How do I recognize a new substance?

  • Substances with an EC-Nr. beginning with 2 or 3 are existing substances (EINECS)
  • Substances with an EC-Nr. beginning with 4 (ELINCS) are new substances
  • Substances with an EC-Nr. beginning with 5 are no-longer polymers (NLP) and considered being new substances, too
  • Those with a list number beginning with 6, 7, 8 or nine are mostly new substances, too (unless the manufacturer can prove that the identity corresponds to a substance listed in EINECS).
The Swiss manufacturer (definition includes the importer) has to define himself his substance’s identity in terms of self-regulation (art. 5 ChemO). For this purpose, he has to procure all accessible information. ECHA’s “Guidance for identification and naming of substances under REACH and CLP” can be useful
 
If the manufacturer notices that the substance is a new substance, he has to notify it prior to placing the substance onto the market above 1 tpa (art. 24 and 26 ChemO, Swiss quantity), if no other exemption pursuant to art. 26 applies
If the manufacturer is of the opinion that it is an existing substance, he does not need to notify. However, in case of a control by enforcement authorities or if being asked by the notification authorities, he must be able to prove it (scientific arguments, analysis data, statements by the chemical manufacturer or an EU authority).
 
The notification authority may decide – where necessary after consultation with the evaluation units – about individual cases, if all available data and sufficient information is submitted.
 

Last modification 06.12.2018

Top of page

Comment reconnaître une nouvelle substance?

  • Les substances dont le No. EC commence par 2 ou 3 sont des substances existantes (EINECS).
  • Les substances dont le No. EC commence par 4 (ELINCS) sont des nouvelles substances.
  • Les substances dont le No. EC commence par 5 sont des No-Longer-Polymers (NLP) et comptent également comme nouvelles substances.
  • Celles dont le No. de Liste commence par 6, 7, 8 ou 9 sont le plus souvent également des nouvelles substances (sauf si le fabricant peut prouver que l'identité correspond à une substance listée dans EINECS).
Le fabricant Suisse (la définition inclut l’importateur) doit définir lui-même l’identité de sa substance dans le cadre du contrôle autonome (art. 5 OChim). À cet effet, il doit se procurer toute l’information accessible. Le document “Guidance for identification and naming of substances under REACH and CLP” de l’ECHA peut être utile
 
Si le fabricant découvre que la substance est une nouvelle substance, il doit la notifier avant de la mettre sur le marché à plus d’une tonne par an (art. 24 et 26 OChim, quantié suisse) si aucune autre exemption selon l’art. 26 n’est applicable
Si le fabricant est d’avis que c’est une substance existante, il n’est pas soumis à l’obligation de notifier. Cela dit, en cas de contrôle par les autorités ou si l’organe de réception des notifications le lui demande, il doit pouvoir le prouver (arguments scientifiques, données d’analyse, avis d’experts par le fabricant chimique ou une autorité UE).
 
L’organe de réception des notifications peut statuer – là où nécessaire après consultation avec les organes d’évaluation – sur des cas individuels, si toutes les données disponibles et des informations suffisantes lui sont fournies.
 

Dernière modification 06.12.2018

Début de la page