authorization for the disinfection of drinking water

Authorization of biocidal products for the disinfection of drinking water in Switzerland

Article 2 (7) of the European Biocidal Products Regulation (BPR) gives individual member states the option to ban or restrict the use of certain biocidal products/active substances for disinfecting drinking water at a national level.

In Switzerland, the FDHA Ordinance on Drinking Water and Water in Public Baths and Shower Facilities (DWBSO; SR 817.022.11) governs biocidal products and procedures that can be authorized for the disinfection of drinking water. The procedures and active substances that are admissible for the disinfection of drinking water in Switzerland are listed in Annex 4 List 2 or List 5 of the DWBSO. Consequently, not all biocidal active substances designated as product type 5 (drinking water disinfectants) in the BPR are admissible for the disinfection of drinking water in Switzerland.
 Biocidal active substances that are admissible for the desinfection of drinking water in Switzerland are marked with a "#" (for example: 5#) in the List of active substances published by the Notification Authority for Chemicals. (PDF, 871 kB, 07.09.2021)

Silver (CAS no. 7440-22-4) and silver nitrate (CAS no. 7761-88-8) may not be used in Switzerland as an active substance in biocides for the primary disinfection of drinking water. However, an authorization for inhibiting contamination in cold-water household appliances or in tanks or containers (e.g. for emergency water supplies) is possible. Sodium dichloroisocyanurate (CAS no. 2893-78-9) and sodium dichloroisocyanurate dihydrate (CAS no. 51580-86-0) may only be admissible in biocides for disinfecting emergency water supplies.

Last modification 11.03.2021

Top of page

autorisation pour désinfecter l’eau potable

Autorisation de produits biocides pour désinfecter l’eau potable en Suisse

L’art. 2, par. 7, du règlement sur les produits biocides (RPB) donne la possibilité aux différents États membres de restreindre ou d’interdire l’utilisation, au niveau national, de produits biocides/de substances actives pour désinfecter l’eau potable.

En Suisse, l’ordonnance du DFI sur l’eau potable et l’eau des installations de baignade et de douche accessibles au public (OPBD ; RS 817.022.11) réglemente les produits biocides et les procédés pouvant être autorisés pour la désinfection de l’eau potable. Les procédés et les substances actives admissibles pour désinfecter l’eau potable en Suisse sont énumérés à l’annexe 4, liste 2 et liste 5 de l’OPBD. Par conséquent, toutes les substances actives biocides destinées au type de produit 5 (désinfectants pour l’eau potable) selon le RPB ne peuvent pas être autorisées pour la désinfection de l’eau potable en Suisse.
 Le substances actives biocides autorisables en Suisse pour désinfecter l’eau potable sont marquées d’un « # » (c’est-à-dire 5#) dans la Listes des substances actives de l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques. (PDF, 871 kB, 07.09.2021)

L’argent (N° CAS 7440-22-4) et le nitrate d’argent (N° CAS 7761-88-8) ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour la désinfection primaire de l’eau potable en Suisse. Une autorisation pour prévenir la contamination microbiologique dans les appareils des installations domestiques pour le circuit de l’eau froide ou dans les citernes ou récipients (p. ex., pour l’alimentation en eau en situation de crise) est toutefois possible. Le dichloroisocyanurate de sodium (N° CAS 2893-78-9) et le dichloroisocyanurate de sodium dihydraté (N° CAS 51580-86-0) sont admissibles seulement pour l’alimentation en eau en situation de crise.

Dernière modification 11.03.2021

Début de la page