Application for an Union authorisation

With the new procedure for the Union authorisation the European Biocidal Products Regulation (BPR)1 makes it possible for a biocidal product to be authorised for the entire EEA Market (plus Switzerland)2, thereby obviating the need for an application in the individual states for national authorisations or recognition.

As with all other types of authorisation, the prerequisite for this is that the active substance(s) contained in the biocidal product have been assessed and approved.

Based on the MRA a Swiss Company can likewise obtain access to the entire EEA Market for the biocidal product in question by means of a Union authorisation3. The procedure is based on an evaluation of the product by a national authority. The applicant is entitled to choose the evaluating authority. However, in each case the national authority must clearly state its readiness to carry out the evaluation. In order to facilitate the evaluation, it is reasonable to choose an authority that also evaluated and authorised the active substance.

The application must be submitted to the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA). Once the evaluation has been completed the ECHA Committee for Biocidal Products (with the participation of Switzerland) draws up an opinion of ECHA for the product. Based on this opinion and possible requests for derogation from the EU Member states (Art. 44 para. 5, 2 section BPR), the European Commission decides upon the approval requirements and grants the Union authorisation.

An important condition for granting a Union authorisation is that the product has similar conditions of use in all Member States of the EEA (cf. the Guideline "Note for Guidance on similar conditions of use", see list of links). An application for the Union authorisation can also be submitted for a biocidal product family.

A Union authorisation is not possible for the following products:

  • Products containing active substances that meet the exclusion criteria (Art. 5 BPR)
  • Products of the product types 14, 15, 17, 20 and 21

For biocidal products that contain only "existing" active substances, Union authorisations for certain product types will be available as of 2017 (product types 2, 6 and 13) and 2020 respectively (product types 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 16 and 22).

ECHA advises those companies that intend to submit an application with ECHA for Union authorisation, to submit a "pre-submission" at the latest 6 months beforehand. This is used to confirm whether the product may actually be considered for a Union authorisation and that the requirements for the similar conditions for use in the entire EEA are met.

The application is to be submitted to ECHA through R4BP 3. For details on how to proceed with an application for Union authorisation, and which documents are to be submitted, please refer to the ECHA guideline "Practical guide on biocidal products regulation - Union authorisation" (cf. list of links). If the biocidal product for which authorisation is being requested using the harmonised European procedure is already on the market in Switzerland under a transitional authorisation: its authorisation number (CHAN or CHAC) and proprietary name (IMPORTANT: additional costs will be charged if queries arise)

Pursuant to the MRA, Switzerland is obliged to strictly apply the Union authorisations granted by the EU Commission for the area of the EEA Member States. The Union authorisation is not directly valid in Switzerland but is confirmed by the Notification Authority in a highly simplified procedure (cf. Art. 14a para. 2 OBP). Pursuant to the MRA, Switzerland can provide for derogations before the Union authorisation is adopted, pursuant to Article 44 para. 5, 2nd section OBP. Following the Swiss decision on the Union authorisation the Notification Authority delivers the authorisation to the authorisation holder for the Swiss Market.

Biocidal products that are placed on the market in Switzerland with a transitional authorisation AN or AC and for which an application for Union authorisation had been submitted to ECHA at the latest up to the date of the inclusion of the last active substance, may remain on the market for a further 3 years, insofar as the authorisation holder has provided evidence to the Notification Authority that the application for the Union authorisation for the corresponding product was submitted before the deadline (Art. 22 OBP). As proof, the Swiss authorisation holder must inform the Notification Authority of the "Case Number" assigned in the R4BP 3. In addition, a copy of the acceptance of the application which ECHA sent after having received payment of the fee is to be forwarded to the Notification Authority.

The AN or AC authorisation holder does not have to be identical to the applicant for the Union authorisation. After the Union authorisation is granted the biocidal product can be supplied with the old label to the end user for a further 12 months and may be used professionally or commercially.

Switzerland as the evaluating authority
Companies that are interested should contact the Notification Authority for Chemicals beforehand and fill in the completeness checklist for a union authorization (XLS, 24 kB, 05.06.2018).

Fees:

The decision of the Notification Authority for the Union authorisation is free of charge.

The fees payable to ECHA for an application for Union authorisation are in accordance with the EU Regulation on fees no. 564/20134. Additional fees are payable for the assessment of the product by the chosen national authority. These fee rates are defined at the national level and are available from the national authority in question.

In Switzerland the fee for assessing a Union authorisation (Switzerland as the assessing authority) is based on that for a first authorisation AL (Annex number II 1.1 ChemFO)

1] Regulation (EU) 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 May 2012 on the placing on the market and use of biocidal products (Regulation [EU] 528/201, OJ. L 167 of 27. 6. 2012, p. 1., last amended by Regulation (EU) 334/2014, OJ. L 103 of 5. 4. 2014 p. 22.

2] EU (http://europa.eu/about-eu/countries/index_fr.htm) as well as Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein

3] Applications for authorisation are to be submitted by the potential authorisation holder or in their name.

4] Implementing Regulation (EU) 564/2013 of the Commission of 18 June 2013 on the fees and submissions to the European Chemicals Agency pursuant to the Regulation (EU) 528/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the placing on the market and use of biocidal products. OJ. L 167, p. 17.

Last modification 05.06.2018

Top of page

Demande d'autorisation de l'Union

Grâce au nouveau type d'autorisation délivré (autorisation de l'Union)­, le règlement européen sur les produits biocides (RPB)1 offre désormais la possibilité de déposer une demande pour la mise sur le marché de l'UE (plus la CH) d'un produit biocide2, sans avoir à solliciter d'autorisation ou de reconnaissance nationale spécifique.

Comme pour tous les autres types d'autorisations, les substances actives utilisées dans le produit en question devront toutefois avoir été évaluées et autorisées au préalable.

Selon l'Accord entre la Confédération suisse et la Communauté européenne relatif à la reconnaissance mutuelle en matière d'évaluation de la conformité (ARM), une entreprise suisse peut également, par le biais d'une autorisation de l'Union3, obtenir l'accès à l'ensemble du marché de l'EEE pour le produit en question. La procédure consistant à faire évaluer le produit par une autorité nationale, le demandeur peut choisir l'autorité nationale qui évaluera le produit ; mais dans tous les cas, celle-ci devra consentir expressément à effectuer l'évaluation demandée. Afin de faciliter la procédure, il serait judicieux de sélectionner l'autorité qui aura déjà évalué et autorisé la substance active.

La demande doit être déposée auprès de l'Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA). Une fois l'évaluation terminée, le Comité des produits biocides de l'ECHA (auquel participe la Suisse) rend un avis sur le produit. A partir de cet avis et d'éventuelles demandes de dérogation émanant des Etats membres de l'UE (art. 44, par. 5, 2e alinéa, RPB), la Commission européenne statue sur les conditions d'admission et le cas échéant octroie l'autorisation de l'Union, le cas échéant.

Pour pouvoir bénéficier d'une autorisation de l'Union, le produit doit présenter des conditions similaires d'utilisation dans tous les Etats membres de l'EEE (voir à cet effet le document « Note for Guidance on similar conditions of use », mentionné dans la liste de liens). Il est également possible de déposer une demande d'autorisation de l'Union pour une famille de produits biocides.

Une autorisation de l'Union ne sera pas accordée dans les cas suivants :

  • produits contenant des substances actives répondant aux critères d'exclusion (art. 5 RPB),
  • produits appartenant aux types de produits 14, 15, 17, 20 et 21.

Concernant les produits biocides qui ne contiennent que d'« anciennes » substances actives, l'autorisation de l'Union pourra être obtenue, en fonction du type de produit, à partir de 2017 (types de produits 2, 6 et 13) et 2020 (types de produits 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 16 et 22).

L'ECHA conseille aux entreprises qui envisagent de déposer une demande d'autorisation de l'Union auprès de l'agence, d'envoyer une « pré-requête » au plus tard six mois avant. Ce, afin de confirmer si le produit entre effectivement en ligne de compte pour une telle autorisation et s'il est soumis à des conditions d'utilisation similaires dans l'ensemble de l'EEE.

La demande doit être déposée auprès de l'ECHA via le registre des produits biocides R4BP 3. La procédure à suivre pour une demande d'autorisation de l'Union et les documents à remettre à cet effet sont décrits dans la directive de l'ECHA « Practical guide on biocidal products regulation - Union authorisation » (voir liste des liens). Si le produit biocide pour lequel une autorisation selon la procédure harmonisée de l’UE a été demandée est déjà commercialisé en Suisse sur la base d’une autorisation provisoire : son numéro d'autorisation (CHAN ou CHAC) et son nom commercial (REMARQUE : tout renseignement engendre des coûts supplémentaires).

En vertu de l'ARM, la Suisse est fondamentalement tenue de suivre par voie de décision les autorisations de l'Union délivrées par la Commission européenne pour le territoire des Etats membres de l'EEE. Avant, l'autorisation de l'Union devra être confirmée par l'organe de réception des notifications (ON) dans une procédure fortement simplifiée (voir art. 14a, al. 2, OPBio). Sur la base de l'ARM, la Suisse peut, avant de reconnaître l'autorisation de l'Union, prévoir des dérogations conformément à l'art. 44, par. 5, 2e alinéa, RPB. Une fois qu'elle a rendu sa décision, cette dernière sera notifiée par l'ON au titulaire de l'autorisation pour le territoire de la Suisse.

Les produits biocides mis sur le marché en Suisse avec une autorisation transitoire AN ou AC et pour lesquels une demande d'autorisation de l'Union a été déposée au plus tard au moment de l'inscription de la dernière substance active, peuvent rester sur le marché encore trois ans dans la mesure où le titulaire de l'autorisation prouve à l'ON que la demande d'autorisation de l'Union a été déposée dans les délais (art. 22 OPBio). A titre de preuve, il devra communiquer à l'organe le n° de dossier attribué dans le R4BP 3. Il joindra également une copie du document qu'il aura reçu de l'ECHA après avoir versé les émoluments dus et qui confirme que sa demande est acceptée.

Le titulaire d'autorisation AN ou AC ne doit pas forcément être la même personne que celle qui dépose la demande d'autorisation de l'Union. Une fois l'autorisation de l'Union octroyée, le produit biocide, muni de son ancienne étiquette, peut être remis au consommateur et employé à titre professionnel ou commercial encore douze mois.

La Suisse en tant qu’autorité d’évaluation
Les entreprises intéressées doivent au préalable prendre contact avec l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques et remplir la liste de contrôle des données à transmettre pour une autorisation de l’Union (XLS, 25 kB, 05.06.2018).

Redevances :

La décision de l'ON relative à l'autorisation de l'Union n'est pas soumise à des redevances.

Les redevances dues à l'ECHA pour une demande d'autorisation de l'Union sont fixées par le règlement UE sur les redevances n° 564/20134. Viennent s'ajoutent les émoluments perçus pour l'évaluation du produit par l'autorité nationale choisie. Leur montant est réglé au niveau national et està demander auprès de l'autorité concernée.

La CH (en tant qu'autorité d'évaluation) se base sur l'émolument perçu pour une première autorisation ZL (annexe, chiffre II 1.1 OEChim) pour l'évaluation d'une autorisation de l'Union

1] Règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 22 mai 2012 concernant la mise à disposition sur le marché et l'utilisation des produits biocides JO L 167 du 27.6.2012, p. 1 ; modifié en dernier lieu par le règlement (UE) n° 334/2014, JO L 103 du 5.4.2014, p. 22.

2] UE (http://europa.eu/about-eu/countries/index_fr.htm) et Norvège, Islande, Liechtenstein

3] Les demandes d'autorisation doivent être déposées par le titulaire potentiel de l'autorisation ou en son nom.

4] Règlement d'exécution (UE) n° 564/2013 de la Commission du 18 juin 2013 relatif aux redevances et aux droits dus à l'Agence européenne des produits chimiques en application du règlement (UE) n° 528/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil concernant la mise à disposition sur le marché et l'utilisation des produits biocides, JO L 167, p. 17.

Dernière modification 05.06.2018

Début de la page