Biocidal products

Biocidal products may be placed on the market, be used professionally and commercially only if they have been authorised, notified or recognised according to the Ordinance on Biocidal Products (OBP - SR 813.12). The responsibility for placing biocidal products on the market falls to the authorisation holder.

Biocidal products are used to combat harmful organisms by killing or repelling them. Biocidal products are considered to be preparations or active substances in the form in which they are supplied to the user. That means to the person, who uses the product for a biocidal purpose, e.g. disinfection, combating pests or to protect colour using an in-can preservative. A biocidal product acts in a chemical or biological way but not a physical way. Depending on the purpose(s) for which it is to be used, it belongs to at least one of the 22 products types. The active substances used in biocidal products have to be either notified or approved.

Biocidal active substances

In order that active substances may be used as or for biocidal products, they have to be "approved" or at least be notified for approval.

Product types

Biozidprodukte werden in vier Hauptgruppen eingeteilt: Desinfektionsmittel, Schutzmittel,
Schädlingsbekämpfungsmittel und sonstige Biozidprodukte. Die vier Hauptgruppen
umfassen 22 Produktarten (Anhang 10 Biozidprodukteverordnung).

Transitional authorisations (AN/AC)

An application for a transitional authorisation can be made only for biocidal products that contain at least one notified active substance.

Authorisations according the European harmonized system

Biocidal products that contain only approved active substances (active substances that have been incorporated into the lists in Annex 1 or 2 OBP), can be placed on the Swiss market only with an authorisation from the European harmonised procedure.

Questions on delimitation (cosmetics, products for animals)

Certain products are at the interface between two product categories and thus are always classified on a case-by-case basis and have to be reviewed as a whole (check on intended use and composition).

Treated products

This guide (only available in German, French and Italian) is aimed at the cantonal enforcement authorities, businesses and users. It sets out the regulations on products treated with biocidal active substances.

Last modification 23.05.2017

Top of page

Produit biocide

Les produits biocides doivent avoir été autorisés, déclarés ou reconnus selon l’ordonnance sur les produits biocides (OPBio – RS 813.12) pour être mis sur le marché, utilisés à titre professionnel ou commercial. La responsabilité pour la mise sur le marché des produits biocides incombe au titulaire de l’autorisation.

Les produits biocides servent à combattre les organismes nuisibles en les tuant ou en les repoussant. Est considéré comme produit biocide une préparation ou une substance active sous la forme dans laquelle elle est livrée à l'utilisateur, c'est-à-dire à la personne qui l'utilise dans un but biocide, p.ex. désinfection, lutte antiparasitaire ou protection d'une peinture avec un agent conservateur. Un produit biocide agit par action chimique ou biologique et non physique. Selon le(s) usages pour le(s)quel(s) le produit est utilisé, il appartient à au moins un des 22 types de produits. Les produits biocides ne peuvent contenir que des substances actives notifiées ou approuvées.

Substances actives biocides

Pour pouvoir être utilisées comme des substances actives biocides, les substances actives doivent être « approuvées » ou du moins notifiées en vue de l'approbation.

Types de produit

Les produits biocides se divisent en quatre groupes : désinfectants, produits de protection, produits antiparasitaires et autres produits biocides. En tout, ces quatre groupes englobent 22 types de produits (annexe 10 de l’ordonnance sur les produits biocides).

Autorisations transitoires (AN/AC)

Une demande d'autorisation provisoire pour un produit biocide peut être déposée uniquement si le produit en question contient une substance active notifiée.

Autorisations selon la procédure européenne harmonisée

Les produits biocides qui contiennent uniquement des substances actives approuvées ne peuvent être commercialisés en Suisse que sur la base d'une autorisation selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE.

Question de délimitation

Certains produits se trouvent à la limite entre deux catégories de produits et leur classification s’effectue toujours au cas-par-cas. Ils doivent être considérés dans son entier (examen du but d'utilisation et de la composition).

Articles traités

Le présent guide s’adresse aux organes cantonaux d’exécution, aux entreprises et aux utilisateurs concernés. Il présente les bases légales concernant les articles traités avec des substances actives biocides.

Dernière modification 23.05.2017

Début de la page