Produkte in der Schweiz, analog zur angepassten Auslegung in mehreren EU-Ländern, künftig unter die Heilmittelgesetzgebung fallen und dementsprechend zulassungspflichtige Tierarzneimittel sind. Eingeschlossen sind hierbei alle Darreichungsformen, d.h. auch permethrinhaltige Halsbänder, Ohrmarken und ähnliche Produkte, die längerfristig am Tier verbleiben.

 

Bisher handelte es sich bei der Abgrenzung Tierarzneimittel – Biozid häufig um Einzelfallentscheide mit differenzierter Gewichtung von Argumenten. Generell galt, dass Produkte mit einer Anpreisung gegen länger auf dem Tier verbleibende Insekten und Spinnentiere als Tierarzneimittel eingestuft wurden. Produkte, die notifizierte Wirkstoffe der Produktart 18 enthielten und mit einer Anpreisung zur Bekämpfung von nur kurzzeitig auf dem Tier verbleibenden Insekten wurden bisher hingegen als Biozidprodukt eingestuft.

 

Der vorliegende Entscheid über die Änderung der Auslegungspraxis wurde in Erwägung der unter den Punkten 1 und 2 aufgeführten Gründe gefällt. Die Abgrenzung und Einstufung permethrinhaltiger Produkte als Tierarzneimittel unabhängig vom ausgelobten Zielorganismus ist damit klar nachvollziehbar und konsistent.

 

1. Permethrin ist ein pharmakologisch aktiver Stoff mit insektizider und akarizider Wirkung. Mit der Anwendung permethrinhaltiger Produkte auf der Haut oder dem Fell von Tieren geht eine Wirkung gegen Insekten und Spinnentiere einher, die tiermedizinisch als Behandlung gegen Ektoparasiten einzustufen ist, weil sie mit spezifischen Krankheitsbildern assoziiert ist. Dies gilt auch für Behandlungen gegen kurzzeitig am und auf Tieren verbleibenden Insekten wie z.B. Fliegen, da auch diese Insekten bei Tieren Krankheiten verursachen und übertragen können. Das Produkt fällt daher unter die Definition gemäss Artikel 4 des Heilmittelgesetzes (HMG) und wird als zulassungspflichtiges Tierarzneimittel angesehen.

 

2. Die topische Anwendung von Bioziden der Produktart 18 (Insektizide, Akarizide und Produkte gegen andere Arthropoden) ist unter der europäischen Biozidprodukteregulierung (BPR) bzw. der Schweizer Biozidprodukteverordnung (VBP) nicht explizit vorgesehen. Dies im Gegensatz zu den Produktarten 1, 3 und 19 (Menschliche Hygiene; Hygiene im Veterinärbereich; Repellentien und Lockmittel), für welche explizit die Möglichkeit einer solchen Anwendung erwähnt ist. Für alle anderen Produktarten gibt es keine Biozidprodukte, die für eine topische Anwendung zugelassen würden – ausser bis jetzt für PT18 im Veterinärbereich. Topische Insektizide für die Anwendung am Menschen müssen schon heute als Arzneimittel zugelassen werden.

 

Für insektizid und akarizid wirkende und topisch anzuwendende Biozidprodukte mit anderen Wirkstoffen als Permethrin wird die bisherige Auslegung beibehalten bis der Wirkstoff in der EU beurteilt (Review Programme) und über die Genehmigung entschieden ist (Aufnahme des Wirkstoffs in die Unionsliste oder nicht). Dasselbe gilt für Produkte mit Permethrin und zusätzlich noch anderen notifizierten Wirkstoffen, welche noch in Beurteilung sind.
Betroffene Zulassungsinhaber werden zu gegebenem Zeitpunkt schriftlich informiert, ob das Produkt als Biozidprodukt zugelassen werden kann oder als zulassungspflichtiges Tierarzneimittel angesehen wird. Die eingangs genannten Behörden werden sich für die Entscheidfindung an der Auslegung in der EU orientieren. Es ist allerdings davon auszugehen, dass Produkte, die notifizierte Wirkstoffe der Produktart 18 enthalten und für eine topische Anwendung am Tier vorgesehen sind, künftig als Tierarzneimittel angesehen werden.
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass solche Produkte (mit anderen Wirkstoffen als Permethrin oder weiteren Wirkstoffen in Kombination mit Permethrin) bereits jetzt als Tierarzneimittel zugelassen werden können, wenn die Voraussetzungen dafür erfüllt sind.

 

Für bereits auf dem Markt befindliche Produkte, welche von dieser Änderung der Auslegungspraxis betroffen sind, werden Abverkaufsfristen nach Artikel 26a VBP gewährt. Die Anmeldestelle Chemikalien wird eine entsprechende Verfügung erlassen und den betroffenen Zulassungsinhabern zustellen. 

 

 

Letzte Änderung 14.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang